We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely laid back restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mo-zam-bik

Mo-zam-bik
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely laid back restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved this place, simple with excellent food and service. Pricing was good and menu had a great variety. Second time we have been there and perfect both times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brettb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Brettb7,

Thank you very much for our review. I'm glad you enjoy our restaurant. It really means the world to us when you take the time to write not one but 2 reviews about us over the last couple of months. Please do me a favour and drop me a mail when you are around in Hillcrest or Ballito again. I would like to meet you and spoil you and your family a bit. Have an awesome weekend!!!

Regards,

Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    52
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

this is our first choice for a family dinner. Our kids love the calamari and I love their Dry Rub Ladies Chicken. Always a tasty meal served with a smile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Genevieve,

Thank you very much for the great review. We at Mozambik are forever trying to improve. I'm glad to say my managers in Hillcrest Lee and Pierre are great guys who are all about customer service. Thanks once again Regards, Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved this rustic restaurant with a superb menu and excellent service. We were there on a Monday night, place was full, so a good sign. Generous portions and very reasonably priced. Well worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brettb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Brett,

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Lots of hard work has gone into the Mozambik group and it all makes it worth it when we get good reviews. Hope to see you soon.

Regards
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The past weekend we had the opportunity to not only be treated at Mozambik once, but twice! Friday night was quite full, a sure sign that a good experience waited at this local eatery. Despite being very busy, service was excellent, with Shannon giving us personal attention and service with a smile. The food is excellent, with large portions and a good choice on the menu. It was hard to choose between the specials, ranging from starters to main courses. Sunday night was fairly quiet, but the quality of service and food was still very high. The only "negative" to the restaurant is the exterior and hidden location, but don't by fooled by this - Mozambik is really worth a visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Their Prawns Bellini... are out of this world! Sometimes we have this starter as a starter and then a mains and then a dessert! It is toddler friendly and with friendly vibe... Parking, variety and fabulous waitrons too... cannot wait to get back there. Yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicki-colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo-zam-bik also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo-zam-bik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing