We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for local specialities”
Review of La Joyeuse Fondue

La Joyeuse Fondue
Ranked #21 of 69 Restaurants in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for local specialities”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had fondue for 2 and pierrade for 2, shared between the 5 of us which was enough food and allowed everyone to try both.
Food and drink are as expensive as all the restaurants in Val Thorens, so in that context then the prices were fair.
It was convenient, pleasant service, reasonably attentive but not rushed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hague-expat124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    61
    22
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bulle, Switzerland
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I went there about a week ago with five friends for a birthday celebration.
They were really punctual concerning our reservation when we came in. The menu is quite complete, as you have a wide choice from a traditional fondue to a beef filet.
The waiting time was more than acceptable and the fondue bourguignonne a great experience to share with friends. When the dessert arrived, the waiters were kind enough to surprise me with a candle on my "tarte tatin"
I would definitely go back there next year if I have the opportunity.

I highly recommend it if you look for a cozy restaurant with a friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

With a couple of friends, we had a really nice and cozy experience at that place, both in term of food and service. It either good for a dinner with friends and to take someone on a date. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a typical and delicious dish. I went there several times and I have not disappointed once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaximeBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“why not”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It's not exceptional but you'll get a good taste of specialties from the region, fondue is good, although i have to say the service is average and the decor is a bit claustrophobic. Still, I would recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Great food friendly staff. Small restaurant. A advise dont eat anyting else then meat fondeu or raclet the rest isnt that good. As a desert i would take the cafe gourment.

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Joyeuse Fondue also viewed

Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 

Been to La Joyeuse Fondue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing