We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it is just a train passing thru a market”

Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.74*
and up
Maeklong Railway Market and Ancient Cat Center Trip from Hua Hin Including Lunch
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“it is just a train passing thru a market”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

it is just a train passing thru a local market and it happens less than a minute. if you really want to see and feel it, just make sure you are there in the morning. So that, you wont miss it and you can later proceed to floating market by song-tiaw.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Choonhong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    298
    113
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Intriguing and interesting at the same time”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a local wet market, selling local produce, but not one of those touristy markets. Located in the small town of Mae Klong, the train runs through one section of the market eight times a day.

Life in this market revolves around the train line. Whenever the vendors hear the train's whistle, they will start moving their goods away and putting down the awnings. The moment the train passes by, the goods are back on the tracks and the awnings are back up. It is so intriguing to see all these happening in a matter of seconds and the locals are so used to it that it has become a part of their lives.

We visited with a tour, boarded the train from another town, ride through the countryside and reached the market one hour later. We stood at the tail-end of the train to witness the "reopening" of the market and tourists taking photos of the train. Mae Klong is the last stop for the train. We disembarked here and walked through the market to wait for the train to come back and witnessed the "closing" of the market.

This is not exactly your typical tourist trap but if you just want to witness how lives in different parts of the world can be intriguing different, Mae Klong offers you one view of such lives.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Once in a life time experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is many tour provided to go to this market but we chose to do it free & easy. We started early in the morning, took BTS to Wongwian Yai, from this BTS we took taxi to railway station. We caught the 8.35am train but there is some deal during the ride. Reach Maha chai ard 9.50am. Around maha chai there is lots of stall selling dry seafood. After a short walk, we took a 3min ferry ride to the other side of the river. After alighting, we walk ard 10mins to this Ban Laem. Bot tickets to Maekong. The schedule was 10.10am, however we waited until 11am, then the station guy came to us and say the train will not stop there. We have to walk 2 stops (20mins) ahead only to find out the railway tracks are flooded. After boarding at Banchi Phakhao station, which is 2 stop ahead we are going towards Mae Khlong. Station control mention that this is common during rainy days where water raise higher than the tracks. Along the way to Mae Khlong we could notice the train actually does travel in shallow water in some sections. 5mins before reaching Mae Khlong, the train conductor is very kind to ask us to move to the driver cabin (behind the train), to view the famous market. Before reaching the station, we could see stall owners retreat their canvas and just after the train passed by, they put them back on. We alighted and see again how the stall owners repeat their routine when the train start to travel back to Ban Laem. This is a wet market and ppl would expect smelly environment especially salted fish is the most sold. We walk around the market, but some crackers, fruits and had our lunch over there. Things are cheaper than Bangkok of course. Last train to Ban Laem would be at 3.30pm but we reach the station 2.30pm only to found out that the last train had been canceled due to flood. Train conductor told us to take minibus nearby to Bangkok. No choice we took mini bus which is non-aircon for 50B each. Halfway, after 1hr arriving at MahaChai the conductor told us to switch to van instead becoz his mini bus will not go Bangkok. We hop on the air-con van, then we had to pay another 50B each. But this time is more comfortable. Locals told us the van will only stop at Victory Monument, hence we have to take BTS back to hotel. We reach hotel around 5pm.

We feel tired but What a journey it was.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank bigtupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Did I miss something?”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was feeling brave and figuring I know Bangkok pretty well as a repeat visitor, I decided to venture here on my own. So, I took two sky trains, one tuk tuk, the local train for one hour and then a minivan for 40 minutes. So when I finally got to the market, I was expecting something - and I didn't get it. Instead I saw a local market that had a train line through it. When the big train arrived, the stall holders pulled their carts back, let the train through, and then pushed the carts back into place. It was all over in less than 90 seconds - no exaggeration. All of that for a four hour journey there. Completely underwhelmed, a friendly local showed me where to find a van to take me back to Bangkok. The return trip took an hour and the van pulled up one block behind my hotel.
So the moral is, if you want to see this, do so either by tour or direct minivan from Victory Monument. But really, was it worth it? No. I felt it had been a waste of a day and there is always so much else to see in this great city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank EasytravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Definitely an experience!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

You may have seen from Travelogues, Youtube videos and read in the internet. But you have to experience it yourself!

The busy street market selling meat, vegetables, fruits in the middle of a railway track. The train passes by 8 times a day. The stall holders unhurriedly clear up their stalls steadily just few minutes before the train pass by. And almost immediately when the train passes, life goes back to normal.

Try to get your travel agent to arrange for a private tour (with driver/guide) for a 3/4 day excursion to both the Maeklong Railway & Amphawa Floating Market. We started our journey around lunch time (12noon) and reached our hotel around 9+pm and it was really worth a trip!

Plan your trip to coincident with the train passing by, to experience the action! Do give allowance to the train timing as it may get delayed at times. Do also have time to check out the streets stalls, mostly selling food stuff.

Read more on my blog:
http://snewthewanderlust.blogspot.sg/2012/11/maeklong-railway-market-bangkok.html

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KeiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub) also viewed

Damnoen Saduak, Ratchaburi Province
Amphawa, Samut Songkhram Province
 
Amphawa, Samut Songkhram Province
Bang Khonthi, Samut Songkhram Province
 

Been to Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing