We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely meal, staff are paid peanuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive & Oil

Olive & Oil
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A family based mediterranean restaurant with an emphasis on good quality food value for money and an overall dining experience. Catering for all tastes we do a wide array of dishes from seafood to grills we also cater for children with a kiddies menu
anglesey north wales
Level Contributor
233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“lovely meal, staff are paid peanuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I loved this meal, was really different but hate the fact they pay staff peanuts, fine them for breakages even if they dont break anything, and the staff still must bring their own pen and tea towel. so you arent even guaranteed that its hygenic......come on olive and oil get you act together

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank anglesey_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    62
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A new favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

A lovely family atmosphere and great service. Excellent food too, we will be back soon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank astegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of Durban's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

A fine dining restuarant with a menu to suit all tastes and the food is superb, the service outstanding and the atmosphere perfect.
This is our new favourite restuarant in Durban!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Service & Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Probably if not the best, the joint best meal we had during our two weeks in first the Durban area and then on the Garden Route and in Hout Bay. Fantastic Service, excellent menu choices and no complaints re food quality from anyone on our table of 5 people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMMSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

Really enjoyed our meal here back in Oct 2007.

Menu had a great selection of dishes, and all freshly prepared.

Great ambience and good service. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Chino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Oil also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Olive & Oil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing