We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms & cleanliness, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor rooms & cleanliness, good location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've been visiting Chamois d'Or for five years in a row for one reason only - a good location, being close to lifts. If you need just a good starting point as close to the lift as possible and you don't mind poor cleanliness and unfriendly staff then this might be your choice, everything else is very basic. Otherwise, I have never been in a hotel where staff is so rude. Since I've been in other accommodation in Val Tho also, I have the feeling that this is kind of "standard" in this price range. I do not consider myself as very picky referring the equipment and service (I even don't mind that wifi in the rooms is of no use since it so slow), but in a hotel, even if it is a "chicken-battery-hotel", I do request some basic cleanliness of the room. What matters most to me is that I can rate the rooms as being filthy, and so far I have experienced five in a row! Rooms simply lack basic hygiene standard, the equipment is not worth to spend time with in this review (but then again, it's not better, e.g. in Les Temples du Soleil in Val Tho). I wish Anthony Melchiorri, hospitality expert from Travelers Channel "Hotel Impossible" would do a survey one day. No matter what you look at - dirty mattresses (blood stains etc.), filthy bath fans or cigarette ends on the balcony. When I discovered obviously not very old blood stains on mattress on my arrival and requested a clean one, I got ignorant reply that they have not a replacement and why to complain since the sheets will come over it. Hello!!! France, EU, 21st century, for crying out loud ...
The check-in service is also very slow and they don't seem to strive to be very friendly. Practice is that there are only two ladies at check-in desk even on the most busy hours of the arrival day. They always ask you to leave your cell phone number so they can inform you when the room is ready to move in prior to 5 pm - I never got a call in five years.
So, anyone who will read this review - I am not too critical or demanding, it's just mine observation including my friend's family with which we spend the vacation together for five years in this hotel. It's true that some rooms have been renovated, but most of them are beaten-up. In skiing season this hotel is regularly full, so the owners and staff obviously have the attitude "Why to bother & improve if not necessary - we are booked!"
As I pointed out at the beginning, we keep coming in this hotel just because of the skiing area and since the experience with the Residence Les Temples du Soleil in Val Tho is not better.
Due to lack of cleanliness, unfriendly and ignorant staff (not to mention the "beaten-up" furniture, horrible and disgusting beds in rooms) and no evidence of will to improve the service in all the years that we are coming here, I could NOT recommend that accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    34
    15
    16
See reviews for
57
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrived early (~12:30) only 1 person on reception, very slow check in, despite there not being many punters at this hour. Bedding and towels extra. Couldn't get into apartment until after 17:00 - they could have prioritised "cleaning". Booked a 6 man room for a family of 4, (2 x teenagers). No way could it have coped with 6. Only 4 chairs around dining table.
Dirty and grubby - I had to take a pile of crockery and pots to reception as they still had food on (reception replaced them promptly)
The bunk "cabin" was of course a corridor, with the light and pillow end directly opposite the toliet, so any nocturnal dumpings were most unwelcome for the kids sleeping there. Loo was small with a big water heater in, but after 2½ showers, it ran cold.
Kitchen - typical basics, about enough stuff, but only tiny coffee cups. No welcome pack to assist with cleaning, or even bog roll.
We were in a refurbished room - I would hate to stay in a basic room. New tiny dishwaher was positioned so badly it could only open half way - made stacking somewhat awkward.
No internal rubbish bins is a bit of a pain. Rooms at the front suffer from supermarket delivery noise early morning.

Good points
Nice and warm to too hot, but we shouldn't complain about that. Staff dealy with issues promptly.
Despite previous reviewer, I thought that the boot room was relatively spacious, though it could do with a bit of heat to dry out boots. Locker big enough for 3 x snowboard and 1 x ski, though if we had filled out apartment to capacity, we may have struggled.
No night time noise. Brilliant acces to pistes.
Helpful ski shop at base, Irish bar next door and a well stocked Spar very close.
Good wi-fi.

Would I stay again ? Probably yes

Room Tip: Try to get slope side and one of the "refurbished rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went here last week with 4 of my friends. When we arrived the reception was closed so they left our key at the reception. The room was for 6 adults. It was very small for our group. Also it wasnt very clean at all. When we came back one evening , we said hi to the receptionist who told us to shut up. The staff at reception werent ever very friendly and never even said hi. I have never been to a hotel where staff have been so rude or impolite. We are a group of students and were treated as if we didnt deserve to be here. they spoke to us as if we were stupid. before leaving the room we cleaned it to the same state it was in as we found it. the cleaning ladies made us do it again whilst watching us and making fun of us , instead of offering us their cleaning material ( the only thing in the room to clean the appartement with was a houver) . also the dishwasher didnt work at all, and all the plates were dirty when we arrived.

i definitely wouldnt recommend this place to stay . i had a great holiday though apart from these rude and obnoxious people

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyhutchines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a great week staying here. Yes the rooms are fairly basic and small but the views, if you are mountainside, are amazing. The access to the slopes is excellent - truly ski in ski out. We took the evening meal option. The portions were huge and very good. Only complaints were the unpredictable wifi, scalding hot water and lack of opening window - we slept with the door to the balcony open at night as the room got so warm. Love Val Thorens - suitable for those who love big, wide blues to those who need the thrill of reds and blacks - runs and jumps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, the apartment was lovely and clean and everything in it was working properly. The standard of accommodation is basic but as we were there to ski we didn't need anything other than basic. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well for once.

The location is perfect. The main meeting point of the lifts and ski school is just minutes from the ski room door. Our balcony overlooked the main slopes with a fabulous view of the area.

The Reception area is spacious and comfortable. Our departure time was two hours after we had to check out of the room but we were able to look our luggage in the baggage room and wander around the shops. We were also able to get snacks and drinks from the machine and use the toilet whilst we waited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

stayed here for 5 nights with family - wife and 2 kids (1 and 3 yrs). really loved the location, right on the pistes, and the view from our room was brilliant - view all the way out to Caron across the pistes. room/apartment was basic but very good value for what we paid. staff all very friendly and helpful.

only slight negatives were that there were no sheets on the beds when we arrived (you have to pay for these on top, apparently), and they also charge up to €90 if you want them to clean your room when you leave, which seems like an odd concept to me, being used to hotels.

depending on what room you're in, there can be quite a bit of noise first thing in the mornings from snow wagons loading up with beer/ food etc to take up to the restaurants further up the resort, but didnt bother us too much as we're up early with young kids anyway!

overall, despite a couple of minor negatives, thought it was very good and would consider going again. offered an affordable option when many other places were quoting 3 times as much.

Room Tip: stay at the opposite end to the Chamois restaurant, as high as possible, and ideally overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave011978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

4 of us stayed in an 'apartment'. The accommodation consisted of 3 rooms, one double bedroom, a
Living room with kitchen and pull out bed, a second bedroom come walk in wardrobe with bunk beds, room with bath and a toilet. Plenty of room for 4
With 2 men in the party.
The location was fabulous, ski
In, ski out. There is no better
Place in VT for location. Under the hotel was a spar which doesnt sound great but had everything you needed with a croissants in the
Mornin fresh and rotisserie chicken at lunch and dinner time. Fantastic service! Our room had a funny smell for the whole week but I put that down to people cooking something odd before we arrived. The beds were very basic with sheets which didnt really fit the bed, but it's a ski resort. The heating was brilliant of you ever
Got chilly inside (rare) a quick
Blast and it was boiling! Plenty of crockery. Boot room easily accessible. Easy to reach the shops and nightlife. Basic, but convenient and clean. You don't need more at a ski resort unless you want luxury.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJRA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Chamois d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Chamois d'Or

Property: Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Address: Route du soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Chamois d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Le Chamois d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chamois d`Or Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing