We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vines
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hawke's Bay Region
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amici Motel(Hastings)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Motor Inn(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
120
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshawkes baygreat sleeplovely homebed and breakfastswimming poolshort distancetwo nightscan't wait to come backgrass tennis courtgreat spotmaryhamishcottagehastingsaccommodationhostswinery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 126 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a wonderful experience, my overnight stay with Mary & Hamish was. Great hosts, meals would have put most restaurants to shame, superb wines including those from their own vineyard, and lovely surrounds amongst the grape vines. I didn't try the magnificent swimming pool as it was winter at the time of my stay. My room and the facilities were five star. I enjoyed the company of Mary and Hamish over dinner (at my request) and their humour. I would thoroughly recommend this "Paradise" to anyone visitng the Hawkes Bay in New Zealand. They won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for the review,pleased to be of help and look forward to seeing you again
when you visit Hawkes Bay,maybe in the summer where you can use the swimming
pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed this country style homestay in April 2012. Mary and Hamish were the most wonderful and friendly host. We have sumptuous breakfast and amazing dinner. Very refreshing and relaxing environment for someone who needs to unwind. Thank you Mary and Hamish.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Thank goodness that the other B and B we wanted was booked. Mary went the extra mile to make sure we had a great visit and Hamish did his bit as well. We stayed in the room with its own doors to the garden and Mary gave us a key if we need to get in at an odd time. The breakfasts were geared to our needs and always more than we could handle. We had two meals prepared by Mary (couldn't be better) served in an elegant dining room. Shared fish and chips that Mary got for us one eveniong. Nothing better than sitting out on the patio with a cool beer, fish and chips, the dogs, good company and good converstion. A perfect place for touring the local wineries. Mary will give you all the help you need. She also took us on a tour of ones further away with a lovely stop for lunch at a winery by the river. I could go on and on, but believe me the Vines is well worth the cost and the memories will last and last.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Pleased that we could make your stay so enjoyable will keep incontact the grapes have been all
harvested (not a good season) roll on 1213.Hope you are enjoying your boat cruise keep in contact

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

女主人Mary非常热情,食物非常可口,房间干净舒适,午后时光,在群山和葡萄园的环绕下,在户外游半小时泳,品一杯葡萄酒,真正的偷得浮生半日闲。

Mary is a pretty kiwi mum who can made very nice kiwi food.There is a very beautiful house located in the vineyard with the nice swimming pool and fresh garden.We have the best time in NZ with Mary's family,We just love them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

yummie and Tony and little Richard was a great time spending with you all and you are always welcome here any time .We meet as strangers and you are now our friends for life a BIG THANK YOU.
Mary And Hamishooxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We LOVED our stay at the Vines. Thank you Mary for welcoming us like family. Our son, who is 7 is still raging about all the wonderful fruits and vegetables he got to pick from the garden!! We got to sleep in and Mary and our son were preparing breakfast for us - how wonderful!! Would recommend to anyone who would like to relax in a amazing beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVines, Owner at The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your company.Pleased you were happy with your stay because you were recomended by over the other side of the world.keep safe and have fun.One day we will
meet you in your country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews