We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yan

Yan
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Westhill
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Postcode Ab32 6LP
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch - good value”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Took some clients out for lunch at Yan. Excellent service. Good lunchtime menu, food served promptly and the food was first class.

If in Aberdeen, its worth travelling the few extra miles out to Westhill for a really good authentic Thai meal - beats any of its city center rivals which are over priced for what they are!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJB333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    61
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lacks Atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A Saturday night visit to this establishment with friends had been recommended to us. It was quite busy and we were served promptly but there was no atmosphere. We opted for one of the banquets and the food almost came out too quickly course, after course. We had hoped for a leisurely dinner with friends but felt like we had been rushed through.

Nothing wrong with the food but no better or worse than similar establishments of this kind and the lack of ambience would definitely make us think twice about a return visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First impression, recommended but still not the tastiest Chinese food in Aberdeen:)”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First time at Yan, to celebrate the start of the Chinese New year. Arrived earlier than our friends who booked the table for us. Waiting area was really busy but we asked to be seated at our table. Decor was minimal and the lighting was dim. Toilets were at a good standard and clean.

We only ordered Jasmine Tea for our table for the whole evening, didn’t order any drinks so can’t rate the bar or bar service (hence the average rating below).

Ordered a platter to share as a starter. We didn’t have to wait long for the Platter to arrive. The plants that were there for decoration at the end of the table got in the waitress way when the starter arrived. The platter was presented well and a piece of each item on the place for everyone to get our taste buds going for the main course. King prawns in batter, ribs and the seaweed with the dried fish was good there was one more item but I can’t remember what is was. Just enough and just the right amount for a starter.

At this point Yan started to fill up and by the end of the evening all of the tables had been occupied.

For the main course we had a mixture of 3 dishes with rice and half aromatic Duck to share between us. Rice done just right, just ran out of pancakes to finish off the duck 2 more pancake skins would have seen the Aromatic duck disappear of the table. The X.O sauce was medium to hot but not enough to stop you part way through the dish. Satay Chicken was nice, but will try another sauce next time. The food was good but not the best.

Throughout the evening
Polite waiters and waitresses and efficient service which shows during setting up between courses and clearing the tables. We had a very loud table near us but that was the only bad point.

I would return back to Yan but not in a rush nor my first choice, I will continue to try elsewhere in Aberdeen for the search for the best Chinese cuisine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Needs to review menu”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Tastefully decorated - but very little room betweeen tables and, with some tables, you are fighting a large decorative plant to gain access to your plate!
Very friendly, service - but, if there is a lot of Take-away/carry-out orders, this can slow down service between courses for restaurant patrons.
Food is tasty, but menu has not changed over the years since it opened - needs a review and some new offerings.

So, started good, but needs to do something new.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cymru1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average meal”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Quite a good meal, but have had better. Got a small sharp bone in the aromatic crispy duck, which spoilt my meal, but the waiter just shrugged it off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yan also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Westhill, Aberdeen
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Yan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing