We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable cool!”

Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.08*
and up
Maeklong Railway Market and Ancient Cat Center Trip from Hua Hin Including Lunch
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable cool!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

You walk along the market under the shade of make-shift sun-covers, take photos of the stalls full of colourful, exotic fruits, vegetables, flowers, fish, sweets, and smiling people and suddenly you hear the train whistle. Sellers keep their cool, just put up the sun covers and...low and behold: the train comes along, high enough not to disturb the merchandise strewn on the ground!
It's worth going early to visit the market. There's also a beautiful floating market nearby you can visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Effie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    298
    113
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

It was an amazing and memorable experience. Something that you can learn and adapt along the stretch of this train market. The locals here were so much friendlier and welcoming. The excitement starts when the train signal is given. It is quite easy to get there via public transportation.

Just drop at Victory Monument BTS station. Once exit look out for van stations that can bring you to Maeklong (70 bahts).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank andeschocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Market With Difference”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great Experience something you would never see in UK or Europe well worth going to see.
Went to the Maeklong Market on way to floating market and did not know we was going there until our guide said We have time to stop here as it is a market with difference.
We parked up and followed her down an alleyway and then turned in to this market which seemed like a long narrow street covered in market stalls either side of road,
As we walked I looked down and noticed two rail tracks and asked her about them and she said we stop for drink in café and I tell you.
Well we stopped in a restaurant / café and she said this was the railway station and that a train will be coming through the market in twenty minutes.
We finished our drink and she said come and we followed her back in to the market after about five minutes we heard a couple blasts of a horn and she said Train coming stand in away from track.
As we did this the market stool holders had moved their goods back and covers back.
Then as they finished the train come through brushing over their baskets and past us with about a foot to spare. As it past us the stool holders put out all their goods and covers completely covering the ground leaving a gap for people to walk and leaving no sign of any train and lfe went on again as if nothing had happened.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing only on thailand:))”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Is really funny to see this market but a lot of smell, and really hot place because to small and a lot of people:):) enjoy to visit thi market

Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique Market - Must Do”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This review is a little late, but I am writing about this now because I've just returned from Peru where we visited one of the most incredible markets I've ever seen - the Belen market in Iquitos (see separate review). While incredible, that market is surpassed ONLY by the Maeklong train market outside Bangkok as the most unique market I have seen. The Maeklong train market was not on our original itinerary, but our guide described it to our group recommending we adjust our planned itinerary and we all agreed to shorten time in other areas to free the time required to see it (took us ~1.5 hrs to get there from Bangkok). We arrived about 10 min before a train came through and were able to position ourselves along the tracks and watch the market unfold itself off the tracks to let the train pass and to then refold itself right back out after the train had passed all within a few meters of the front and back of the slow-moving train. While the market itself is similar in content to many other markets in south east Asia, it's location on active train tracks between buildings that are little more than the train width apart and the frenzy of activity that accompanies the arrival of the trains was a unique experience. Forego something else if you have to in order to make the time to see the Maeklong Train Market. Its something you'll definitely remember.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub) also viewed

Damnoen Saduak, Ratchaburi Province
Amphawa, Samut Songkhram Province
 
Amphawa, Samut Songkhram Province
Bang Khonthi, Samut Songkhram Province
 

Been to Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing