We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking is essential”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lupa Osteria

Lupa Osteria
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Booking is essential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great Sunday evening meal with good company,wine and food.
During the Week booking is essential and at least 3 days in advance.
The waiters were knowledgeable and accommodating. A great evening out. will return again. Guy (the owner) personally checked on us once our meal arrived.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    25
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hillcrest was long overdue for a brilliant restaurant and finally one has arrived. We have been there on numerous occasions and not once were we disappointed. We have been in a group of almost 20, we have been with 6 other friends and just the 2 of us, not once did the food or the service drop a notch. Cheers to Lupas

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was expecting so much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As I said in the title, this place was described to me as so much more than I experienced, the food was not that great, not bad but still not great, and the service was slack. Sorry Lupa you just didn't bring your A game.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ydnam-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get ready to be surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

With a calming view over the passersby of hillcrest, this is the perfect place to enjoy excellent italian cuisine.
The menu boasts a lovely variety to make sure you will find what you are craving. A free welcome drink sets the mood. The pizza was superb, ample toppings, crisp crust and bright taste. The pasta, creamy and fresh, knocked my socks off!

Truly outstanding!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Four of us went to Lupa last week and all of us loved our meals which were very tasty! The resturant was very busy and a bit noisy and at some stage we think the wrong music was playing as it was very loud and aggressive rock music which didn't seem to suit the mood of the restaurant and then for some time there was no music at all and later The XX, which we liked....... but otherwise, the food was great and we would definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiki142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupa Osteria also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Lupa Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing