We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the stags and Hens and all the better for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying in Westhill means you avoid the stags and hen parties that swamp the city centre hotels and the crushing bores that frequent the golf and spa places in the country. It is an anonymous hotel and if that is what you want then this is the place for you. Ideal for families where the contintenal breakfast is a fine start to the day and if you need to use the Shepherds Rest Whitbred pub next door (owners of Premier Inn) then that too is fine for what a family needs.
The one downside to this hotel is the absolutely next to useless Wi-fi. Premier Inn give you a free 30 minutes per day of stay which is ususally ok but here, as the connection is so poor it is hardly enough time to download a few emails. You can pay £3 a day to connect but again as the connection is so slow, poor and unreliable, I chose not to and instead just used the wi-fi hotspots in the city to update. When are hotel chains like this going to learn include a decent wi-fi in the hotel price and it would give them the edge over the competition.
The alternative hotel in Westhill is the Holiday Inn which is a fine hotel. There was five adults in our party and we stayed for three nights during this visit over Hogmanny and the Holiday Inn wanted silly money for staying there then so the Premier Inn was a no brainer really.
Quick note to say the beds, linen and pillows were all very comfortable and noise levels were very good.
Overall a great place for a family to stay away from the city. We recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are overlooked by a slope and a path so are quite dark. Front sided rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Mikeboy1,

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill. Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

For your information, Whitbread does not own the Shepherds Rest. However I will pass your compliments to them.

We are looking forward for your next visit to Westhill.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 383 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break at Westhill, Aberdeen.
We will definitely return as we enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and clean rooms with very courteous staff.
Enjoyed dinner at the adjoining restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear KateRenfrewshire,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeenshire.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived late for 1 night but that posed no problem. The room was perfect, clean, firm bed, TV, wi-fi and tea making facilities. There was no real extraneous noise and the full breakfast nextdoor was delightful and very good value. I can recommend this hotel for short stays and the proximity of the bar helps to helps to provide a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: No advice required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Harry,

Thank you for your kind review, your feedback is much appreciated.
Premier Inn Westhill team is delighted that you had a great stay in our hotel.
We are all looking forward to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Premier Inn Westhill for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful and we found our room to be very comfortable and clean for both nights . Meals were very efficiently served and overall we found our stay to be very good value for money. We would not hesitate recommending this hotel and would love to stay again in the future. If eating in the Shepherds Rest next door for evening meal I would recommend booking a table as it can get very busy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for your comment. Whole Premier Inn Westhill Team is extremely happy you had a great stay at our hotel.

I will pass your compliments to Shepherds Rest as well.

We are hoping to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent stay at the Premier Inn. Very comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Great to have the Shepherds Rest next door which provides a cosy and friendly atmosphere along with a great selection on the menu with quality ingredients well cooked and at an affordable price. We can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor on the south side. Unless you are staying for more than a few day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear John,

Thank you for your kind comment!

We are extremly glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.

Your compliments will be also passed to the manager of the Shepherds Rest restaurant.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a typical Premier inn although the staff were friendlier than any other premier inn I have stayed in

the room was booked as a family room and was very claustrophobic as there was the usual big bed but instead of the fold down couch there were two extra beds shoved in either side of the main bed,under full occupancy you would be falling over each other, I suspect this was a double room that had beds added.

this also made it difficult to get up when the lights were off as there was no room between the 1 large and 2 single beds and there was a danger of standing on the bed next to you.

although we had booked for two kids only one could make it so one bed was not occupied , this was a blessing because that bed had a serious slope on it and would have been very uncomfortable had someone been sleeping in it.
the whole side of the room was taken with beds and the only floor space was the small strip down the middle between beds and the desk

The hot water at the sink was just a trickle and the sink had a crack in it, the shower had no pressure,
apart from that the room was fine and the freeview TV is nice but family rooms need more space if this was a family room

We had dinner in the restaurant next door and this was very good , the breakfast was not as good with some of the hot items being barely cooked when served

all in all basic hotel at a reasonable price but I may look elsewhere if visiting the area again

Room Tip: make sure the room is of a size to accommodate all the guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocktailshaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear cocktailshaker2,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us.

Firstly, I would like to apologise for not meeting all of your expectations. All our rooms are similar size, however maybe a room without a slope would better in your case. On next occasion, please ask for a different room if not 100% satisfied.

The Premier Inn Westhill team is genuinely delighted, that you found our staff friendlier than in any other Premier Inns. We pride ourselves in delivering great costumer service, hence we really appreciate such comments.

Thank you also for the review of the restaurant next door, I will pass your feedback to the restaurant manager.

Finally, we are all hoping to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Best hotel I've ever stayed in while visiting the UK! It was very convenient and close to family living in Westhill. Clean, quiet and comfortable! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Aberdeen - expecially want to travel the countryside. Not too far from the airport either.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
The only complaint is that the wi-fi is not free - which I believe should be standard in any hotel; however you could purchase 24 hours for 3.00.
This little hotel is conveniently located to shopping also, which came in very handy. Good job!

Room Tip: They are all equally comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Sheilah,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is really nice to hear that you had a great stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.

We are all looking forward to see you again on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhill
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
0.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
6.9 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,020 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel

Address: 10 Straik Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Price Range: $59 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business or pleasure, or a combination of the two with a round of golf? Whatever the reason for your visit, Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen Westhill puts everything on your doorstep, including business parks, international markets and excellent transport links. Visit the seat of the chief of Clan Irvine at the imposing Drum Castle. Or take your seat for some thrilling action at Union Square cinema complex. Have a round of golf at Westhill, or spend time strolling around the seasonal market held in Aberdeen city centre every three months. Then come back to the hotel for a bite to eat at our Belhaven restaurant, and a great night's sleep in our comfy beds. Directions: Situated along the A944 to Alford, situated next to Tesco. Next to the Shepherd's Rest. Transport and local information: Hazelhead Park Crathes Castle Gardens Aberdeen Train Station 8 miles Aberdeen Airport 7 miles Aberdeen Ferry 8 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel Aberdeen
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing