We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful horses”
Review of Chillifields B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chillifields B & B
Ranked #3 of 19 Hillcrest B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Chillifields is a clean and comfortable B&B which suited us perfectly for an overnight stay before an early appointment at Hillcrest private hospital, which is just up the road.
The little kitchen area with a stocked bar fridge, microwave and tea & coffee station is an excellent idea, as it meant we could enjoy an evening drink and a bite to eat sitting on our patio admiring the beautiful horses grazing right in front of us. There are plenty of restaurants in close proximity if you would rather eat out.
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and set in a block away from the main house, they are private and independent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

This B&B deserves all the star ratings it has gotten! The setting is park-like, the surrounding area beautiful with lots to offer in terms of restaurants, shops and other points of interest to visit. Rooms are very well appointed, large and pristine. The ladies who look after your every wish are super friendly and helpful. And at a rate significantly less than other similar guest houses in the area.... Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like its logo "Best B&B in Assagay" - it is the best B&B that I have stayed at - the room was so clean and tidy -loved the breakfast nook with tea and coffee and fridage stocked with a variety of drinks - the linen and bath towels felt and looked brand new - the setting was so tranquil -there was a good variety at breakfast - thanxs Grant and Chillifields enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

THIS WAS OUR 4th STAYOVER IN 2 YEARS......................

NEED I SAY MORE.....................?

It is located in a quiet area with excellent views and surrounded by nature BUT only about 5 minutes drive to Restaurants / Hillcrest Cbd

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A big thank you to Grant and Chillifields. I spent 5 nights there recently and can honestly say I have never been this comfortable at any guest house ever. The room, bathroom, kitchen are beautifully and efficiently appointed. I can only say that I will definitely only stay there in the future when in the area and will tell every single person I know how fantastic it is.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ronelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Thank you Grant for setting up beautiful rooms in a great location.

The beds were very comfortable and the quality of the rooms and fittings, especially the bathroom, was far superior to other places I have stayed in SA. Having a fridge and microwave was great.

My only complaint would be that breakfast could have a little more variety. Please provide some plain yoghurts for those of us that don't want a whole lot of flavours and sugars and more fruit.

Also, my elderly mother would have liked some porridge.

The bacon and eggs were great.

Thank you for a very comfortable stay. Love the lizards.

Sandy, Australia

Room Tip: Great place close to Durban and for visit to Tala - a lovely little game reserve. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Having just spent last weekend with my wife at Chillifields I must say what a pleasant experience, the rooms or very clean and comfortable the staff very accommodating and do so with a friendly attitude, you kind of get that feeling of been far away but yet you in striking distance from all the amenities. Thanks to Grant and his staff for a great time

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hillcrest hotels
0.0 mi away
Mulberry Guest House
Mulberry Guest House
#9 of 19 in Hillcrest
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House B&B
White House B&B
#13 of 19 in Hillcrest
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brackens
Brackens
#12 of 19 in Hillcrest
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khululeka Backpackers
Khululeka Backpackers
#1 of 2 in Hillcrest
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fawncastle Estate
Fawncastle Estate
#16 of 19 in Hillcrest
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
PheZulu Safari Lodge
#14 of 19 in Hillcrest
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillifields B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillifields B & B

Address: 2 Willow Way | Assagay, Hillcrest 3650, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hillcrest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hillcrest
Price Range: $71 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillifields B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On arrival at Chillifields the first thing that strikes you is the tranquility of the place, surrounded by lush green lawn and colorful flowers. It is nestled on a hillside on a 10-acre farm overlooking the beautiful Assagay Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chillifields B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing