We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, location and excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Hameau du Kashmir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury, location and excellent value!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Full of Russians and Israelis...which means two things: 1. Luxury, location, ski in and out and 2. Value! Located in the most prime part of Val Thorens right opposite a 2 Michelin star restaurant, away from the nightlife but only a short stroll to the supermarkets and clubs/bars. High quality finish with small but functional kitchen. Very good air control systems which meant the best sleep I have had in ski residences ie not stuffy, but yet not too warm or cold! Although the rooms are small at around 500 square feet for a 2 bedroom suite, it still much bigger than the typical hotel suite hence quite good value for a 5 star residence compared to the other 5 star hotels are looked at in Val Thorens. The staff spoke excellent English and were friendly. The 2 restaurants were well priced and served some tasty and interesting cuisine which was a nice change. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the same level as the ski room on level -1 as you can literally ski back to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    113
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
168
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked in for the Christmas week, with only a limited choice of rooms for 2 adults, 2 children (ages 4 and 8).

The positives......

The apartment was lovely decorated in a dark wood and red colour scheme. We had two bedrooms, one double which was off the main sitting room area, with sliding doors and the other bedroom was twin beds with en-suite, down a short cupboard filled hallway!
All on one level. The beds were very comfortable with warm duvets and extra blankets and pillows. Ample towels were provided with a clean change and apartment clean mid-stay! Bathrobes and slippers were provided for you to use at the pool...after the first day we realised that people simply wore the robes down to the pool, as there was no-where to change!

The kitchen was well equipped for the kind of cooking that you'll be doing on a holiday of this sort. Plenty of cooking utensils and pots/pans and dishes for serving. There was a toaster, large fridge with freezer compartment and the oven looked brand new. There was even a kettle, which in previous apartments has proved unusual. (we've been known to boil water in a pan for a cuppa). The actual worktop space was limited but there was a large dining table where you could prepare food! Food storage space was also limited but we moved a few things around and voila!
You're hardly likely to be preparing gourmet food so what they provide you with is more than adequate.

The bathrooms were stylishly decorated, one with a shower the other with bath and shower head, great for the kids. Both had a large, very hot, although adjustable radiator and hairdryer.

One wardrobe in each bedroom was just about enough but could have done with more storage although in the hallway we had two large cupboards with hanging space.

The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived, even the cleaners and maintenance guys gave us a happy "bonjour" regardless of the time of day!
The pool was warm and inviting but only had a few chairs around the pools edge in which to put your towel and bathrobe on. Mood lighting made it a very relaxing experience :)

The negatives......

The balcony, although we didn't use it only had one chair...not ideal for a family of four, but minor detail!
There is a bread delivery which you order through the reception. We didn't use this service but due to an error had some delivered to us...BEWARE, the delivery lady let herself in to our apartment to put the bread on the table. When we said we hadn't ordered any she simply shrugged! This was at 7am, fortunately we were up and around but I can imagine it would be a bit alarming to hear someone in your room at that time!
The reception took some persuading that we hadn't ordered the bread and although they finally conceded, they still tried to charge us for it on check-out!

The restaurant - was very nice, the menu offered a range of food for adults but the usual chicken nuggets and chips for kids, was disappointing considering the standard that they were trying to aspire to. We were first in for our meal...at 7pm, when it opened but due to them forgetting to serve us our dessert it meant we actually left 2 hours later. Fine for adults but when you have two tired children, not ideal!

Ski-in, ski-out claim - indeed it is IF you are a competent skier. On a slope running straight down to the slopes, fine in the morning when 'traffic' is light but during the day it becomes a busy through way for skiers and the slope becomes very chopped up and full of moguls! Getting back to the residence was tricky as you had to go higher up than the place by chair-lift or cable car and ski down, again not ideal for children or beginners.

In our 6 days of ski-ing we did ski down out of the apartments but tried different ways of getting back. One of the best ways was to walk through the Ecole de ski (our kids had lessons there) get the lift up to the street level, and catch the free shuttle bus to just before the apartments!

All in all a very nice place but don't forget it is a new residence and it goes without saying there are going to be some teething problems.
The staff were very helpful but some issues were annoying, like the lifts up to the top floor not working when you have to load up the car ready for departure!

We didn't want to leave and it gave us a very enjoyable memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment on one level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were looking forward to our stay at the brand new apartments in Val Thorens, and given they had only been open three weeks, we were a little unsure whether things would run smoothly.

Our first impressions were very good. We were checked in by a very helpful receptionist and shown to the lift that took us up to the room.

The lobby was decorated very nicely and created a good impression, reflecting the quality of the apartments.

Our room was on the first floor (101) and had a view over the slopes but we could also see the road from the bedrooms. However the windows were very well soundproofed and there was very little road noise.

The room was perhaps the most disappointing aspect of our stay. There were two adults and a child in the party. We had two separate bedrooms, one with a double bed one with two singles. One is of the bedrooms had an en-suite bathroom. Unfortunately we found the bedrooms were very small. There was barely space to walk around the end of the bed when the door was shut. There was a table by the bed but there were no drawers for storage. The wardrobe consisted of a high shelf, a rail and a low shelf, half of which was taken up by the safe. I am not sure where we were supposed to lay clothes and ended up using the spare bed in the second room. The beds themselves were on the hard side, but not too bad.

Another disappointment was that there was no cupboard to store cases and boots so we had boots by the door all week and ski gear hanging off hooks on the doors. I am very surprised that there wasn’t a cupboard.

The kitchen was minute. The only work surface was filled by a toaster, coffee maker and kettle. If you want to prepare food then you had to use the draining board or the table. There is nowhere to store any food you may have brought along with you. I was hunting for the cutlery and found it in a tray on a high shelf. Hardly handy and there were no drawers at all in the kitchen. So we stored the cutlery tray on the floor. The kitchen was fairly well equipped, but there were only two saucepans.

That said the furniture and fittings were all very nice. The bathrooms despite the unfinished tiles were good although there could have been a light over the main shower as it was dark.

Having stayed in many hotels where there is a charge for Wifi it was nice to have free Wifi in the room for up to three devices and we found that it worked very well, as in the past at peak times it is sometimes difficult to get online.


There are two restaurants within the hotel, the Kashmir, which is a world cuisine offering and the Yack which has more traditional Savoyard fayre. We tried the Kashmir restaurant on the first evening and found the menu choices a little bizarre. It was supposed to reflect cuisine from the mountainous parts of the world. The service was quite slow although the staff worked very hard to try and see to us as quickly as possible.

The pool looked very nice and was busy, but we didn’t try it. The boot room was great, it was very handy and the boot warmers were a nice touch.

The location was great, it was ski in - ski out and then a short walk up the hill into the centre of town, with three supermarkets very close by.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the staff were all very helpful and courteous. It was lovely to enjoy the brand new feel of the place and the furnishings and furniture were very tastefully done.

The downside was the fact we felt there wasn’t enough storage space in the rooms, the bedrooms were small and the kitchen was totally inadequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xangrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked a two bedroom (sleeps 4) apartment for 10 days over Christmas 2012 - we are a party of 4, 2 adults and 2 children (13 & 11). We booked a week before our departure date of 18th Dec and this property was one of a handful that was available so we booked based on availability rather than choice although all the travel agents blubs were very favourable and available photos looked good so we were happy to book.
Check in was swift and our room (411) was ready for us. On initial inspection we were happy - the bedrooms were spacious and the furnishings very nice. Our room overlooked the reception and the main road.

The kitchen is basically rubbish. Absolutely no storage space and approx 10" of workspace on which you have to prepare your food, stand the kettle, the coffee machine and the toaster. There isn't even any drawers and the cutlery is in a cutlery holder in a cupboard - taking up an entire shelf. I am average height 5 ft 6 " and had to stand on a chair to reach anything from the wall cupboards. The fridge and dishwasher are both good. Plenty of pans/plates/glasses etc but could do with a wooden spoon !

This type of apartment is over 2 floors - kitchen/sitting room upstairs and 2 bedrooms downstairs. Be warned - the stairs are bare wood and if, like us you have the family that never sleeps next door you will be kept awake all night by them going up and down all night ! Not great soundproofing. Also no toilet upstairs.

Bathroom 'doors' - Both bedrooms have en-suites but the toilet door is a sliding door (no lock) However, the biggest problem is the bathroom 'doors' - saloon doors. If you are sharing with a friend there is very little privacy as the doors don't meet in the middle (about 50mm gap). The doors are very taut so get out quick as they slam back and will hit you on the back. Also when you let the doors go they swing back and forth at least 6 times so again in the middle of the night slam, slam, slam ...As previously stated the water will scald if being used in the other shower.

Beds - horrible - like sleeping on concrete. The bottom sheets weren't big enough to tuck under the mattress.

Wardrobes - 1 in each bedroom which was enough and also 2 cupboards with a safe in the hall between the bedrooms.

Sitting room - fine but another chair would have been better.

Balcony - 1 chair for a 4 person apartment ???

Cleaning - 2 changes of tea towels and towels in 7 days so good. Toilet rolls replaced as well.

The apartment was ok but could have been much better. There is a cupboard as you come in the door but it is completely bare - not 1 hook or shelf and as anyone who has been skiing knows it is great to have somewhere to store gloves, hats, glasses etc. Felt the acoustics have failed in the apartments.

The hotel:

The ski-lockers were good and the boot warmers worked (which is a first).

Steps to slopes - tricky in first few days but they opened a section of railing further down later in the week so much easier. Within very easy access to chair lifts - a 1 min ski down a blue run although the slope can be busy at peak times.

Car park - 11 euros a day. BEWARE the apartment next door to us had a Volvo XC90 with a roof box which was smashed to pieces as they drove into the car park (don't quite know what they were going to do going home). Please check the height with the hotel/tour operator. Always annoyed with parking charges but doesn't seem to be any different anywhere.

Swimming Pool - small especially at peak times with about ten chairs around it. Water quite good temp. Toilets in pool area out of order for our duration.
Sauna - weirdly across the reception from the swimming pool. 3 types of sauna. 1 sauna out of order for entire duration. On one occasion we went to have a sauna at 5pm but the remaining 2 saunas where stone cold. We complained and we were told they were set on a 6 hour programme that switched off automatically (at 5pm - peak time ?????). Naturally they take an hour to heat up. Off the remaining 2 working saunas 1 was out of order for the last 3 days of our stay.

Ski hire at hotel - seemed very expensive 2 x boots and skis - 344 euros for 10 days? inc a 20% discount. Think we paid for the skis for the season with 1 rental !!

Jacuzzi/hot tub would have been great.

Lifts - 1 didn't work but staff didn't put any notices up so many people went in - door closed only to emerge a few minutes later looking bemused !

Bread & croissants - delivered to your door every morning.

General overview - the structure born acoustics were bad - you could hear the saloon doors from many floors. They are a failure of design - by cutting the size of the bedroom (& not putting doors)it is just cost cutting & doesn't work. We felt that the apartments were minimum size and tight for a family.
Also - for a supposed 5 star hotels toilet, saunas and lifts should be working Christmas or no Christmas. My husband stated that if all the creases where ironed out he would return for dinner but never to stay based on the bedroom & bathroom design.

Lastly, we booked and paid for a 10 night stay but returned home after 7 nights. The lack of sleep due to the noise and uncomfortable beds made us feel like zombies.

I have based this reviews based on comparisons to stays at Les Arcs, La Plagne, Flaine, Chamonix and Vallandry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelnut921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just opened. Nice restaurant but not super, but what can you expect in a wintersport station. Appartments are nicely furbished. You cannot use both shower at the same time. You will boil or freeze. Exit to pist with quite some stairs is difficult. Staff doesn't keep these snow free.

Check in is professional and quick. Bread service is good. Kitchen is functional but not smartly designed. Beds are good but matrasses are hard... Too....atmosphere is nice, being a bit outside the pasta student population but still close to supermarkets and restaurants.

Nice indoor pool and sauna. Take your own towel to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau du Kashmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau du Kashmir

Property: Le Hameau du Kashmir
Address: Grande Rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Hameau du Kashmir 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good sized suite (45 to 80m2) provides plenty of space for families and include two independent bedrooms and a living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Hameau du Kashmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing