We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG the desserts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Traditional hotel Savoyard with welcoming and cozy decoration. We were a group of 4 friends over a long weekend and we had a great time not only on the slopes but also at the hotel. The rooms are of good size, very clean and functional. The bar had a great atmosphere with a great view, a cozy chimney and a very nice bartender that would give us great suggestions and teach us about the local liquors. We were in half board and we do not regret the dinner. 5 course dinner with refined entrees and main courses. Their cheese variety was great and good wine list to go with it but the kicker comes from the amazing dessert table. Make sure to have enough room for it! Then a nice digestif in the bar after dinner to chat about the day's skiing. Not bad at all. Highly recommended with very friendly staff and a welcoming owner that were always ready to assist and take care of us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdriI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 416 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like many people we booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor comments which have generally been excellent. We had two rooms and travelled with an 18 year old and a 17 year old.

There are a lot of good points to this hotel. It is ski in but not ski out. We crossed the road and got on to the piste by the side of the Tango. The lounge is nicely furnished and very welcoming along with friendly bar service. Similarly the dining room is very nice and the meal in the evening excellent. The ski/boot room was one of the better ones we have used and very convenient.

The hotel seems to stop after the ground floor. We upgraded our rooms to slightly larger ones over the front of the hotel. Very disappointing and very tired - The rooms we had need total re-furbishment - everything about them was dated.

It is a good hotel if you get up early. The chamber maid knocked our door at 8am each morning. One day she did not return and the room was not cleaned and the wet towels were still in the bath where we left them. To be fair reception soon replaced them.

The other disappointment was breakfast. It has to be one of the poorest breakfast buffets put out by a hotel. There was very little choice, no fresh or dried fruits, and the staff were more interested in laying up tables for dinner than replenishing empty plates, glasses, milk & juice. We felt there were other hotels nearby that offered better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

To start with, we were probably a bit young for this hotel. We have not got our bus passes yet or our pension. So if you are single or a couple under 50, you may find this a bit too much of a sleepy place.

When we first arrived at the hotel and saw our room we were a bit taken back. The bedrooms are pretty tired. But there were great reviews of the food so we waited for that before making a judgement.

Our party had a vegetarian in it. The way the vegetarian was treated you would think that the hotel had never had a vegetarian stay here before. No effort was made to make vegetarian food as nice as the food everyone else ate.

Every meal the vegetarian was offer a salad or an omelette, even when there was a simple vegetarian option that could have been made. No thought at all was given to the vegetarian. Fortunately, the vegetarian had been to the area many times and knew about local dishes that were vegetarian. These were options that the hotel should have offered and every meal it was a struggle for the vegetarian to get even these simple vegetarian meals.

Moving on from the food, it says that it is a ski in ski out hotel. It is ski in but there is a steep uphill climb of about 20m to ski out. I am pretty fit but I found this hill the hardest part of the day.

Then there’s a 70m walk up a small incline. Some people did this with their skis on, which was an effort and you need to have a rest once you reached the downhill bit.

Overall, we would not go back to this hotel. The rooms are poor, the food was a battle, and there are many hotels locally with a pulse rate. We spent most of our evenings in Tango, which is a buzzing hotel opposite this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank handsome_solly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesherpavalthorens, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Dear Mr Handsome_solly,
My family and I have been welcoming guests in Le Sherpa for almost 40 years. We are proud to say that some of our repeater guests have been trusting us for almost that long. We now welcome the children of these guests and also their grand children. Part of our guests are young and part are not. The title of your comment looks like a total lack of respect for old generations in general. I think that this single point and the way you express it discredit all your comment and requires no further answer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was the first time I visited Val Thorens and I chose to stay at Le Sharpa. Great hotel with nice rooms, even though a little small. We liked everything about the hotel, the atmosphere and the excellent food. The sauna and the ski room was also nice. I would stay again at the Sherpa next time I visit Val Thorens, as it offers good value and is a very good hotel !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82NicolasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Sherpa is a very nice hotel in Val Thorens. The rooms are on the small side, the beds are a bit hard, the breakfasts are ok but not very exciting.

But: the atmosphere is very homey, the staff is very nice and helpful, you really feel at home the lounge and bar, you can ski all the way back to the hotel and on the way out you have to walk some 50-100 meters to get to the slopes leading to the lifts.

We chose the Sherpa because we had heard from friends about the fantastic dinners included in the half-board option. A five-couse dinner every night of very high quality including a very good cheese board and a dessert table alone worth the trip. The staff can get a bit busy during rush hour resulting in long waiting times between courses but they were still very nice and attentive.

This is one of the best places we have stayed at during our ski trips the last 20 years. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor and was delighted with our experience. This is a long review, so I’ve split it into sections for readability…

Hotel location and facilities:

Le Sherpa is situated at the high end of Val Thorens – quite a schlep from the bus station, but close to shops and a good supermarket, and far enough away from any noisy nightlife scene to give it an air of seclusion and tranquility. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate and cosy – the restaurant, bar and lounge areas are nicely decorated and comfortable, and even when the place is full it doesn’t feel crowded. The sauna / jacuzzi area is fine – the sauna is small but efficient, but the jacuzzi isn’t great; only lukewarm and not full enough to allow for a restorative soak. The skiroom is perfectly adequate, contrary to previous reviews that it’s small and cramped (it isn’t). Access to the slopes is really easy – just a 20m walk to the ridge just behind the property and bam – you’re on snow. At the end of the day you can ski straight down the same slope into the back door.

Rooms:

Based on suggestions here we booked a superior room, and found it to be excellent. It’s true that the rooms aren’t huge, but there are big enough and plenty functional with enough storage and wardrobes. Our bathroom was a good size with a big bath and great shower, and the small balcony was good for chilling beer and having the occasional look outside – but it isn’t built for sitting out on. Our room was also exceptionally clean and nicely appointed, and the daily housekeeping is really thorough.

Food and beverage:

Breakfasts are fairly basic but do have all the necessary items for sustenance, including decent brewed coffee, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, cheese and of course excellent bread!

However it’s the evening meals that are the real highlight – and the highlight of the highlight is the extraordinary dessert table (see photos). This would rival a dessert buffet at the Grand Hyatt for variety and quality; everything we tried was perfectly created and delicious. The cheese trolley was also unexpectedly awesome – a wide variety of classic and local cheeses which are fabulous. Cheese is available every night, but the dessert extravaganza is only on offer on alternate nights when the ala carte 5 course dinners are on. On other nights we had a Raclette theme (excellent if you love oozing cheese and lots of meat), and a ‘Chinese Fondue’ which was much less exciting; this involved boiling your own slices of meat and fish in a watery broth of noodles, which – novelty value aside – was the lowlight of the dinner experiences.

A good selection of wines at different price points are available, and you can drink well for a reasonable (relatively speaking) price. And the bar prices are O.K too – slightly lower than those on the mountain and on par with local bars. Having said that I found the price of booze to be generally high across the resort – and with all the popular French champagnes available in the supermarket for around 30 Euro, and beer for 1 Euro a bottle we did much more room drinking than restaurant drinking.

Service:

The general level of service in the hotel is high. We experienced a particularly excellent episode when, on the evening of the day we arrived, my friend (staying in another hotel much lower down the resort) asked the front desk to book him a cab to take all his bags down there. Of course there were no cabs available, but the manageress offered to drive him down there herself, and then steadfastly refused any money when he tried to give her 20 Euro for her trouble. This was just brilliant.

Throughout the hotel the staff is lovely, and always say hello and good morning. The restaurant staff are great too – it’s true that when the restaurant is full they struggle to cope and often forget things, but this is a minor niggle. We wanted our friends to join us for the final night’s dinner and were graciously allowed to invite them for a small surcharge - which we really appreciated.

The other excellent thing is that, having arrived early morning on the Eurostar we were at the hotel around 7am – way too early for check in. However they have a great system where you can leave your bags in the large side lounge off the bar, get changed into your ski gear and then return at the end of the day to check in. Same thing happens in reverse when you leave on the Saturday night – check out, leave stuff, return, change, chill and leave when you’re ready.

I’m planning a return visit to VT next March (the skiing is properly awesome) and am definitely staying here. It really is magnificent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Best ski hotel we've stayed in. Rooms ok, bar area lovely, food excellent, location great. Tiny complaint is that it was so hot in the hotel. But really fab and staff all lovely and dessert buffet just awesome.

Room Tip: We were in 311 with great view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 28 in Val Thorens
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 28 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#8 of 28 in Val Thorens
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 28 in Val Thorens
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#2 of 28 in Val Thorens
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: $245 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing