We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth booking, despite the nice staff”

Hotel Saint Jacques
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saint Jacques
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was a disappointment. I will not say that it was disastrous, but if you have the choice of where to stay, do not chose this one.

We were able to book a room rather late in the season, and we had to provide a 20EUR deposit, on a room that had a larger bed than usual (queen size instead of double). The room was quite clean but looked very quaint. For us youngsters it was almost disconcerting. The TV was small, but flat and there were at least 20 channels. The bathroom was quite spacious.

What turned the experience around was the presence of 'aoutiens'... small flies which apparently like 'white' and were against the ceiling all night. We had carefully not opened the window when our lights were on (it is the middle of the summer), yet the flies were everywhere. They did not bite but had the distinct mosquito sound, and they did not mind coming down near our ears at time... that was quite annoying, and we ended up sleeping in the bathroom!

No breakfast for us, but it seemed correct although quite expensive. Parking is limited, and the car access to the hotel not easy, but fairly well indicated.

Room Tip: Choose the big bed rooms if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mijoan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank natnatnat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vals-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Celestins
Les Celestins
#5 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvie
Hotel Helvie
#2 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Clement
Chateau Clement
#1 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Aimee
Villa Aimee
#1 of 5 in Vals-les-Bains
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Kalensa
Pavillon Kalensa
#3 of 5 in Vals-les-Bains
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Bains
Grand Hotel des Bains
#4 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jacques

Address: 8 T rue Auguste Clement, 07600 Vals-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vals-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Jacques 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing