We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Very relaxed afternoon

We recently enjoyed a gin tasting experience. We arrived early and enjoyed tea, homemade traybakes... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lhm260
Fantastic experience!

My wife bought me the gin making experience for Christmas, although she's not a gin drinker she... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
fargle2nd
,
Dundee, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
10
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable afternoon our tour guide dot botanicals cambo voucher samples drinkers gin distillery shop tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

Have lived in Glenrothes for 20 years and have just today discovered things about my home county! Louise was really informative, she was patient and really made the tour enjoyable for my tally and myself!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank WayneCraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnleysgin, Manager at Darnley's Gin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

Thanks! Glad you had a great visit and hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Visited the gin distillery to find out what the buzz was about Darnley's gin, one of four gins distilled in Fife (along with Eden Mill and Pickerings, we had found out that Edinburgh Gin is actually produced in Fife, go figure!!). Dot, our tour guide, was a hoot. She described her job as "a hobby talking about alcohol, and getting PAID for it!!" She knew her stuff, and had her spiel down pat, with props, lines, jokes, and all. The actual still used to distill Darnleys was on display, and is surprisingly small, hence the "Small Batch" moniker used by the house. You get to taste three gins, the original, the spiced, and the Navy-strength spiced, and later at the distillery shop, you can taste their new "Very Berry" gin (which should become a regular, very tasty and frankly, the star of the show). Tour takes an hour, and the tour fee gets you two pounds off the purchase of a full-sized bottle at the shop.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsbarnsDarnleys, Front Office Manager at Darnley's Gin, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Hello John H, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on our Discover Darnley's gin tour. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour and will let Dot know that you had a good time. We hope to see you back at the distillery soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Last week a group of seven of us visited the distillery and thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was excellent. The information given to us was very well presented and we got to try three gins. A nice touch was that the two drivers in the group were given a small jar of gin to take home. Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank JennyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

I've been coming to the East Neuk since I was little and have always been on the look out for something new and I wasn't disappointed with the Darnley gin tour. Great value for money with a very knowledgeable guide and plenty of gin tasting! Will definitely be coming back to do the course in making our own! Looking forward to opening the bottle we brought in the shop :D

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnleysgin, Public Relations Manager at Darnley's Gin, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Hello Daniel, we are a bit late at saying thank you for your comment but your feedback is really appreciated. We hope to welcome you to our gin school soon. Best wishes, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

We had a great day out visiting the Darnley’s gin distillery. As my first ever gin tour, I loved learning about the history of Darnleys, how the gin is made and all the different flavours of each type of Darnleys gin. Our tour guide made for a very enjoyable and informative trip, and she was great at answering our questions.
We ended our visit with a lovely lunch at the Kingsbarns restaurant before heading back to Cambo house, which is a perfect short walk away. Would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank laureno93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews