We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect gite in a tranquil location”
other travelers have booked this property
The open plan design is perfect for family and friends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The open plan design is perfect for family and friends.
Maison De Philomene. Luxury 18th century French Country House. 8 x 4.5 metre 28 degree heated pool with large decked area. Child safe, private and secluded.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The open plan design is perfect for family and friends.
Maison De Philomene. Luxury 18th century French Country House.
8 x 4.5 metre 28 degree heated pool with large decked area. Child safe, private and secluded.
Soak in the atmosphere of a classic French country house with coloured lime rendered walls.
The Kitchen, rustic in design, is fully equipped with all modern conveniences.
Share sociable meals at the table with Breton carved chairs.
Ground Floor.  Chambre Chenille. (Caterpillar).  Easy access Bedroom with full en-suite facilities.
Chambre Chenille's en-suite with double hydro massage shower, shower stool and grab rail.
The authentic winding chestnut staircase leading to the 1st floor.
1st Floor Landing with two bedrooms seperated either side, both with en-suites.
1st floor.  Chambre Sauterelle (grasshopper) with walk in wardrobe, dressing table and en-suite.
Chambre Sauterelle's en-suite with double hydro massage shower.
1st floor.  Chambre Libellule (Dragonfly). with built in wardrobe, dressing table and en-suite.
Chambre Libellule's en-suite with double hydro massage shower.
2nd floor. Chambre Herisson (Hedgehog) with additional fold down double sofa bed.
2nd floor bathroom . Adjacent to the bedroom allows this to be either an en-suite or used by all.
Watch the Butterflies and Bees collecting nectar from the wild flower area.
Explore the natural wildlife garden.
Terrace with barbecue. Dine Al-fresco. sit back, relax.
Drink a Kir before taking a dip in the 28 degree heated swimming pool.
After lunch take a stroll around the garden.
Keep those children amused.
Sometimes it snows
210 metres square of luxury living space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Mayeux, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian G
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect gite in a tranquil location”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My Wife and I have just come back from a week staying at the Maison de Philomene.
We looked at the other reviews before we left and I can say that it lives up to all the comments.
Maison de Philomene is a beautifully restored house in a wonderfully peaceful setting. The Kitchen is more than adequately supplied with everything you expect in a top class gite as is the rest of the gite.
The weather was great while we were there so we could make full use of the heated pool, which has stunning views across the surrounding countryside. We also drove to Concarneau one afternoon,(for better value eat in the main town not the Ville close) A nice easy drive allowing you to see more of Brittany.
The nearby town of Corlay has all you may need when away for a week with a wonderful boulangerie, shops etc.

Our hosts Adrian and Denise were very hospitable whilst giving you all the space and privacy you want when on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden, pool and decking areas
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel O
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most fantastic holiday”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We came back to this site, as we are looking to return to maison de philomene, and realised that our review from last October had not posted. Apologies to Adrian and Denise!
So here it is...
We travelled as two families with a total of 4 adults and 5 children aged between 6 and 9.
We had the most amazing holiday, the location was beautiful and the property was absolutely stunning. We cannot fault the accommodation, or the welcome we received, and the attention to detail from even before we arrived, to the moment we left, and also the contact after we arrived home was amazing.
Upon arrival (slightly later than anticipated) on a very stormy night, we were greeted by the owners, Adrain and Denise, and a wonderful and very welcome, roaring fire, as well as a welcome pack of local goodies which were soon tucked into!
During the week the owners were available to help when required, yet otherwise we wouldn't have known they were next door. Always available to help when we had questions about the local area, and also Adrian cleared the pool of leaves every day for us, as they had kindly agreed upon our request to have the pool available out of season. He even, when we mentioned that our friends little girl had lost her earring (just in case it would damage the filter etc) checked the filter and found the earring.
There was plenty to entertain the children whatever the weather- to name a few, the pool with pool toys, football, frisbee, badminton racquets, trampoline, swings, and inside a games cupboard and shelves stocked with books for adults too, or plenty of space for some great games of hide and seek (even for the adults to join in ;-))
Even though there were 9 of us in the house, we at no point felt like we were on top of each other, there were plenty of plates, bowls, cups, cutlery etc, and the kitchen was the best equipped we had ever seen. We even discussed changing the locks as it really was our dream home.
And that sums it up, we really felt at home.
We really hope to return, sooner rather than later!
Thank you Adrian and Denise for making our holiday so special, we cannot praise you or your wonderful holiday home enough.
Please don't think twice about booking this property, if it's free on the dates which suit you then just do it, you won't regret it!
The Osbourne and Curson families x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, facilities, cleanliness and welcome pack
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OzoneOtta...
Ottawa
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The owners, Adrian and Denise, are close by and responded immediately to the only problem we had with hot water one morning. They have clearly devoted a lot effort in ensuring the comfort of their guests. This is a quiet location and a great starting point to any day trips to explore Brittany. The large kitchen and outdoor eating area were put into full use by our group. A great value that definitely surpassed a "luxury" chateau we rented the following week in the Loire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall condition of the property
Liked least: A bit removed for those who want to explore Brittany
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing