We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 year anniversary”
Review of Le Canard Huppe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Canard Huppe
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1 year anniversary”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Once again amazed at the detail that goes into everything they do. My husband and I got married here last year and we went back for our one year anniversary. From the food to the room to the ambience again just wonderful. I highly recommend this auberge to everyone!!!!!! You can not find better anywhere else. I would literally drive there from Montreal just for supper (or breakfast) and then return home, that is how good the food is there. The chef smokes his own duck and salmon and it is to die for! If you eat the Salmon Eggs Benedictine you will no longer be able to eat them anywhere else because everything else will seem like garbage comapred to what he does. That goes for the rest of his food as well.

Truly a wonderful experience once again and I can not thank them enough for this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
117
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd stay at the inn. Between the charming, careful decor of the rooms and the warm, attentive service, we consistently have the experience of being welcome guests in a comfortable country home.

Each meal in the restaurant is memorable, from breakfasts (home made waffles and duck confit omelettes) that far exceed traditional B&B fare to wonderfully prepared dinners-my husband is still waxing poetic about his recent filet mignon. Each year, we’re excited to see the changes/additions to the menu, which truly epitomizes what we now understand to be a marriage of local ingredients and the traditional cuisine of Quebec, elevated to the next level by the creativity of the chef.

Our understanding is especially thanks to several tours ( and wine tastings) of the island on which the inn is situated, known for its history, rich cultural heritage, and agri-tourism.

The inn is a very easy 15min. drive to Quebec City and having previously stayed in QC, I can honestly say that there is no comparison for us in terms of cuisine or value, from the overall price to what one receives within it. We always choose the dinner-room packages of the inn, well aware that the creations of Chef Rae’s kitchen are worth the price of the package alone elsewhere in QC or the US.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed two nights at this lovely inn. The room was simple, tidy, very very clean and cosy. The care taken to furnish the rooms was clear - interesting artwork, nice linens, wine glasses (because if you go to l'Ile d'Orleans you will be buying some wine). The inn was very quiet, easy to find and felt calm and safe. The highlight of the stay was the food. Our dinner was a completely beautiful six- (or so?) course meal, every dish, combination - even the plates - so perfectly planned and carried out. We had a marvellous Thai soup, a duck appetizer, shrimp presented with fruit and cilantro, a knock-your-socks-off palate cleanser of apple wine, vodka, apple syrup, then a seafood trilogy - it was one delightful course after another all beautifully presented by attentive servers. Breakfasts were also lovely - eggs benedict, iintersting omelettes - difficult to choose. Everyone at the inn was kind, attentive and our stay was completely first rate. A memorable stay on a remarkable island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Brought the Irish in-laws all over the province... Montreal was nice, Quebec was very good, Ile d'Orleans was great but the Canard Huppé was just the most amazing!

Everything was as it's best, from the welcome & hospitality of the host, to the cleanliness and comfort of the bedrooms, and the very special 7 course dinner (the best of all food we came across in our trip), not to mention about the superb breakfast. The Chef and Host, Philip, has many medals as you can see when you get in... and you understand why when you get out.

We'll be giving vouchers for the Canard Huppé to our new wed friends and to my parents as we think it's a gem that needs to be discovered.

In comparison to anywhere we've stayed and eaten, this was also extremely good value for the money spent.

I am usually very critique when it comes to B&B and food. This wonderful experience has brought the standards up...

Jonathan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgervais1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A wonderfully charming B&B on Ile de Orleans at Le Canard Huppe (The Wood Duck). Our Innkeeper and Chef, Philip Rae greeted us as we arrived, escorted us to our comfortably appointed room, and also created a delicious breakfast the next morning, using locally grown/raised ingredients such as fresh eggs, vegetables and deliciously juicy strawberries!! (I regret NOT staying here for dinner - but I wanted to go see the Falls!)

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you visit Quebec City, you must visit Isle d'Orleans. And if you visit Isle d'Orleans, and are at all serious about food, you must vist Le Canard Huppe. The rooms are modest, clean and comfortable, the service kind and friendly....and the food is extraordnary. Chef Rae is a creative, sensitive and presents the local fare wonderfully.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthAtlanticBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have been many times now to this auberge, 20 minutes from downtown Quebec City. Every time, it feels like coming home. The ambiance is great. Phillip, the innkeeper, is charming. The level of service is very high and the food is to die for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burbankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Boischatel
Econo Lodge Boischatel
#1 of 1 in Boischatel
130 reviews
7.1 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#30 of 102 in Quebec City
731 reviews
8.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Motel Ile d'Orleans
Motel Ile d'Orleans
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans
36 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Goeliche
La Goeliche
#1 of 3 in Sainte-Petronille
72 reviews
6.9 mi away
Auberge au Poste de Traite
Auberge au Poste de Traite
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Famille
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Canard Huppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Canard Huppe

Property: Le Canard Huppe
Address: 7326, chemin Royal, Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, Quebec G0A 3Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Ile d'Orleans > Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Canard Huppe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome HomeIn a country style decor, the 9 guest roomsof L’Auberge Le Canard Huppe invite youfor a relaxing stay, filled with personal touches.You will enjoy the laid-back ambiance and theattentive personalized service of innkeepers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Canard Huppe Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing