We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard and right on the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Hameau du Kashmir
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with my 2 lads and their 2 mates. All 3 bedrooms en suite with a spare loo. Plenty of space, well equipped kitchen, balcony overlooking the piste. Lift down 2 flights, straight into the ski locker, out the door...and you are away. You can ski back to the locker by taking one of 3 lifts that take you north of the hotel. Perfect!

Sauna and pool. Bar and restuarent which we used. No complaints whatsoever. Parking on site too and walkable around VT.

We went on the Feb bank holiday.....expecting the lifts to be crowded. Not at all. There are about 8 lifts so it all gets spread out and no bottle-necks. If you are up for an adventure, go over the mountain and ski Jerusalem. It's a nice red. You simply can't get bored in VT. Between the 3 Valleys there is 600 km of skiable piste. Put in some perspective, that's equal to the whole of N America COMBINED!! VT is the highest re sport in Europe so it's snow-sure where Spring Skiing is super. I was there April 2013. Hence the return visit.

Room Tip: Our 3 bedroom was room no 4 overlooking the piste and the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 287 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Hotel is great. Just right on the ski slope. The room was just exellent. The pool is perect. The girls at the breakfast buffé are the best and the breakfast is really good.
Trip advisor does not consider this to be a hotel. In my eyes its one of the better hotels in Val Thorens.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I Stayed here in January as a group of 6 .. 3x double / twin rooms , all with en-suite. and TV's rooms fairly spacious and dining/ kitchen area is good and very function able... microwave, dishwasher .. nice touch is the dishwasher tablets and mini washing up liquid etc. Fully stocked pots pans cutlery 12x plates etc... this place is really good... even had corkscrew and they provide robes and slippers in your room...to wear when using pool and sauna which is spacious.

We were on first floor and had good view over to L'Oxlexys hotel and Plein Sud piste lift (from our balcony) which passes the hotel. At the end of the day you can ski door to door or down from the other runs and get the mini gondola "Cairns" up and drops you off across the slope ... dead easy.
Food...we shopped at the Carefour in town which was quite reasonable and well stocked to supplement our UK supplies.. we had taken sufficient supplies of bacon and sausage for our breakfast, also took some mince and made chilli and burgers... we like to eat well !
Skiiing .. great access to 3 valleys, if cloudy.... then you can drop into Les Mes via BD blue run otherwise easy access over to Meribel valley or up down up to Corchevel.... now there is a place that knows how to charge ! be prepared to pay 6+ euros for a coffee... its only 3 in Motteret or 10 for a beer !!... but that's what skiing is all about ... when in Rome etc.
Free WiFi 24/7 ask for extra codes as the room code only does 3 devices at once
overall we had a great time and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank concchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

late entry to our rooms with no apology was perhaps an indicator to the levels of service this so called 4 star hotel/apartments was to provide. The apartment was not cleaned to an adequate standard and with no mid week cleaning became very dusty. There was no information in the room regarding the hotel and no cleaning equipment at all, had to ask for a brush! whilst the hotel had the amenities of a top hotel there idea of service was non existent we were not even allowed to use the ski locker on the last day and when my wife asked for a hair dryer as we changed in the sauna area she was told that the Head of Cleaning, an oxymoron if there ever was one, wouldn't allow it. we collected our bags from the dusty garage area where they had been carefully stored ourselves, the idea that one of the staff could help us was obviously not in their training manual.

would I return to the Kashmir definitely not! would I return to Val Thorens definitely!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, General Manager at Le Hameau du Kashmir, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Mr P.

We are very disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your stay because we pay a very special attention to our clients well-being during their stay in our resort. What a pity you didn't come to see me! You booked on the residence side in an apartment including the beds done at the arrival, bathrobes and towels, free wifi, midstay towel change and end of the stay cleaning (except for the kitchen). Concerning the midstay cleaning, you had the oppotunity to have it as an extra. I apologise if this information has not been clearly explained. To complete this answer, I would like to say how surprised we are to your feeling about the lack of amability from our staff. On your demand, one of our receptionnist led you to the luggage room and helped you to carry your bags. To get more facilities, you can book on the hotel side a suite including the hotel daily cleaning, luggage service, half board and many other services. Be sure that your comments will help us to improve our quality approach.

Sincerely yours

Sylvain VERMEIRSCHE
Hameau du Kashmir General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

we stayed on Kashmir apartments hotel during the first week of Feb.
we were 15 friends, we got 4 apartments on the 2nd floor, the apartment was OK with to bedrooms
that opened to a small saloon with a little but equipped kitchen and a little balcony. each bedroom with Separate shower and toilet,
the hotel location is fantastic for ski in and out but from other point of view it's a little bit problematic because it's far from the center (around 5 minutes walk), and from some restaurants (could take even 15 minutes walk...). and when you try to go out in a very cold day it's unpleasant.
the Spa is poor with no Jacuzzi and steam sauna , and in the fitness room there is just bicycler trainers.
i liked the breakfast .but if you want to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant, pay attention that the kitchen closed around 9:00 PM.
the hotel price was include in our package and i think it's a fer price for this hotel level.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Responsable du Hameau du Kashmir at Le Hameau du Kashmir, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Harel,

first, we would like to thank you for your review.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed our resort barely located ski-in / ski-out which perfectly fitting to our clients.

Hameau du Kashmir is actually providing both hotel and 4* residence. You actually booking an apartment on the residence's side. Prices are adapted for each kind of service: hotel or residence.

Even if we are a stone thrown from the center of Val Thorens (5 minutes walking), we don't really need to go there as our resort offers its own skishop, restaurants, swimmingpool and spa. Moreover, this offers a very strong position in a quiet area of Val Thorens, where you don't have to stand the Noisy nights. So you can enjoy quietness and rest by us.

We hope to see you next year

Kind regards

Sylvain VERMEIRSCHE
Hameau du Kashmir General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

A beautifully appointed hotel with 2 nice restaurants with ski in/ski out terrace. All facilities were excellent, albeit it would have been nice if the sauna was in the same area as the pool... Our only negative for the whole week.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the menu for the 14th, quoted by us all as the best meal of the week.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Guy0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Been there on the first week of feb with friends( 3 rooms of 4 persons per apartment ) booked it as pack edge via skideal.
When we checked in we realized other people got our apartment
The apartments are build for families so there is tv in only one room and the second one is in the
Living room . We got only one blanket and beds were connected
We booked breakfast in the hotel.
It was good but sometimes there were not enough scrambled eggs and croissants. One of the guys took a banana to go and we were told its forbidden ( we would expect better service)
Restaurant was unprofessional.
We couldn't order fries unless we ordered steaks.
We had to clean the apartment in the end of week
Spa didn't have jacuzzi and pool is for kids.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Responsable du Hameau du Kashmir at Le Hameau du Kashmir, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Nirher,

Thank you for coming in Hameau du Kashmir through Skideal.
We have been working now for 2 years with Skideal, which is one of our best Partners till now.
The professionnal team from Skideal offers our resort including 3 saunas and a swimming pool and our 4 person apartments, which are all offering 2 separated bedrooms including one double bed and 2 single beds. This is available for families and friends. In the description we use to give to our partners and on our website, we clearly explain how the apartments are looking like. That's why we feel very surprised to read your review, because we have the feeling you didn't get the right description. We would be very glad if you could check with your tour operator what was booked for you. There might have been a misunderstanding between Skideal and you. Nevertheless, Skideal Ltd only sells apartments including one end of stay cleaning.

To complete this answer, let me explain you how important is our clients arrival: to improve it, we actually deliver apartment for check in as soon as possible to the first clients arriving on spot. Which means that nobody has to wait.

Our breakfast buffet provides many kind of breads, fresh viennoiseries, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals and fresh fruits. This is for breakfast. If everybody takes everything out, then nothing's left for you at breakfast. We manage a quality breakfast in a 4 stars resort for over than 80 people per day and quality is our aim.

We hope that those explanations will bring you the needed answers you requested and that you nevertheless enjoyed our ski-in and ski-out resort and Val Thorens.

Sylvain VERMEIRSCHE
Hameau du Kashmir General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 28 in Val Thorens
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 28 in Val Thorens
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#9 of 28 in Val Thorens
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 28 in Val Thorens
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#8 of 28 in Val Thorens
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau du Kashmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau du Kashmir

Address: Grande Rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range: $419 - $1,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Hameau du Kashmir 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good sized suite (45 to 80m2) provides plenty of space for families and include two independent bedrooms and a living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Hameau du Kashmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing