We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Les Olympiades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Olympiades
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Arendal, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Do yourself a favor, do not stay here
Even pigs would complain about the (sanitary) conditions if they could talk.
… same chewed tobacco on the floor for at least 4 days.
Do not know where to start about the rooms..
"Well equiped": room for 3 persons = one pillow (if you can call it a pillow).
Filthy blankets with holes. Make your own bed when you arrive.
Old "fun" under mattrasses/beds.
Mattrass to big for the bedframe, like sleeping in a compact hammock.
We had to rent towels. All 5 different, think they rent out what previous guests has left behind.
Bathroomwalls full of mold.
Porcelaine in toilet not white, a little normal cleaning would have fixed it.
Not possible to have a look in the mirror, must have been "cleaned" with a greasy cloth.
Wonder what deseases we pick up from staying there..
Upon booking we requested quiet rooms, I guess not possible to have any quiet room as the noise from the street was terrible all night long and paperthin walls and no isolation between floors, you can hear what business your neighbour is doing.
Rules not to be followed -> "quiet after 10 pm". Partying in rooms, slamming doors, yelling in corridors, noone stop them until you do it yourself. Even if we complained 3 times (after that we gave up) and was promised a night-guard would stop any partying/noise.
To be able to sleep you must be almost dead drunk yourself.
Ski/boot storage room so cold that snow still on them next day. Boots never dry up.
The positive things you can say about this place, you can find ANYWHERE else in Val Thorens,
So no reason to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BMG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    46
    45
    88
See reviews for
50
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My Girlfriend and I booked to stay at the Les Olympiades for a week at the start of March with Crystal Ski. Like no doubt you are know we read lots of reviews (hopefully this is a fair rounder review) and we a bit sceptical about the apartments. We arrived about mid-day and our first impressions of the cheek in serves and lobby where surprisingly good warm clean and friendly, we got to our room (after managing to get past the maids who where not about to let us past in the hall (A BIT THEME OF THE HOLIDAY) the room i was again pleasantly surprised with, don't get me wrong it wasn't about to win any awards but it was clean and warm which is all we could ask for really. That night was ok not to much noise, but the next day our neighbours for the week arrived a group of French teenagers who if having any manners or consideration for other, lost them on the way. The rest of the week our room smelt heavily of smoke coming through the vents from next door and the communal landing stunk of marijuana, not the Olympiades fault granted but they did nothing to fix the problem. But as you have read in other reviews the main problem with this accommodation was the noise it was unbearable from 8pm onwards music blearing from apartments, once that stopped the endless dunked shouts form people making there way back to there apartment as well as the noise from out side. To sum up this is great if you want a cheep apartment for a week of partying and sleeping all day, but if you actually want to get some sleep and spend a good day skiing this isn't for you!!

Hope this helps

Room Tip: We asked for a high room at the back to try and miss the noise we ended up with a front room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here last week. The location is good, close to the lifts and nightclub, but the apartments are the worst I have ever stayed in! The rooms are tiny and dirty, and the hotel manager is the mist ignorent unhelpfull person ive ever had the displeasure of meeting. One of my friends rooms balcony door was smashed by a drunk throwing a block of ice and the manager made my friend pay €680 for it. The manager wouldnt listen to us and was really disrespectful. If you want to enjoy your stay in Val Thorens dont stay here! I promise its worth paying a bit more for somewhere where the owners have some respect for the tourists that are paying to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy27192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place is a hell hole..when we arrived the place was even more basic than we would have ever imagined poor reception qualities and zero facility's for guests.never got a wink of sleep for neighbouring guests banging the walls and partying late into the night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottynicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Alright for a cheap, budget option, however I have stayed in a similar place for the same price (Temples du Soleil) which was much better. Got put in one of the "better" rooms with 2 floors/mezzanine, however this turned out terrible as the second level had no ventilation so it ended up getting so stuffy/humid up there so I ended up sleeping on the pull out bed on the floor. The place was noisy/loud music late at night which didn't bother us as we were like minded, but would be an issue for those not going out each night. Location was pretty good right by supermarket and shopping centre, 100m to slopes, 50m to main nightclub, 5/10 mins to bar street. Free wifi in lobby is a plus. Overall, for the price it's an ok hotel with a pretty good location, however I think there are better options in the same price range.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The reviews below don't particularly make any sense as you're saying you got great value and everything you needed in relation to the price you paid, yet rating 1/2/3 stars? Hmmm. Anyway..

We stayed here in January 2014 for a week and in honesty this is a brilliant option for anyone going on a snow sports holiday and needing a cheap place to stay. Sure, this isn't the Hilton by any means, but as long as you book with managed expectations then you will have no problems.

Firstly the hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of Val Thorens (which is in one of the best ski locations in the world - The Three Valleys). You can technically ski in, ski out, but it's easier to walk the 100m to the main piste with your ski's/board.

There was plenty of hot water, all day, every day whilst we were there which is something not even most 5* hotels can say! Shower was decent and also had a bath if you should choose.

Rooms were quite small but had plenty of space for hanging clothes etc, and also a fold-away dining table.

Kitchen has a microwave, two hob rings and plates, cutlery etc.

Reception was generally closed, but there is a lobby where free wi-fi is available. There is a few takeaways and a supermarket just next door. It is also just a few minutes walk to the main strip where the majority of nightclubs/bars are.

The only bad things are that the room was slightly unclean - the carpets were scuffed, walls a little untidy, etc. Secondly, the walls and floors seem to be very thin, so I can imagine that if you get unlucky and have a loud/partying neighbour then it could be difficult to sleep.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and you probably will too as long as you book with managed expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter as facing away from main strip (request this at reception). Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Iv never wrote any reviews Good or bad before but this place was not good so had to tell ppl!!!!! Was told well equipped kitchenette to us that means kettle but no how silly of us to think that!!! You travelled for 5 hours + including flight ya get to room and just wanna pop to toilet hell no you have to go to shop first to purchase toilet roll not 1 roll as complementary!!! Then if you do sit down and not realise no soap!! Very noisy from other guests very thin walls!! 4 adults in apt we had 1 bedroom so one couple slept on sofa with pull out so that's there bed and then no where to sit except 4 wooden uncomfortable stools! But if you don't put 4 in room get penalised with under occupancy fee!!! 2 single pieces of foam in bedroom on a dbl bed frame instead of dbl matress!!! The sheets supplied were all singles and not enough but when we made beds and realised reception was closed as not 24 hours barely 12 hours but our rep sorted that for us!!!! If you want noisy dirty but warm and close to slopes then book away!!! We paid approx £1000 total for accom after flights and stuff taken off price!! Defo not worth it!!!! They mention free wifi in reception yes it's free for 30 mins ONLY!!!!! Every time we went back in the room shall we say it didn't smell the best the only way to stop the smell coming in from obviously other rooms toilets either put the plugs in or constantly run the taps!!! Towels are not even included in the price we've stayed in basic in VT before and it was loads better then this VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB1983999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Thorens - Les Neiges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Olympiades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Olympiades

Property: Les Olympiades
Address: Rue de Caron, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Belambra Clubs - Les Olympiades)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Olympiades 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Olympiades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belambra Clubs - Les Olympiades Hotel Val Thorens
Olympiades Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing