We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Apart from being a fair way out of Aberdeen this was a very nice hotel. Freindly and efficient staff, Nice ambience and the bedroom was excellant. Hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable. No problems at all but the price was high.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the car park and the road was quite near but never heard anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Raymondo 1951,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of Holiday Inn Aberdeen West. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, and in particular commented on the high standard of cleanliness and the friendliness and efficiency of our team.

Our mid week rates are very competitive within the Aberdeen area, our advance purchase rates offer even greater value for those planning their stay well in advance midweek, should you have the opportunity to visit the city over the weekends we offer some great value deals.

I do hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the near future and once again would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    159
    30
    20
    8
See reviews for
144
124
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Turned up one very wet and wild Sunday starving to a very full dining lounge our immediate impression would be that we would either be turned away or have a very lengthy wait..... This was not the case. We were dealt with very efficiently and asked to have a seat at the bar and we should have a table within 20 minutes, could only have been 10 and we were shown a table.

We opted for the carvery and it was fab!! Just wish there was cranberry sauce to accompany the gammon but dish was empty, hopefully on my next visit it won't be! How I managed to eat everything plus black Forrest gateau, which was heavenly, is beyond me but I managed!!

Good food, great service, see you soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear SunshineFi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience on TripAdvisor. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. Hope to see you again very soon, the carvery is on every Sunday!

Kind regards,

Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

First class family friendly hotel which is modern and clean. Nice surroundings. Great food. Wide selection of food and beverages. Food atmosphere. Children, pets and disabled friendly. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff and great service. Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Lindg,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a great review on your stay on Tripadvisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will see you and you family again throughout 2014.

Best regards,

Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Took Staff and some guests to a Tribute Night at the Holiday Inn Aberdeen West as usual for our Xmas night out, we had 2 excellent tables in between the bar and dance floor - what more could you ask for? Meal was good, service was good - to the point of putting my husband to bed before the night was through:) Many thanks for that as can be challenging sometimes. My only complaint was they didn't put him to one side of the bed or nearer the bottom, no room for me, so I went back down to the residents bar for a few more. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and the delight of regaling the events of the previous night to my husband who had no idea, ha ha.
Above and beyond the call of duty - unfortunately for them I will be looking for this next time :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Anne C,

I would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you and your friends and work colleagues had such an enjoyable experience at one of our Xmas tribute nights. Hope to welcome you back again in the very near future?


Regards,

Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Recently attended a function at the Hotel with friends and took advantage of the great rates for bed and breakfast. The event was excellent serving the best food I have had at a large function. Most of the staff were young but they certainly knew what they were doing. Were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Accommodation is excellent and the hotel is lovely. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and would go as far as to say, the best I have had in a Hotel. Again there were plenty of lovely staff attending to a very busy dining room. Thoroughly recommend and will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaG3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear RonaG3015,

Thank you for an excellent review on Tripadvisor. I am grateful to you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am particularly pleased that you were impressed by our events team, they are a great asset to the hotel. Hopefully we will see you throughout this year and continue to impress.

Kind regards,

Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Spotless award winning hotel which will not disappoint you. Great choice of sport bar, chill out lounge bar that serves food and Italian restaurant. Great wedding venue. Staff really nice. Good food and drink at reasonable prices. Carvery on a Sunday. Ideal location for Westhill, Dyce or the West End if up on business. Facilities include small gym. Rooms modern and clean at normal rates. Weekend deals, occasional live music and tribute nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear GolfbloggerUK,

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience with us. We look forward to looking after you again in the very near future. I'm very grateful for your review and for sharing it for others to see.


Best regards,
Marc Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Used hotel before and food and service perfect , Turned up for Sunday carvery with wife and child to be told it was off ,decided to stay and have meal of menu. ( big mistake) !! . Placed food and drink order , haven finished our drinks we were left waiting in limbo as to where food or new drinks were coming from , asked at bar why we were waiting a hour basically for fish and chips to be told from a manager that the kitchen was busy, yet off the 12 staff counted not one took it apon there selfs to inform us anything in the previous hour .. Under stand kitchen gets busy but no excuse for bar / waitress staff leaving you in the lurch .Duty manager said she would check out and let us know ,young staff member sent over to take new drinks order ,buy this time we just wanted our food that we ordered , told them we were leaving with one hungry child

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Quentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Quentin M
I'm really sorry to read your review and your disappointment on your latest visit to the Glentanar lounge. Clearly we should have done better that day and I apologise to you for the delay that you encountered on this occasion.
You will know that we take all of our reviews seriously and I assure you that your particular feedback has been reviewed in order that we can hopefully avert any similar circumstance.
Thank you for your feedback on this occasion.

Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhill
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
5.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
6.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#4 of 65 in Aberdeen
751 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aberdeen West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Property: Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
Address: Westhill Dr, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aberdeen West 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West* European Holiday Inn Hotel of the Year 2012* Scottish Brand Hotel of the Year 2011,2012,2013Centrally loacted in Westhill (Surf City) and ideally located only 10-minutes drive from Aberdeen City Centre and Aberdeen International Airport. Prime Four Business Park at Kingswells and the Westhill Business Park are all within easy reach of the hotel. This is a modern and stylish hotel offering the very best and latest in Holiday Inn standards and facilities. The hotel boasts cutting edge concepts in design, comfort and technology for todays modern traveller. 86 Comfortable bedrooms are all equipped to the very highest standard, including 42"flat screen TV's, in-room safes,complimentary Wi-Fi high speed fibre optic internet access and air conditioning. The hotel is serviced by a 24-hour food and beverage operation that includes a Luigi's Italian Restaurant, the relaxing Glentanar Lounge Bar, Scots Corner themed bar, 24-hour Room Service and a full conference and banqueting facility. The hotel also has a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna facility and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aberdeen West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Westhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing