We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathton House

Kathton House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Came across Kathton House Restaurant via Trip-advisor advice, and it didn't disappoint. From the moment before even reaching the door there's the hole in the ground - you have to see it :-) Then on entering we were met by perfectly attired staff who look proud to be working there - actually they own it. The hole experience (food, service, atmosphere) was simply outstanding in every way. Will definitely be back next time we're in the SE of England.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    44
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Been here twice now on special occasions , both times the food and atmosphere was fantastic the staff very friendly and helpful
Would recommend to everyone . We travelled 40 mile round trip I think that says it all

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't judge a restaurant by its frontage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have eaten at Kathton several times now - every time a fine experience. It's a small family-run restaurant run by a husband and wife team. She welcomes, he cooks (to order).
Food looks and is delicious. Service is friendly and attentive. Prices at lunchtime are not exorbitant (haven't tried supper yet). Probably the best in Canterbury. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanterburyUK-R-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

An excellant choice for either a family or intimate luncheon or dinner. A quality menu that will make all palates water.
Supported by a superb but not overpriced international wine menu, and complimented by a very courteous, professional and knowledgeable staff.
All in all a very enjoyable dining experience. Must be one of if not the best restaurant in Canterbury.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don and Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed visiting Kathton House, it was always welcoming and the food excellent. I don't go often now as my husband died but will always remember our happy times there. Well done to the hosts for maintaining standards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathton House also viewed

 

Been to Kathton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing