We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”
Review of Village Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Montana
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the 6 th time we have stayed at village Montana apartments and they are always very welcoming and the apartments very comfortable. There was only two of us this time but when there were 4 of us we upgraded to the 6 persons apartment so that we would have two proper rooms rather than one and bed settee. The hotel reception has been refurbished and although not to my taste (it used to be in warm and welcoming colours - red comfy settees and warm pine everywhere) - it is now completely grey - all the pine painted and hard plastic settees - suppose it is progress !
The only criticism is the wardrobe space in the rooms - for skiing you need shelves to put clothes on ! Not just hanging space. Nothing in the second bedroom! Also they used to give a little starter pack with washing up sponge and a few dishwasher tabs but nothing this time. It is easy to get to supermarket though just 6-7 mins walk away but if you arrive late make sure you are prepared. We did have trouble getting wifi in the room but it was intermittent - ok in reception though.
Will be back :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WokingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

staff were very good. plenty of info when you checked in. apartments in a great ski in / ski out location. we stay at the 4 star Valbel block. apartments very comfortable and clean and had all that you wanted. would certainly go back to these apartments if we went back to val thorens. the resort has plenty to offer and loads of skiing for one week, and you dont even need to go to merribel or courchevel. The apartments were very warm, but could always open a window or French doors onto the balcony.

Room Tip: stayed in V12, out the back with mountain views. 2 bed apartment. nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the suites for a short 4 day trip and couldn't fault this magnificent accommodation. The location is at the top of the hill with beautiful far reaching views over the Alps and is a great ski in ski out location but perhaps not for complete beginners. As i had beginners with me the hotel put on a shuttle to take them down to the lifts and also were happy to rush down to pick you up whenever you should call them.

We were staying on a half board basis, the breakfast had a great variety for everyone and the dinner which consisted of seven courses was cooked and served up to a very high standard.

The room itself was a suite, two bedrooms, two bathrooms - one consisting of a sauna and jacuzzi bath and was cleaned every day by room service which was great.

The best part of the hotel was the staff, the service was impeccable, everything was done with a smile and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Having travelled a lot i don't recall ever meeting such diligent and happy workers.

This hotel made the trip in itself, thanks to all the staff that made it such a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location for skiing with direct access to slopes, shops and center of the city. rooms are ok, sometimes missing small kitchenette facilities, heat control sometimes is not precise. The smallest room is for four persons so could be slightly overpriced for double occupation. Wifi is quite slow, port restricted and sometimes not available, but free of charge. Overall impression is still quite good but there is a space for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yadsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends in November 2012 for the opening weekend of Val Thorens. The location is clearly the best part... ski in/ski out access to the slopes, a small closet to store your skis and boots, and a shared room for gearing up when hitting the slopes. The reception area was clearly remodeled, but the rooms didn't have same brand new feeling. That being said, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bed was a little firm for my taste, but that's personal and I can't fault the room.

We reserved for 4 people and I think the room could have slept 5 or six. A small kitchen connected to a shared living/dining room and two bedrooms, 1 of which was open to the living room. The other bedroom was private. There was no maid service during the day, so you do not arrive to a made bed after returning from skiing for the day. However, this was not a big deal.

We were a little confused because the reservation email said something about having to clean the room ourselves. We asked at the desk and they said to just make sure the room was tidy. There was a vacuum, so we quickly ran that over the floor before leaving. While not a big deal, when compared to a normal hotel experience, this was strange. But for the price, none of us complained.

Parking was across the street (in one of several garages) and the spaces were tight, but once parked, the cars sat in the garage for the entire weekend. We were charged extra for the parking spaces.

The front desk seemed a little hectic (it was opening weekend) and while the staff (there were at least 5 people working behind the counter) seemed overwhelmed, they were very friendly and helpful (in my experience, perfectly french with there level of service). That being said, I speak a little french and was with french people and I believe that can help contribute to pleasant experience with staff. Everyone we spoke to was able to speak some English also (people automatically speak English to me when they hear my accent).

Wifi was a bit slow, but worked. The heat was not adjustable in the room. We called the front desk and they said they controlled the temperature remotely and that they would increase it. I'm not convinced they did, I was ok with the temp, but one of the girls in our group remembers being a bit cold in the room. We were able to crank the heat the bathroom and leave the door open... this gave us a small bit of control.

I do remember waking up the first night to drunk people yelling (I think they were outside). So, I'm not sure this is the place to stay if you're expecting solitude. That being said, it was opening weekend and there was a party atmosphere.

We received a promotional price with lift tickets for the opening weekend and for the price we paid, I would come back without a doubt. For a premium price, I'm not entirely sure you will have a premium experience... In conclusion, if the price is right I would recommend the Village Montana.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codyzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this last minute through Crystal and went with an open mind as it was a reasonable price for Xmas so didn't expect too much.

We were very pleasantly surprised. We were in the Montana Valbel (there are several other buildings) and had a spacious two bedroom apartment (apartment number v03). Plenty of room for us and our two children (11 and 8), kitchen well equipped with a microwave and a mini oven and grill, hotplate,toaster kettle etc plenty of pots pans crockery, and a dishwasher everything you need. Huge bathroom and nice size living area and a sofa big enough for all four of us to sit on! Balcony with loungers to sit in when the sun was out. Our apartment was on level 0 same as the boot room which was ideal for us not too far to trapse with children and then the boot room leads out on to a small access slope barely a minute to main lifts and perfect if you have children at Prosneige ski school (Crystal use them-they were excellent and far cheaper than ESF) as the ski school meeting point is here too. ESF meet a little higher up so you would have to walk with your skis or take a carpet lift to get to them but it's still not far.

A mini welcome pack of cleaning items inc dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid is in the room as you do need to clean the kitchen and get rid of your rubbish on departure. Clean towels were delivered to our room mid-week.

Lovely bakery next door, restaurants opposite(La petetie ferme is great but pre-book as we couldn't get in on several attempts!), ski hire two doors up and supermarkets less than 5 min walk. The main resort is a max 10 minute walk accessed by a lift and a bridge opposite the apartments. Loads of restaurants, shops etc .

We loved these apartments as they were clean,quiet and spacious and perfectly located for a family and are planning to return next year.

Skiing was awesome lots of pwder and sunshine and Val Thorens was perfect for our mixed ability family something for everyone.

We were there from 22-29th December everything is open over Xmas inc Xmas day, inc all shops and restaurants. shops were open from 8ish am -8pm even on Xmas Day. Santa and free firework display on Xmas eve -lovely.

Room Tip: Slope side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jrj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012.
The complex is split between 3 buildings, all beside each other. The apartments are better quality than most of the places I've stayed in in France. We had a 6 person apartment, 2 double rooms and a small bunk room for 2 people. The sittingroom/kitchen was a decent size and 6 of us fit comfortably. The apartments were in pretty good condition, and were clean when we arrived.

There is a sauna & massage area, but its small and you have to book in to ensure availability. One downside is the lack of swimming pool.

The restaurant on the slopes is good - but pricey!

Great location for ski in/out.

The centre of town is a short walk & elevator journey away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Swirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#16 of 29 in Val Thorens
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Montana

Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: $200 - $2,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Val Thorens our residences welcome you at the foot of the pistes. Discover our large traditional style savoyard chalets with shops and restaurants in close proximity. You have everything you need for an unforgettable holiday experience at the heart of the 3 Valleys ski area. Just a short walk from the residence, you'll find several different establishments for child care and children's activities, from 3 months of age. As recommended in some of the best culinary guides, enjoy the gourmet restaurant L'Epicurien in its refined and intimate setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Montana Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing