We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here as a group of 5 in January/February 2012. The food was fantastic. Considering this is rated a 3 star, the food was more 4 star quality. The dessert table really is something amazing; a choice of about 20 desserts!

The hotel is at the top of the resort with easy skiing back to the boot room. It is about 50m from the bars, but you never hear them. The rooms are comfortable and could do with a bit of updating, but the beds are great and the rooms nice and toasty.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a south facing balcony and a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for a week in January - the hotel is beautiful so cozy and it's spotless!
The staff are always happy to help, we stayed half board and so glad we did the food was amazing! The desert table was yummy!! :-)
The rooms were nice and cozy and always warm, the room its self was a little on the small side but like most people have said on here a room is a room and as long as its clean and comfy I don't think anyone can grumble!
We went in the spa every day after been out its well worth it! So nice to relax after a day on the slopes!
We stayed in the bar area at night and had a lovely atmosphere and big log fire :-)
Enjoyed the whole holiday!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone! :-)
The snow was out of this world!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheffield_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Three of us stayed in a standard room. Beds comfy, bathroom good and all clean.Room a little tight when we all stood up but honestly how much time do you spend there. Restaurant
good, especially the desert table. Staff friendly. Lounge bar nice to relax in after a hard day on the piste but really the owner needs to do something about the price of a beer! (7euro a pint).

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berttidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here mid January 2012 for a week's skiing with Crystal Finest.

First impressions were that hotel was in a good position, close to bars/supermarkets etc but far enough away to be quiet.

Hotel bar/lounge/restaurant all very nice and comfortable.

Was a bit disappointed with the bedroom - we had upgraded to a room with a balcony but it was very average. My husband and I both slept terribly the whole week. Bathroom perfectly adequate though with bath and shower. If we went again we would definitely upgrade again to a superior room/suite.

Food in the restaurant was excellent.

Hotel is ski in/out which was good. Just mind the piles of dog muck on the run down to town - yuck !

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spent a delightful week at the Sherpa Hotel, and would certainly return. The staff were charming and deserved more than their three stars. The food was very good in the evenings, and beautifully served, with great variety during the week, including raclette and fondue. However service was slow if you went into dinner later than 7.30 ish. Breakfast was a bit disappointing for me as there was no porridge (yes I know - but I'm English and it's the best ski breakfast there is !) and little fruit but the others in my party were quite happy. The bar and lounge area was delightful, with roaring fire and sun streaming in during the afternoon. Wonderful place to stop for refreshment after skiing, and good pre-dinner too. I didn't use the sauna but those who did said it was good. Rooms were fairly basic, but OK, and there was plenty of hot water.
The ski in-ski out was great - just a small slope up to the track that connected to the piste. And yes, with the altitude you were puffed by the time you got there. But skiing back right to the door was wonderful. If you were a total beginner you would be better in one of the hotels right by the nursery slope, but for anyone else the location was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Spent the week before christmas 2011 in VT as we were looking for decent snow and we got it in abundance. Changed from b&b to halfboard at the Sherpa after sampling the excellent food. Very comfortable bar/lounge and my teenage daughters loved the sauna/spa area. The hotel was as good as described on the website, if not better, a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas 2011 with our son who is 17. Very nice family run hotel where you can ski in and out. You have to walk about 20 metres up a slope to get on to the run in the morning but you can ski back virtually to the ski room door. The food is very good and plentiful, and very nicely presented. The staff in the hotel are very pleasant and helpful. The public rooms are very nicely arranged with comfortable chairs etc. Our room was a standard room and quite small for 3 of us. There was a double bed and a single bed and not much spare room. We did not have much of a view as our room's balcony was facing in a different direction to the french window and so there was only a view when you were actually standing out on the balcony itself. The room number was 309 so stay away from this room if you can. The superior rooms are probably better if you can book them - you can't with Inghams.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: $236 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing