We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
Reviewed February 22, 2011

After suffering from the noise at Temples du Soleil we were moved to Tikal. It was like night and day. The room was superb, spacious, clean, confortable - far better than any previous French skiing accomodation that we have been to - although we had been given an apartment which accomodates up to 7 people and we were only 4. Real beds, real rooms, fantastic !!!

The ski lockers were ample and the inbuilt boot warmer was superb :-)

Checkout was easy and friendly. Unfortunately it was at 10:00 and we were not being picked up until 12:15. On the plus side the reception area is comfortable with settees and room to leave bags. They even provided an urn with boiling water along with complimentary tea, coffee and juice.

This is what ALL ski accomodation should be. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

Les Tikal and Les Temples du Soleil are both situated smack bang on the slopes and offer perfect doorstep skiing. The rooms are more than adaquate for a week or two's holiday and offer plently of room and a very comfy beds. The reception staff are all very friendly and speak excellent english! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were a group of 3 couples and one child staying in one of their 3 bedroom apartments.I was expecting us to be crammed in to a tiny space for the week but was pleasently surprised to find the apartment spacious and comfortable with two toilet units and 3 bathrooms!The apartment might not have the most modern of decor but it was very well equipped, clean and with a good sized living area in comparrison to most ski chalets.
As we were 3 couples I had pre requested the apartment (there are only 2 three bed apartments) with the most double beds but the max they could offer was two doulble bedrooms and one twin room.
Location is perfect,close to evreything especially the ski lifts but check in(1700 pm) and checkout(1000am)times are very inconvenient if like us you arrive in morning and leave in the evening.Especially if you have kids with you.They advertise that you can checkout later for a fee of about €35 which we were willing to do..but they wouldnt even let us do this.
Wireless charge is €20 but is a really slow and unreliable
some of our group rented skiis from the ski shop in the sister hotel acoss the road and found them very good(they had pre booked when we were booking the accomadation) but be advised the supermarket in the sister hotel is quite pricey.
Convenient ski/board and boot storage rooms aswell.Overall ,I would recommend "le Tikal".

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didiIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

These apartments are a vast improvement on the standard Pierre et Vacances which in themselves are comfortable and fine for a weeks skiing but if you want those little extras then these recently renovated units come highly recommend. With ski in, ski out access, larger than standard kitchens and flat screen tv as well as properly equipped bathrooms and beds with duvets made on arrival these apartments were great. They even had a kettle which is unheard of in France. The staff are very approachable and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olygManchester_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Great accommodation with a contemporary twist right in the heart of Val Thorens. With the slopes 20 yards away it doesn't get much better than this, with the ability to get out on the slopes early and back late. Le tickle adds something a little different to the usually bland european self catering accommodation with it's massive centre courtyard and it's unique blue modern lighting, and quality apartments. The place has a modern feel to it with good quality furnishings, the building itself is designed with interesting textures for those who like a designer feel to there abode.The staff were very friendly and very helpful when giving us advice.

Also Le Tikal is near all the good restaurants, bars and has a supermarket across the road.

Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM1968027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

The residence is a part of Les Temples du Soleil residences. We stayed there over the New Year 2009 and the week after. Overall it was quite ok if you remember that you are staying in a ‘five-sun’ residence but not a five-star hotel. The apartment was clean and functional although did not look entirely refurbished as they claim on the website. Communal areas looked quite shabby and not properly looked after.

There was a small flat screen TV with a number of French and a couple of Italian and Spanish channels. There were only two channels in English (CNN and Eurosport). Given the number of British people being the guests of the residence some BBC or Sky would seem natural (as would at least one Russian channel given the noticeable presence of Russians). We were not there to watch TV but this is just an illustration of the staff’s attitude toward the guests. They do not seem to care about anything then handing you the keys and giving you your bill. They are not concerned about anything outside their scope.

The check-in time in this residence is 5 pm of which we were aware having arrived about noon after an 11 hour journey from Moscow. We just asked to let us in our apartment as soon as it was possible since our six year old son did not feel well. While waiting we had lunch and wondered around popping in to the reception area from time to time. On each occasion we saw people arriving and going straight to their apartments. We asked why we could not go to any available apartment and had to wait instead of people who arrived noticeably later we were told that we are assigned a particular apartment which is being prepared for us. It was not the case as by 4:30 it was not ready while arriving people were keep going to their apartments. After I asked the receptionist for explanations why our simple request could not be accommodated she called the Head of Reception who appeared to be quite rude but still found an apartment for us immediately. Anyway such simple thing as allocating available apartments to guest arriving earlier or preparing particular apartments for early arriving guests is unachievable for the residence’ management.

We had another set of interactions with the reception desk when my son and I got some virus infection. We had strong fever (over 39C) and asked the reception for assistance in getting medical help (primarily for our six year old son) as none of us speaks French. The reception desk appeared to be indifferent and unwilling to help. It is probably not a part of the duty but unwillingness to help a child characterises their mentality. In similar circumstances in Moscow we would have a paediatrician in 30 minutes at most. In Val-Thorens we were told that a doctor does not come to see such patients and ‘finished for today’ anyway and the emergency told that this was not an emergency. The pharmacy was already closed and would not sell anything without prescription as it was 9 pm (3 hours later we asked the reception for assistance). So we had two people (one of which was six) with 39 degrees fever of unidentified origin and only a couple of portions of anti-fever treatment with a night ahead but no one around (including French doctors) cared.

Val-Thorens is generally a great skiing destination but we will probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tuttubene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Customer Liaison Team Representative- Surf PR- Replying on behalf of PV-Holidays at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2009

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy a high standard of service during your stay at the PV-Holidays Residence Pierre & Vacances Le Tikal.

Our customers’ comfort and enjoyment is our highest priority. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We would like to inform you that we have been in contact with the management to make them aware of the situation concerning your son, his illness and the difficulty reaching and doctor and pharmacy.

There is a strict procedure in place to complete with concerning customers being allocated their rooms, and we have passed details of this complaint on also.

All of our staff receive comprehensive customer service training, and they take pride in keeping all our customers, who come from all over the world, happy.

Many thanks for taking the time to register your complaint. We monitor all customer feedback to help us provide the best service possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP42160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal

Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range: $119 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The highest resort in Europe. Residence at the foot of the slopes and at the heart of the resort. Residence with cosy and comfortable apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal Hotel Val Thorens
Pierre And Vacances Residence Le Tikal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing