We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, good wine.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q4 Prawns

Q4 Prawns
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Set in the Heritage Market in Hillcrest, I have enjoyed a number of meals here. Prices are reasonable, and service great. On the rare occasion when something went wrong, it was corrected immediately without fuss (and generously.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Qambathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting Experience!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am absolutely blown away at how badly myself and my friends were treated this evening. 6 ladies were at Q4 Prawns Hilcrest for dinner tonight. We were having a lovely evening until one of us felt quite Ill after dinner. She was feeling faint and very hot and cold and was very ill. What did the owner and waitress do? Did they ask if they could assist or if she was alright? NO! They close the doors leading onto the deck and locked us out after clearing our table of everything including our drinks which we had already paid for. They turned out the lights and left us there. Now let me be clear, we are aged between 32 and 43 and were not inebriated at all. Well we just sat there astonished. What a terrible end to an evening we were all so looking forward to. What a terrible experience and what disgusting service. The. Owner was the man instigating it all, shocking!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JacquiLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value seafood in kloof”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great seafood and sushi at reasonable prices, steaks were pretty good too and service was very good, highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thank you Jermaine & Staff at Q4 Prawns Kloof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently had a surprise 21st birthday party for my daughter at Q4 Prawns in Kloof. What an amazing night.The food, service and atmosphere was excellent. Jermaine made special menus for the evening, allowed me to decorate the table and supply a birthday cake. I would recomend this restaurant for anyone looking for good food, good service and good fun. Well done and thank you Q4 Kloof for making it a night to remember.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesleykzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Food at reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

That is Q4 Prawns motto on their menu and they certainly deliver. When we went the restaurant was filled with locals which is always a good sing, there were a number of birthday parties for adults (4 separate ones) and the atmosphere is laid back and casual.

Our server Charmaine was spectacular as she helped a steak lover manage the seafood menu, setting me up with the best King Prawns on the menu, I was unable to have oysters as it was Red Tide.

Jo-Anne had the combo platter featuring the King Prawns, Lobster and Hake, both of our meals were very good and the portion sizes are huge. You certainly get your monies worth at this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_and_Jo-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q4 Prawns also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Q4 Prawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing