We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Relaxing Place”
Review of The Vines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawke's Bay Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vines
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A Lovely Relaxing Place”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We found this place a perfect relaxing paradise for my family and friends from overseas. We all have a wonderful time including how Mary introduced us to a traditional Kiwi BBQ and a full Kiwi roast lamb leg dinner. Mary has the patient in letting us know how to use the set of cutlery and proper manner in front of a dining table. These we seldom taught in our Asian country. The spacious cottage gave us a relaxing atmosphere and privacy that we need. Mary would help us realize how Kiwi life is. She even took us to visit a retirement home nearby and let us feel the lifestyle of an elderly Kiwi person. She took us to information centre for directions and know about the activities around. What a wonderful experience that no one can give us. Mary is marvelous making our trip fun, memorable, and rewarding. I remember Mary said "You come as a visitor, you go back as my friend". When we left, we felt we already been friends. I would recommend greatly to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
well Davy May and family we loved having you to stay and learn the kiwi style of living come
back again and will show you much more thanks for staying at the vines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
32
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend at The Vines. Mary is such a wonderful hostess (who also happens to cook some of the most amazing food!) You really feel welcomed as part of the family into such a beautiful home! The surrounding vineyards and rolling hills provide a perfect backdrop for a quiet weekend by the pool or wine tastings or beach days or whatever else you can think of. A fantastic location that is only a short drive to all sorts of great local attractions! My second visit to The Vines was so much fun and it definitely won't be the last!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
nice you came back before heading back to the states to have a Christmas they will be pleased
to see you after a long time away.Happy travelling and take care.sorry you missed Hamish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Vines cottage is a wonderful place to stay, fully equiped with all you could need for a relaxing time away, set amongst the vines and beautiful gardens. Mary is an awesome hostess and we thoroughly enjoyed the day we had with her escorting us around some of the wineries in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
yes we put on the nice weather for you great meeting you all and was a pleasure to have you to stay look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Vines was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there and I am so glad she did! You cannot help but feel at ease in Hamish and Mary's beautiful home, they are so warm and welcoming. They provided all the amenities I needed, and then some. The food was amazing and their yard served as the perfect backdrop. The location is not only beautiful, but centrally located for all sorts of activities. I would definitely recommend The Vines, and I will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
As it was your first visit to the bay
hope you enjoyed the markets and the shopping beaches You loved enjoy your Christmas
with family and friends .see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Mary was a wonderful and very accommodating hostess. We were needing a place to stay and also a base to work from for 5 days and she went out of her way to meet our work needs (desk space, studio space, internet). She looked after us with food and wine, far and beyond what we requested. I couldn't recommend this place more highly. And of course from the point of view of holidaying: its perfection, wide open views of the hills beyond the vines, beautiful gardens, birds singing. Thank you Mary and Hamish

Room Tip: The self contained cottage is lovely, the rooms within the house private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you Amanda you arrived as a stranger and left as a friend perhaps next time come and relax to enjoy the Hawkes Bay and bring friends with you so you can see what Hawkes BAY has to offer see you again soon.Dont work too hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai Heads
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a wonderful serene place to come back to after a day working around Hawkes Bay - Just Wonderful - ,Great Hostess, Great internet access, Great central location for wine, golf and cycling, Great silence in fact everything was just Great :) the most amazing Sky and Stars, I could go on - but better still I will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmangawhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Pleased you could recharge your self at the vines bed and breakfast pleased you enjoyed the stars and sky as you get a perfect view without street lights come again by then the tennis court will be up and running so after work you can play tennis then have a swim.Thanks for staying with Hamish and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay, Hamish and Mary such lovely hosts, fabulous food and company. couldn't fault it. Just over the road from the lovely Sileni winery and many more within a short distance. Will be back again!!

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the vines we love meeting people and with great pleasure to meet you and your husband .look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawke's Bay Region hotels
4.1 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
242 reviews
11.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
11.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Wairoa Motel
Wairoa Motel
#1 of 1 in Wairoa
19 reviews
7.0 mi away
Clive Colonial Cottages
11.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vines

Property: The Vines
Address: 1999 Maraekakaho Road | RD1, 4120, New Zealand (Formerly Cottage in Vines)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Hawke's Bay Region
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Self Contained Cottage and Boutique Bed and Breakfast... Relax and enjoy the tranquil setting of our 30 acre vineyard in the Hawkes Bay. Tickle the taste buds and visit a large range of wineries. Treat yourself to a round of golf or shopping in Hawkes Bay. Relax around the swimming pool or tennis court and enjoy the outdoor living. Picnic hampers/catering available upon request. Breakfast is included as part of the tariff in "The B and B" rooms only. Short drive to Hastings, Havelock North and Napier. Some of the Hawkes Bays leading wineries and venues are nearby. Cycle to Abbey Cellars, Alpha Domus Winery, Te Awa vinyard, Trinity Hill and Sileni Estate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing