We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stretta

Stretta
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Grill, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Good food, great service and a menu with plenty of choice. Lovely decor made for a great setting for a good evening! The cappucino was amazing - one of the best I've tasted in awhile. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dinner at Stretta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have been on three occasions and not once have we been able to sit inside. Each time we arrived between 6 and 7, to be told there were no tables available, which is fine if you arrive without a booking. So we sat outside on their "verandah" which is fine in summer, but cold and drafty in winter. There are a couple of heaters scattered about which helps. The problem with the outside seating area is it's so completely different to the inside of the restaurant that you feel as though you are eating in another venue! There is absolutely nothing welcoming or comfortable about it and If I sound as though I'm going on and on about the outside seating area at Stretta - it's because I am!
Food: Pizzas are good - really good. I did not enjoy their steak plate and I have yet to try any other meals.
Drinks: average
Service: average
Pricing: average

Would I go again: for pizza definitely but this time, I'll take a blanket just in case

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenSchlenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

a menu with a wide variety of food, incredible service an a great atmosphere. perfect for any occasion and guaranteed a delicious meal no matter what you choose to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPiment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stretta has a simple menu, relaxed atmosphere, great pizza and stunning coffee. My only complaint is that our food arrived too quickly (I have heard that other items on the menu can sometimes take longer). Staff are friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarryHgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Upper Highway Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best place to be if you appreciate good Italian cuisine. Not to mention the coffee... A must! We ordered cappuccinos for everyone and straight after they were served, the barista came to our table and explained the blend and origins of the coffee beans he used, as well as how he made that specific batch. I have been back many times and am always happy. Go to Stretta, you will not be disappointed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stretta also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Stretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing