We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep due to extreme noise. Unhelpful, unknowledgeable staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No sleep due to extreme noise. Unhelpful, unknowledgeable staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Le Tikal would be fine, even good (position, layout, size, facilities) if it wasn't for the noise and the useless staff and booking process.

I have never anywhere experienced so much noise at night - I had read that the road side could be noisy so when I booked 6 months ahead I specifically asked for the quiet side away from the noise and was advised that this could be accommodated. When we checked in I again asked to make sure we were on the quiet side. The receptionist assured me we were. The noise in the building started at around 8.30 each night, had increased (music and yelling) enough by 10.30 when our kids were unable to sleep and continued despite us going around asking people to please be quiet, until about 12.30 when most of them left to go to the clubs. Each night the same thing. We would then get about 3 hours sleep until they all started coming home 3-5am and then about 1 more hour's sleep before the delivery trucks started at about 6am outside our window. Our friends had an apartment on the other side and had no major problem except for the partying in the building until midnight. When we complained each evening we were told they could not move us and that the guard would do extra rounds and that the noisy people would be warned. We never saw a guard, the reception closed at 8pm each night, and the partying and screaming went on every single night. One night it was so bad I called the police in desperation. We ended up trying to sleep with pillows over our heads to at least muffle the noise.
We stayed there because our friends were there and we decided it was better to put up with it than to make too much fuss. But clearly Pierre et Vacances made no effort to honour our request for the quiet side when we booked nor warn families that this is simply not suitable accommodation unless you are an 18 year old student who wants to drink and party all night every night.
They also only gave us two keys which made it difficult for people returning at different times.
We paid extra for wifi and it worked for one night then went down. Staff kept saying they didn't know what was wrong but hoped it would be fixed anytime now. It was still down by the time we left and they said they could not give us a refund on the spot, but would process it after we left. I need to check my husband's statement to see if they have done this but I bet they haven't.
When we asked staff how we could get ourselves and luggage up the hill to the central pick up transfer point for our early morning departure, they didn't know how we could. No suggestions except 'walk'. They suggested we book a taxi but when we asked them to they reluctantly said they could. The process eventually came to nothing when we were told the taxi would cost Euro 250 (to go about 600 yards) as they had to come from Moutiers. They offered to lend us one of their indoor trolleys (which would have been fairly useless in the snow but was about as helpful as they got) which we started to do. However we then found by pure chance that the local free shuttle bus starts early on a Saturday morning and could take us. Why did the staff not know this essential information? It is beyond me. It was like Faulty Towers!
This was the first and last time we'll ever stay with Pierre et Vacances. It could have been mostly avoided if they had just accommodated our request in the first place. They could not have cared less once we were there. The reception staff would just shrug their shoulders and say a pathetic 'sorry' with complete lack of conviction.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haveli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    88
    62
    34
    15
See reviews for
176
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Le Tikal. We were a party of 6 adults and one child. The location of the hotel is perfect and even though the snow was limited around the hotel it was only a short walk to the slopes with access to all major lifts or the magic carpet. A great location for Ski schools.
These are the words of warning:
If you have a 4x4 or a car with a roof box you won't get into the reserved car park and will have to pay to park further down the hill with a bus ride to the town and back. Saturday change over day is horrible!!! If you are lucky enough to get your car parked near to the hotel you have to unload everything and put it in the foyer of the hotel with everone else doing the same! Then if like us you were on the top floor everything has to be placed in the lift and taken up, out the other end and finally to the room! Just be prepared.
In the appartment there is no oven just a microwave and a hob, it only has a travel kettle.
The appartment was clean and thebeds and lined lovely. We were really impressed with the location,accomodation and price which we all felt was excellent value

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased you were happy with the location of the residence and found it good value for money. We have logged your comments on the parking and unloading issues and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving the standard of our accommodation wherever we can, therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

After suffering from the noise at Temples du Soleil we were moved to Tikal. It was like night and day. The room was superb, spacious, clean, confortable - far better than any previous French skiing accomodation that we have been to - although we had been given an apartment which accomodates up to 7 people and we were only 4. Real beds, real rooms, fantastic !!!

The ski lockers were ample and the inbuilt boot warmer was superb :-)

Checkout was easy and friendly. Unfortunately it was at 10:00 and we were not being picked up until 12:15. On the plus side the reception area is comfortable with settees and room to leave bags. They even provided an urn with boiling water along with complimentary tea, coffee and juice.

This is what ALL ski accomodation should be. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Les Tikal and Les Temples du Soleil are both situated smack bang on the slopes and offer perfect doorstep skiing. The rooms are more than adaquate for a week or two's holiday and offer plently of room and a very comfy beds. The reception staff are all very friendly and speak excellent english! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were a group of 3 couples and one child staying in one of their 3 bedroom apartments.I was expecting us to be crammed in to a tiny space for the week but was pleasently surprised to find the apartment spacious and comfortable with two toilet units and 3 bathrooms!The apartment might not have the most modern of decor but it was very well equipped, clean and with a good sized living area in comparrison to most ski chalets.
As we were 3 couples I had pre requested the apartment (there are only 2 three bed apartments) with the most double beds but the max they could offer was two doulble bedrooms and one twin room.
Location is perfect,close to evreything especially the ski lifts but check in(1700 pm) and checkout(1000am)times are very inconvenient if like us you arrive in morning and leave in the evening.Especially if you have kids with you.They advertise that you can checkout later for a fee of about €35 which we were willing to do..but they wouldnt even let us do this.
Wireless charge is €20 but is a really slow and unreliable
some of our group rented skiis from the ski shop in the sister hotel acoss the road and found them very good(they had pre booked when we were booking the accomadation) but be advised the supermarket in the sister hotel is quite pricey.
Convenient ski/board and boot storage rooms aswell.Overall ,I would recommend "le Tikal".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didiIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

These apartments are a vast improvement on the standard Pierre et Vacances which in themselves are comfortable and fine for a weeks skiing but if you want those little extras then these recently renovated units come highly recommend. With ski in, ski out access, larger than standard kitchens and flat screen tv as well as properly equipped bathrooms and beds with duvets made on arrival these apartments were great. They even had a kettle which is unheard of in France. The staff are very approachable and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olygManchester_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val Thorens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Great accommodation with a contemporary twist right in the heart of Val Thorens. With the slopes 20 yards away it doesn't get much better than this, with the ability to get out on the slopes early and back late. Le tickle adds something a little different to the usually bland european self catering accommodation with it's massive centre courtyard and it's unique blue modern lighting, and quality apartments. The place has a modern feel to it with good quality furnishings, the building itself is designed with interesting textures for those who like a designer feel to there abode.The staff were very friendly and very helpful when giving us advice.

Also Le Tikal is near all the good restaurants, bars and has a supermarket across the road.

Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM1968027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Thorens - Les Neiges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
Address: rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The highest resort in Europe. Residence at the foot of the slopes and at the heart of the resort. Residence with cosy and comfortable apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence Le Tikal
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing