We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Premi around!”
Review of Primi Polo - CLOSED

Primi Polo
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Premi around!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Premi Polo is an old favourite of ours. Probably the best Premi that we have visited. Owners, managers and staff are attentive and concerned about quality - this makes it a pleasure to visit. Clean and spacious, quick service and large portions (maybe too large for some but we like!). Just love it for a casual evening or a lovely chilled breakfast,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CilliA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KZN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor and dissapointing service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There were 11 of us who went to lunch. It started that we were told we cannot open our 1 bottle of wine because its on their WINELIST - This was our first time THERE so how on earth are we suppose to know what is on THEIR winelist!!! secondly- we had 3 children with us and they never once offered for the kids to make their own pizza. The attitude was shocking and the owners are not available on weekends - quite pathetic in my opinion and thirdly they didn't bother to recommend the specials! I understand it was on the board and we asked what they were - but why should we, surely this should also be part of the service. One person also received the wrong pasta......and we weren't once asked how our meal is. WILL NOT BE GOING BACK THERE!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian cuisine”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant late lunch at this restaurant on a Saturday. The venue and the décor were, well, Primi, but pleasant enough. Service was prompt and attentive. The food was well-presented and tasty. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Could have a warmer vibe”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was good and so was the service, but it was a little cold an clinical and the person serving lacked a sense of humour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
425 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love the waiters here. They really seem to enjoy what they do and when they engage with customers they are seem genuinely interested in making sure the patrons have a good time. Their knowledge of the menu is good and they seem capable of being able to make good recommendations from drinks to food items. The food is consistently good and reasonably priced. Primi Polo remains one of my favourite restaurants in the Hillcrest area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primi Polo also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing