We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel - I'll be Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Luxemburg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel - I'll be Back!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to Val Thorens 16 times and have stayed at various hotels and self catering units. This is by far the best hotel I have ever used in Val Thorens. The family who owns the hotel takes a "hands on" approach and it shows. The rooms are clean, the dinners are outstanding, the atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are extremely helpful. The lounge and bar area with it's central fire place provides a cozy relaxed place to unwind after a days skiing. The only negatives for this hotel were that 1. the wifi in the rooms is very slow and not very reliable and 2. during dinner, the waiters would sometimes be so busy that they would forget to tend your table. Consequently time between courses would be excessive (once 30 minutes after we had already finished our course). Aside from these small problems this hotel is now my hotel of choice in Val Thorens. I will definitely be using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    135
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
139
146
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pleasant, cosy hotel with friendly staff. Nice lounging area. Good food. Wifi up until the top floor. Not very near the piste, but quiet because of that. Ideal for couples. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten-Celine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatstandwell
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went on the first day of the ski season and benefited from an early season discount for half board. This included 4 day ski pass in Val Thorens (not the 3 Valleys which had not opened). The hotel was quiet, the rooms very adequate and the lounge area (free wifi) had an open fire and lovely atmosphere with a bar area at the rear.
The evening meal was a real highlight - real creative french cuisine.
This is an excellent family run hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Merebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The rooms are small, even though we upgraded to a superior room, but our south facing balcony totally made up for the small room. The rooms are clean and that is the most important thing as you don't spend too much time in your room anyways. The breakfast buffet was good, the dinners were excellent. You got a 5 course dinner every night and we loved the cheese (the 4th course). Prices for drinks were pretty reasonable. The staff went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable. We only used the sauna once, it was too small and too crowded for us. The ski room is ok, not big, and your ski boots won't dry (we took them back to the room to take care of that problem). Val Thorens isn't a "cozy" place like you'll have in Austria, but the skiing is amazing and we will be back some time in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the south!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal_Verbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry, england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the Le Sherpa for one fantastic week.
The food is to die for, 5 course meal every night. Great staff.
Lovely rooms, we upgraded to a larger room as I had read on the site the rooms were smaller than normal.

You can also ski back to the hotel which is a bonus, and it is just a short walk out the back of the hotel to the slope in the morning.
Will go back again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Le Sherpa was a very nice family run hotel at the top of the village. It had a wonderful warm atmosphere brought on by the friendly staff, superb service and alpine ambience. The rooms were nice, if not a little bit too small with large balconies and everything that I would expect from a hotel like this. The downstairs bar was wonderfully well stocked with excellent European furnishings. It proved to be the place for playing cards over a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant was ver nice, each night serving up some delicious dishes and in the morning hosting a true smorgasbord of breakfast treats. The hotel had good ski storage facilities and was ski-in ski-out bar a ten meter walk up the slope in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngtraveller747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Sherpa for a week in 2010 and enjoyed a fantastic time. We have just enjoyed an equally successful and pleasant stretched weekend Thursday to Monday. Perhaps the rooms are a bit cosy but they are comfortable with a balcony and the temperature about right. The bar and service were excellent. Especially nice Genepi.
Access to the slopes is easy if icy in the morning and slushy in the afternoon
The restaurant continues to be outstanding. Half board included soup, starter, main course, cheese and a huge dessert buffet. Always full of flavour and well done. Wines are excellent if a little expensive
All in all an outstanding holiday

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Property: Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing