We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Chateau Clement

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Clement
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This stay was one of the highlights of our month traveling around France in May.  We booked the hotel for 2 nights but extended our stay we loved it so much.   The chateau and its grounds are stunning.  The public areas inside the chateau have been furnished with impeccable taste but at the same time they exude a comfortable informality. Nothing was too much trouble for hosts Marie Antionette and Eric and they genuinely seemed concerned that we had the best possible experience during our stay.  

We booked in for the evening meal on the first night. We were a little apprehensive as we don't speak french and are not very extroverted. Marie Antionette soon put us at ease and we went on to have some of the best meals of our entire trip. Needless to say we stayed in each night, and each night were treated to Eric's exceptional cooking.

The chateau has a beautiful outdoor pool although the weather was too cold and rainy for us to use it.  However all is not lost in bad weather, there is a stunning modern indoor pool above the chateau in a spa wing where you can also arrange to have massages (we did this and Marie Antionette even arranged to block off the pool area for us alone  to use after the massage). 
  This hotel is exceptional.  We wish Marie Antionette and Eric and family all the best for the future, and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: We loved the crystal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
79
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Much to my embarrassment, I overlooked reviewing this lovely chateau when we returned from France last May. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Marie and Eric went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable from upgrading us to the new "hip" room which was truly amazing, to making dinner reservations, to giving sightseeing ideas, and also for going above and beyond anything most hosts would do to provide us with internet service. They were having some internet problems and did everything they could to get it fixed so that we could use our laptop. We also loved the "family" style dinner that Eric had prepared. This is truly a family home--adorable children included--and we were made to feel a part of the family. They clearly love their chateau, have on going plans for renovations, and are extraordinary hosts. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wearetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

An extraordinary chateau, designed for a Victorian mineral water magnate by a crazy but stylish Bavarian architect. Built at the top of the hill with a long drive wandering down through the forest to the spa town of Val des Bains, via suitably spooky iron gates straight out a film set...
The building was decaying in the hands of IBM before being sold to its amazing owners - Marie-Antionette, an incredibly friendly, efficient and charming women who will welcome you like a long lost friend and Eric - an uber-accomplished chef, formerly part of Michel Roux's team in London, with an eye for fine local wines (don't miss the evening meal - offered by arrangement). Together they have restored the building in all its glory with subtle modern twists, in keeping with the original, including a delicious pool from which to admire the architect's daring.
The atmosphere is intimate, something akin to a weekend house party, in which guests mingle and conversation flows easily. The homely atmosphere is accentuated by your hosts children, which is another secret of this place - it is somewhere where children (well behaved of course) are welcomed and parents can enjoy a level of style, comfort and indulgence usually denied by such establishments.
Plenty to do in the area, including "canyoning" 15 mins away for the ultimate thrill (search You Tube for "canyoning Ardeche" for a taste). We stayed 4 nights in August and will be back for more. I signed up to Tripadviser to leave a review as I was so impressed. Please don't book all the rooms !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RHChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife booked this one as a stop on a north to south trip thru France. I was a bit critical as it was well off the A7 but soon stopped complaining when I saw the quality of the accomodation. It looks impressive in the pictures but is even more incredible close up. The interior is magnificent. Marble and carved timber walls, ornate timber ceilings.. more like a palace than a chateau.
Marie-Antoinette and Eric were fantastic. They really work hard to ensure that all the guests have an enjoyable stay. Eric kept us well fed with exquisite french food. They both spoke fluent english which we appreciated as my french is very basic.
Vals les Bains (as the name suggests) is spa town . To be honest we didn't do much sight seeing during our three days, just walked around the town enjoying being in France and relaxing in luxury.
It was my favourite stop in a six week holiday...so ..yes i would go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here recently as a waypoint on our way from France to Italy and we were blown away by the hospitality shown to us by the hosts Marie and Eric.
Yes, the Chateau was beautiful and yes, the rooms were spacious and modern and the meal we had at the Table D' Hote was spectacular, but beyond all that was the kindness and genuine hospitality that made this stay so special and wonderful.
We highly recommend a stay at this fabulous hotel (it's really a grand B&B).

We traveled with our two boys and families are welcome and made to feel very comforatble here but there were older couples staying here as well at the same time who were enjoying being part of the family as well.

I also highly recommend eating at the hotel as Eric, one of your hosts, is a fantastic chef in his own right and prepared a most fabulous meal for us with ingredients from the garden and bought at the local market that day.

The rooms we stayed in were newly renovated and sort of a duplex apartment inside the Chateau. The kids stayed upstairs and we had a master bedroom downstairs. There was also a washer and dryer inside the apartment.

The Chateau itself is a grand dame and the grounds were beautiful as was the interior and the views from our room were breathtaking.

As an aside, there is a great "adventure" place for the kids seperate from the hotel at the bottom of the hill. It is one of those zipline, obstacle course things and it was great fun and highly recommended.

Whatever your reason for visiting this area, this place is truly wonderful and I guarantee it will be a memorable part of your trip.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, ask for the newly renovated duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javatrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We very much enjoyed this little castle.
The rooms are wonderful and the food great.
The owners are really committed to make your stay a special experience.
But all this comes at a steep price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

When you arrive at the gate and look into the property you feel like you are entering another world. Chateau Clement has been lovingly restored by the owners who live in the chateau with there 4 children which keeps it from feeling stuffy or uptight. We had a garden level room that was decorated with modern, contemporary furnishings that created a delightful contrast with the stone walls and old world atmosphere. Although they were not serving dinner the night we stayed they made reservations for us at a local restaurant that served us perhaps the best meal we had during our whole month in France. An absolutely wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllisjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helvie
Hotel Helvie
#1 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Bains
Grand Hotel des Bains
#2 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de Lyon
Grand Hotel de Lyon
#3 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aux Vieux Arceaux
Aux Vieux Arceaux
#1 of 1 in Mercuer
62 reviews
16.9 mi away
Domaine de Chalveches
Domaine de Chalveches
#1 of 1 in Faugeres
175 reviews
9.7 mi away
La Bastide De Sanilhac
La Bastide De Sanilhac
#1 of 3 in Sanilhac
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Clement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Clement

Property: Chateau Clement
Address: La Chataigneraie, 07600 Vals-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vals-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau Clement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing