We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr”
Review of Hotel Helvie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helvie
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel is located on a busy roundabout in the center of Vals. Traffic noise is an issue early in the morning but the staff are what make this is a very fine hotel and restaurant. To a man and woman all the staff I met were welcoming, professional and very helpful. Anaïs and Eduard are two names I recall but the lady on breakfast duty was a pro too. The restaurant is excellent, the rooms spacious and clean. I was on a halfboard rate of €110/day in a single room, a bit on the high side I feel for an off-season stay of three nights. But if I was in the area I'd return to Hotel Helvie.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelvinB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    85
    24
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
137
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneve
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent two night in a junior suite in this charming 3-star hotel. The suite is spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated. Everything is thought to be as comfortable as possible, including the beds that offer very good sleep and the bathroom that features a whirlpool. On a side-note, the hotel provides bathrobes and a vast selection of hygiene accessories - a rare amenity in current 3-star hotels! The staff is very friendly and helpful, small problems are fixed without any delay.
The hotel is located right next to the Casino and the local spa. They have a luxury restaurant that looks very good - we unfortunately had no time to try it.

On the downside, their breakfast choice is rather limited and internet access (WiFi) in the rooms can be slow. The minibar has virtually nothing in it: better consider it a fridge in the room than a real mini-bar.

Room Tip: Some rooms directly face the public swimming pool: they must be very loud in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatGenevois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The wife picked this stop and hotel for us in May, 2010 as she focused on free parking and the fact that we both like "old-school", elegant spa towns like Baden-Baden, Marienbad, etc. Her pick was right as Hotel d'Helvie and Vals-les-Bains were spot-on and great places to stay in the Ardeche. I only wish that we had stayed there longer. We got our free parking on this grande dame's parking lot or directly in front.

The hotel was older, certainly, but kept up well and staffed by fewer-than-once but well-qualified and English-fluent hosts (onetime Aussies) who were very friendly and helpful. Public areas and breakfast were both good. There was an elevator and a broad staircase. Our room facing the front and the local tennis club across the street was very large by any measure; clean, well-furnished, the beds were OK and the marble bath was huge--a welcome relief in France. Its restaurant was, probably, the best in town, but the prices, given the huge $/E disconnect, seemed too high and we dined at a small but popular restaurant slightly up-river, which was also good. Still, I wish that we had spent several days there.

Room Tip: Free parking drew us, but a very nice hotel was the result.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footsore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

A great welcome. We arrived tired, with no booking, as the hotel we should have been in was a disaster. Reception could not have been more helpful, after 1 night in a small but comfortable room we moved to a bigger room with a huge bed and lots of space. English is spoken. Each morning there was a cheery "Good Morning" and they found a copy of the Daily Telegraph for us at breakfast!
The road at the front can be a bit busy first thing in the morning so if you like a long lay in try for a room at the back!
Restaurant is a bit pricey but well worth a meal or two and the best in the area. You can also eat at the adjoining Casino restaurant and there are several other cafes and creperies in the town. Madame Beatrix Creperie by the river is worth sampling and Madame is very welcoming. You may have to book at busy times to be sure of a table outside by the river.
Thoroughly recommended and a good base for visiting the Ardeche by car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I wanted to treat my parents to a day at the thermal baths and a luxury stay in this historic hotel. They were not disappointed and neither was I. The food at the restaurant was superb, and the staff even better, coming out to check on us through out the meal. The local casino was right outside the door, which offered a fun way to end our day. A real gem!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelBronx_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits in France
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This lovely 3 star hotel puts many 4stars to shame. The staff were genuinely welcoming, friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and public areas were beautifully presented, clean and comfortable. The wine we had as an aperitif was excellent and our only regret was that the restaurant was closed this being a Sunday night in October. The Casino restaurant next door was perfectly good, but we shall return to sample the wonderful looking menu in the elegant restaurant at the Helvie. Altogether brilliant value for money. Next time we will stay more than one night.

  • Liked — Clean, modern
  • Disliked — Beds quite good - could be just a bit softer and I prefer duvets
  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals-les-Bains
16.7 mi away
Domaine de Chalveches
Domaine de Chalveches
#1 of 1 in Faugeres
182 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Aubenas
Ibis Aubenas
#1 of 3 in Aubenas
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Bains
Grand Hotel des Bains
#4 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Lyon
Grand Hotel de Lyon
#3 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
101 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Le Provence
Hotel Le Provence
#1 of 2 in Lanarce
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Clement
Chateau Clement
#2 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvie

Property: Hotel Helvie
Address: 5 avenue Claude Expilly, 07600 Vals-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vals-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvie 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helvie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing