We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant way to spend an hour with Australian animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wings Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a quaint privately owned wildlife centre featuring a good range of favorite Australian wildlife.

We liked in particular being able to stroke a wombat, Tasmanian devil, and a koala. Our children enjoyed feeding kangaroos, goats, emus, and fish. While we were there we saw the Tasmanian devils being fed which was interesting.

The park also has a variety of birds, lizards and snakes.

Admittance is $20 for adults and $10 for children. There's enough to see to keep you busy for an hour or so.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were on a cruise and Birnie, Tasmania was 1 of the stops. I booked the inexpensive tour, in spite of my wife's concerns!!LOL...She absolutely loved the tour. The amount of wild life here is astounding. We stood in front of the Tasmanian Devil enclosure and watched the animals for 1 hr. They were extremely active and very entertaining.. Lots of kangoroos also!! I still wonder if Stuy, the baby Wombat and Chi the baby Tasy are still alive! I sure hope so! You will love this place, if you ever get to see it.

Room Tip: We were on a Holland America line cruise ship!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Firstly, be prepared to drive some winding back roads. You will also lose mobile reception about half hour from the park. However, it is worth the drive to stay, especially when you add in the sights of both the farm and the Wildlife Park. We arrived late in the afternoon, so our only powered option was not level ground. After setting up, we wandered through the farm, talking to the goats, alpacas, emu, geese, minature ponies, donkeys, buffalo etc. The next morning, we went through the Wildlife Park as well, seeing all their sights. My only word of warning - do not leave your shoes outside, as the wild Tasmanian Devils have been known to steal them and bring them back to the nest. This is not a joke.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank JeanaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed four nights camping on a non powered site. Wings offer either powered and normally non powered site down near the river. First impressions were the place looks somewhat tired, but our family found a lovely site and had a very enjoyable stay. Many thanks. Whilst there go and do the caves nearby, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Richneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vmbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genalee, Manager at Wings Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wings Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wings Wildlife Park

Address: 137 Winduss Road, Gunns Plains, Tasmania 7316, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Gunns Plains
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gunns Plains
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom self-contained cabins overlooking our wildlife park. Short walks to the Leven River and the Dial Range or enjoy our animal farm walk. Suited to those wanting fresh country air in a rural setting away from city life. No mobile or television reception. Guests receive discounted entry into the wildlife park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wings Wildlife Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing