We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choise for the cost. better not to stay on the first floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
shamir
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good choise for the cost. better not to stay on the first floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

we are a family parents with 2 children. we took the 2 bedroon apartment. the apartment was comfortable. we ate most of the meals in. so the small kitchen was OK.
the location of the hotel is excellent, if you are a beginer you can walk to the slopes, or you can ski from the hotel. the supermarket is a walk in a tunnel, you don't need to put a coat on.
our room was large, the kid very small. but the living room is very large.
all and all we were very happy with the choise we made.
the things I didn't like were:
- the spa costs extra
- we were on the first floor, which means we were practicly in the street. we heard all the noise, and were seen all the time, when the curtains were open.
- I would prefer a toaster oven to a mircowave oven in the kitchen

Room Tip: not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    88
    62
    34
    15
See reviews for
176
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at Le Tikal for one week in a two bedroom apartment. The check in was easy enough but the staff member checking us in was just fairly new and couldn't tell us where anything was but we made our enquiries at a later date so it wasn't anything to gripe about. On arrival we had to make up our own beds which was bit of a pain after a long plane journey. The apartment was clean and suitable for its purpose although decor could be updated slightly. The room with the bunk beds was very cramped almost no standing room and the beds I agree with the previous reviewer are definately not for adults. However, four adults and two children in this space and we managed just fine. There was also a dishwasher in the kitchen which was very convenient. There was only one bathroom/showeroom and another little room with a sink and bath/shower which made getting ready easier at night as both showers stayed hot even if used at the same time. We took the evening meal option and only had to cross the small road each evening to the restaurant. Food was served from 6pm until 10pm. The food there was lovely and each night was a set menu but you were still allowed to choose anything else from another small selection if it did not suit. Service was always good and we really couldn't fault it....each floor has it's own designated ski/boot room which is modern and efficient for its purpose a great idea..We paid for the hi speed wi fi but unfortunately it only ever worked when you were in or around the restaurant or reception area. The hotel is very convenient for the slopes and the sking conditions and runs were fantastic during our week long visit. Only one really bad white out day but we still manged to ski well..Any of the aforementioned negatives were just niggles, we had an overall fantastic holiday. On departure you have to strip back the beds for the maids which again is a bit inconvenient when you have a 5 o'clock pick up and kids to get ready. But overall we would recommend this hotel for families and couples. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank An0nym0us98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at Le Tikal for one week, parents + grown up son - came with a group.
We were told by the agency this were 4 star apartments, so we were disappointed to find out old ugly furniture, 2 tiny beds suitable for kids in a tiny room (bedroom) and pull out sofa in the living room.The kitchenette and bathroom are ok, but the wc is so small your knees touch the door...and no ventilation. Since the small room opens to the inner corridor of the building (very special architecture), you do hear every passer by day and night. On the positive side, the blankets are soft, the linen clean and there were enough towels for a week. Location is great, the restaurant across the road is fine (although the service was sometimes confused - we got the groups menu). We were surprised that staff everywhere talked excellent english, they did not let me practice my high school french...As for skiing, the resort is fantastic for beginners and intermediate skiers, wide pistes well signed and ski in-ski out is so convenient.
Our son who is less spoiled, said for him the apartment was just what he needed...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryTel_aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at Le Tikal over the new year period 2011-12. We were a party of 4 adults and two children, we found our accommodation good and worth what we had paid for it. Clean linen clean bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen made for a comfortable week. Le Tikal apartments compared to Le Temples du Soleil across the road where I had stayed at the same time period in 2010 were fantastic. I do feel that the french need to embrace their tourism everything seemed to be an effort for staff throughout the resort i found most NOT all the tourism staff to be rude and ignorant attending to french speakers first and having visited France for the last 42 years for holidays on numerous occasions little has changed. Come on France embrace your foreign visitors be HAPPY I always feel that I should not be there. Having said all that I think you have a wonderful country and the French Alps are stunning.

Room Tip: chose a room on the six floor for easy access to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Machiavelli41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Lower apartments are noisy .. avoid.

The Wifi does not work, go the food court in the shopping mall if you need it. The dishwasher did not work in 1/05 maintenance did not come when we reported it, sink in the kitchen leaks, maintenance did not come, the toilets smell… yes you guessed…

Check in glacial… or perhaps slower

Bread service is good.

Room Tip: Avoid or if you must make sure you are on slope side and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapeset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Le Tikal would be fine, even good (position, layout, size, facilities) if it wasn't for the noise and the useless staff and booking process.

I have never anywhere experienced so much noise at night - I had read that the road side could be noisy so when I booked 6 months ahead I specifically asked for the quiet side away from the noise and was advised that this could be accommodated. When we checked in I again asked to make sure we were on the quiet side. The receptionist assured me we were. The noise in the building started at around 8.30 each night, had increased (music and yelling) enough by 10.30 when our kids were unable to sleep and continued despite us going around asking people to please be quiet, until about 12.30 when most of them left to go to the clubs. Each night the same thing. We would then get about 3 hours sleep until they all started coming home 3-5am and then about 1 more hour's sleep before the delivery trucks started at about 6am outside our window. Our friends had an apartment on the other side and had no major problem except for the partying in the building until midnight. When we complained each evening we were told they could not move us and that the guard would do extra rounds and that the noisy people would be warned. We never saw a guard, the reception closed at 8pm each night, and the partying and screaming went on every single night. One night it was so bad I called the police in desperation. We ended up trying to sleep with pillows over our heads to at least muffle the noise.
We stayed there because our friends were there and we decided it was better to put up with it than to make too much fuss. But clearly Pierre et Vacances made no effort to honour our request for the quiet side when we booked nor warn families that this is simply not suitable accommodation unless you are an 18 year old student who wants to drink and party all night every night.
They also only gave us two keys which made it difficult for people returning at different times.
We paid extra for wifi and it worked for one night then went down. Staff kept saying they didn't know what was wrong but hoped it would be fixed anytime now. It was still down by the time we left and they said they could not give us a refund on the spot, but would process it after we left. I need to check my husband's statement to see if they have done this but I bet they haven't.
When we asked staff how we could get ourselves and luggage up the hill to the central pick up transfer point for our early morning departure, they didn't know how we could. No suggestions except 'walk'. They suggested we book a taxi but when we asked them to they reluctantly said they could. The process eventually came to nothing when we were told the taxi would cost Euro 250 (to go about 600 yards) as they had to come from Moutiers. They offered to lend us one of their indoor trolleys (which would have been fairly useless in the snow but was about as helpful as they got) which we started to do. However we then found by pure chance that the local free shuttle bus starts early on a Saturday morning and could take us. Why did the staff not know this essential information? It is beyond me. It was like Faulty Towers!
This was the first and last time we'll ever stay with Pierre et Vacances. It could have been mostly avoided if they had just accommodated our request in the first place. They could not have cared less once we were there. The reception staff would just shrug their shoulders and say a pathetic 'sorry' with complete lack of conviction.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haveli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Le Tikal. We were a party of 6 adults and one child. The location of the hotel is perfect and even though the snow was limited around the hotel it was only a short walk to the slopes with access to all major lifts or the magic carpet. A great location for Ski schools.
These are the words of warning:
If you have a 4x4 or a car with a roof box you won't get into the reserved car park and will have to pay to park further down the hill with a bus ride to the town and back. Saturday change over day is horrible!!! If you are lucky enough to get your car parked near to the hotel you have to unload everything and put it in the foyer of the hotel with everone else doing the same! Then if like us you were on the top floor everything has to be placed in the lift and taken up, out the other end and finally to the room! Just be prepared.
In the appartment there is no oven just a microwave and a hob, it only has a travel kettle.
The appartment was clean and thebeds and lined lovely. We were really impressed with the location,accomodation and price which we all felt was excellent value

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased you were happy with the location of the residence and found it good value for money. We have logged your comments on the parking and unloading issues and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving the standard of our accommodation wherever we can, therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Thorens - Les Neiges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
Address: rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The highest resort in Europe. Residence at the foot of the slopes and at the heart of the resort. Residence with cosy and comfortable apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence Le Tikal
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing