We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Italy, if not the whole of Europe !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cerqua Rosara Residence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doorwerth, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best place to stay in Italy, if not the whole of Europe !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in this splendid place with, in my opinion, the most gentle and warm host we have ever met. In 6 days he actually became more of a friend then the owner of this place, but always with the utmost respect to our privacy.
The location is beautifull, the house is absolutely splendid, the price is incredible low if you look at what you get for it.
You can visit all the well known places in Umbria and also some well known places in Tuscany are nearby. Even Rome is just a two hour drive away.
The surroundings are very, very nice indeed.
You can go searching for truffles with the owner. A rare privilige for a foreign tourist.
In summer you can enjoy the inviting swimming pool. We, from Holland, could even swim in the last week of september.
The colours are now truly beautifull and will last that way far into november, so this is the place to be all year long.
The last evening we were invited to diner by the owner. We enjoyed very nice Italian food indeed, but mostly we enjoyed the warm hospitality.
All this for a price of just under € 400,- for 6 nights. An incredible place to stay indeed, and we have seen some places in Europe.
We hope to go back there in winter with a totally different Umbria we only know of the bautifull pictures our host showed us.
We are absolutely sure that we will come back in spring, summer or autumn, preferably in all three seasons.
Gianni, thanks for an absolutely fabulous holiday !!!!!

Ciao,
Martina and Constant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We, young couple from the Netherlands, have had a fantastic time in this wonderful place in the heartland of Umbria!

The residence consists of several new appartments including a kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and - in our case - a wide balcony. If the weather does allow, you can also enjoy the swimming pool and the BBQ in the big garden.

The location itself is in a quiet part just outside of the small village of Valtopina and next to the mountains where you can hear owls in the night. It is in the close vicinity (less than 35 km) to major sightseeing classics like the towns of Assisi, Spello, Montefalco and Trevi. We have also visited the Caves of Frasassi and Gubbio, which could be reached within one hour by car.

The very friendly and caring owner, Mr. Gianni, is an expert of the Umbrian culture and shared the best information on where to go and what to visit with us, making our vacation a perfect one.

Thank you, Mr. Gianni and we hope to be back in Umbria soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have spent 10 days (9 nigts) by Giovanni's residence, near Valtopina, and it was a perfect stay. The location is 10 minutes away from Foligno, and very convenient to visit Umbria.

Cerqua Rosara is a big house with 5 apartments. each of them having a separate entrance and a lot of privacy. Apartments are very large, well-conceived, with a lot of services (washing machine, ....) and very nicely decorated.

The house is in the middle of a huge and peaceful park. 100 meters from the house, a large swimming pool (15 x 8), with a pool house, mini-bar.

Moreover, the house is located at an altitude of 4 / 500 meters. Weather can be very hot during the day in Umbria (above 37° celsius, approx 100 ° F), but during the night, it goes back to 18/20 ° C - 68 ° F, which allows very pleaseant nigths.

Everything in Cerqua Rosaria is perfectly maintained by Giovanni. Giovanni is the owner. A very very friendly, helpful, and efficient person :=)) ! He loves his job as he loves his region. He will offer you a glass of Spumante or a fresh drink by the pool, and will give you excellent advice on what to do, where to go.

Thank you again for this very pleasant stay.
Aïssa and Nathalie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhelifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Extremely quiet and beautiful location in the heart of Umbria.
Very friendly and helpfull owner and perfect accomodation(barbeque, washing machine, bikes,..). Nice, wellkept pool with mini-bar.. Very pleasant for children as well as for adults!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Wonderful!
Cerqua Rosara Residence is situated in so nice place. It's beauty spot really.
Building is so comfortable. Each appartament has own entrance. And it gives sense that you stay in separate cottage. Very cosy rooms! with good taste decorated ))
but all of it doesn't metter if comparing with owner Cerqua Rosara Residence - Gianni. He can be visible and in the same time invisible ))) and always very friendly. Gianni knows Umbria very well and try to help like guide. or more ))) like good cooker)))
if ou want to find silence and in the same time fun time - ou should go into Cerqua Rosara Residence.
for examlpe i'm going there to write some novel or create my new TVshow)))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks for your review, I hope that contact with the wonderful nature that surrounds Cerqua Rosara Residence will be a source of relaxation and inspiration for your work as a writer.
See you again soon
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A couple of years ago, instead of settling for a quiet retirement, a proud Italian man -Gianni- decided to share his pride and love for Umbria with the rest of the world. So, in the midst of a lush garden, surrounded by dazzling nature, he built a guest house with five luxurious but beautiful and authentic appartments, each of which have been finished with nothing less than perfection in mind. In that same garden, there's a great pool, a play ground, a ping pong table and a bar, and -of course- many barbecues.

Apart from that, Cerqua Rosara has a strategic location at close proximity of the SS3, one of the main connecting roads in Umbria. Except Orvieto, all places of interest are at less than one hour of driving.

As if all the above is not sufficient, Gianni, the owner and host, genuinely and generously cares for the well-being of his guests and doesn't spare any effort to give them the perfect holiday. And according to me, my wife and my two daughters, during the past two weeks, Gianni succeeded giving us just that! We sincerely hope to once again have the pleasure to spend more time in this fantastic place!

A big thank you, from Veerle, Peter, Fien and Heleen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

So we rode our motorcycles from Napoli to Umbria to enjoy the first few days of spring, to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city, and to explore a side of Umbria that we had not yet experienced. "Gianni" and his wife provided that all. The Residence is easily accessible from the highway, easy to find with our GPS, and close to a small town with friendly locals...there is even a train station nearby for those who travel by rail. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, 1 bath unit with a kitchenette/dining area and a small (sleeper?) sofa, and our own covered patio overlooking the property/pool/mountains. The property is large and gated, the pool was closed, but I could see a bbq area as well being prepared for the spring/summer. The bed was european firm, but comfortable, We were allowed to park our motorcycles right near the entrance, so we could keep an eye out, but it was unnecessary since the property is gated and the owners right there. We needed to get a few groceries, so Gianni took us in his own car to the local market and helped translate our needs. He also got us a lot of free tastes of the local salami and cheeses (YUM!). Breakfast was coffee and a pastry, but he promised more soon since he is renovating for a small restaurant area as well. He made some good suggestions for restaurants but we didn't get a chance to try them out (next time!). Since we were looking to explore the region on our motorcycles, he provided us some GREAT scenic routes, made suggestions on what we might be able to see in the short weekend we had with him and provided maps for us to use while we explored. His suggestions were magnificent and made our trip extremely memorable. We stayed only 2 days but I wish we could have stayed at least a week. He had so many neat places to see easily within a few hours drive. Only one warning: for those who are allergic to dogs, he does have one friendly german shepherd (Argo). We loved the peacefulness of the location and the wonderfully kind hosts. We would definitely want to come by and stay here again....if there is availability!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thankyou very very much for having written so many interesting details about Umbria and Cerqua Rosara Residence! It 's always very nice to receive feedbacks from our guests, especially from an expert reviewer like you! Congratulations for your 46 reviews on Trip Advisor!
Your review is very useful for us and we hope that it could be the same for the TripAdvisor community!
A small clarification for who are allergic to dogs: "Argo" lives at home, in Foligno, some time during low season when he comes with us to the residence we're always very aware that his presence doesn't disturb our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtopina
7.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
17.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
15.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
#1 of 7 in Trevi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
6.2 mi away
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
13.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Casetta di Chiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerqua Rosara Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerqua Rosara Residence

Property: Cerqua Rosara Residence
Address: Via Giove 13, 06030 Valtopina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Valtopina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Valtopina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerqua Rosara Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerqua Rosara Residence is situated near the village of Valtopina, 400 m above sea level, in an area of outstanding natural beauty rich in flora and fauna, in the Topino valley, between the Colfiorito and Monte Subasio nature reserves. The swimming pool surrounded by shrubs, trees and lawns, the relaxation area under the ancient oak trees, and the quiet, comfortable apartments will help make your stay pleasant and relaxing. You can easily get the most important turistic centers in Umbria: Foligno, Assisi, Spello and others, by driving time 15-45 minutes. The Staff is committed to ensuring excellent standards of customer satisfaction, safety and respect for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cerqua Rosara Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerqua Rosara Residence Italy/Valtopina, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing