We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but you have to eat somewhere else”
Review of Scandic Vierumaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Vierumaki
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vierumaki
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed for the weekend at this hotel. New, clean, well equiped, staff is freindly. You can borrow a bicycle free of charge and explore the neighborhood.
But I can just confirm the opinion of other hotel guests - the restaurant is not good at all. Even the breakfast with standard choice of meals is below Scandic average level. Cleaning of tables is performed so rarely that it is not easy to find the table without the remains of somebody's meal, although the restaurant is really spacious.
Catering in the hotel definitely needs serious improvements!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoYany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Vierumaki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 297 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights over easter period. Hotel was very nice and they welcomed our 2 large dogs which was nice. Restaurant was big disapointement as service was rude, food was average and expecive and tables were dirty.breakfast was also por quality. At nightclub saff cleared our new drinks from table when we went dancing. Would not go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our team went here for end of season trip. Though it was quite early, we managed to get our room to get changed and put our stuff in there for the day. The service was friendly.

The room was very spacious. It had all the basic amenities plus ac worked just fine though the automatic setting was a bit too loud. Lighting in the bath room was very clever. Beds were comfortable and you couldn't hear anything from nearby rooms or the hallway.

We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the restaurant down stairs. Notice: the restaurants & bars in the same facility aren't owned by Scandic. Anyways the food was great so no complains there either. The only thing that we spotted was the size of the gym. Of course you'd think that it's a space that hotel gets no revenue, but in this environment it should be a bit better.

All in all everything in place, it's good value for your money and there ain't much other hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean and fresh, the staff is friendly. Unfortunately the hotel has only one restaurant which spoils your stay. You have to wait quite a while before they take you to your table, then you wait for menus, then you wait for someone to take orders for your drinks. Then you wait for your drinks and then for someone to take your orders for food. Then you wait and wait and wait. When your portions arrive finally, some might be OK but then some not. The buffet is a rip-off. The staff does not apologize for delays, nor take orders for new drinks until they have made you wait, they don't fill the bread baskets until you ask for it. As you don't have other choices for food, I would not recommend staying at the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Madame928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is standard new Scandic, clean and reasonblay fresh. We stayed during easter and they had a number of suprising problems. The first one that their parking lot is not big enough. So we build a hotel but we dont expect it ever to be full. But thats a minor problem as there is plenty of parking reasonably close. However their outsorcing of the restaurants to the local sports academy is a big problem.
- Dinner. Main course (Pizza!) from order to arrival one hour ten minutes.
- Breakfast. The buffet running out of several items.
Staff trying their best, running around in a slightly confuseed manner, but clearly there is a management problem, understaffing and bad organization. Food fine when it finally arrives, not terribly good value though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbeteofritid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Service at reception is excellent. Rooms are clean. Sound proofing could be better.

Scandic does not operate restaurants at the lobby. Buffet is not the one you want to select and a la carte's price value is not too good. Breakfast is ordinary. Generally service at restaurants is below the avarage.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnssiEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice and new hotel in Vierumäki.
Spacy lobby and fine restaurants there.
Restaurants managed by Vierumäki Country side club or something means that you wont get any Scandic preferred discount.
Breakfast was quite ordinary.
soundproofing in the rooms quite poor,

HINT: If you are trying to enter room after 12.00 like 12.04 it would not be possible, because key is not working any more. Better get check out before that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123eki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vierumaki
0.5 mi away
Vierumaki Country Club Ilkka
6.8 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
#1 of 1 in Heinola
36 reviews
14.4 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Scandic Lahti
Scandic Lahti
#2 of 6 in Lahti
265 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cronin's Cafe & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vierumaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vierumaki

Address: Urheiluopistontie 400, Vierumaki 19120, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Vierumaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vierumaki
Price Range: $127 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vierumaki 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vierumaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing