We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week; Amazing chalet; Incredible hosts; Can't fault it!!”
Review of Chalet Phoenix

Chalet Phoenix
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Thorens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Phoenix
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week; Amazing chalet; Incredible hosts; Can't fault it!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The chalet was incredible - en suite jacuzzi baths were a perfect way to relax after a hard days skiing. The food was beyond expectations - great variety, generous portions, and excellent quality. Couldn't have asked for any better chalet hosts - great fun and very welcoming. It honestly was a superb week and I'd definitely come again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed in this Chalet for a group ski trip during the first week fo March. The trip was organised by Ski world an they provided a great service from start to finish. Booking and paying with them as a large group was made really easy and I would recommend the service to any other large group wanting to book.

The Chalet itself was gold standard and given everything was brand new it added an extra touch of class. It has its own Sauna and every room has an ensuite with jacuzzi baths!
The living space was great with a large flat screen TV and a whole host of dvd's to watch if inside or a spectacular wrap around balcony if you wanted to appreciate the incredible mountain view outside.

The Chalet staff were great as well. Always good fun, well mannered and appropriate for our group, often going beyond their job to help us have a good holiday. We even had a couple of injuries on the trip which they willingly helped us manage with the local medical office.

Food was also of a very high standard from our top chef Stu. He made cooked breakfast in the morning, afternoon tea (with a range of cakes), pre dinner snacks followed by a 3 course meal. Wine was served throughout the meal as well.

Chalet location is also good. You can ski directly onto the slopes every day and skiing home finished about a 30m walk from the front door (at the end of the run down from the Folie Douce). Ski lockers are provided in the building with bood drying facility. Val Thorens centre is about a 10min walk away, but still easily accessible via the roads or cutting across the slope.

Only points to improve on are: more keys for the ski lockers and main entrance. Keys to lock each individual door in the chalet and removal of the 'Ryan Air' tourist tax on arrival.

Overall, a great trip and one I would recommend for anyone looking to ski in Val Thorens in a fully catered chalet.

Room Tip: try and book a room on the first floor so you get a better view from the balcony. Double rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall4177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My previous experience of skiing has been self-catered student accommodation, cheap as chips, so I didn't have any other Chalet experiences to compare this to.

However, I thought this place was first class. Large communal areas with clean modern furnishings were great for post-skiing chilling out, and preparation for nights out, and perfect for film nights in (large flat screen TV).

The rooms were a modest size, but not cramped, clean with comfortable beds, good storage space, and clean modern bathrooms with JACUZZI (sp?) baths which were great. There is a small sauna which worked well.

The SKIWORLD chalet staff were friendly, punctual, hardworking and very accomodationg, going FAR out of their way to help make our stay a comfortable and fun one. The food was great, with 4 courses each evening, cooked breakfasts and cake on return from a days skiing.

The spa linked to chalet phoenix is good, but was often crowded with families making it less inviting. However, this was one of the few problems with an overall great week.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have just returned from the best group ski holiday I have ever been on. As the Group Organiser for 24 of us, I was initially concerned to book Chalet Phoenix as it had not been completed when we booked (Nov 11). I am glad/relieved to say that everything was complete when we arrived on 25th Feb and that all my group thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Living area: spacious, brand new, comfortable sofas and chairs, TV with an extensive DVD collection, wrap around balcony with beautiful views of VT and the mountains.

Bedrooms: Quite cosy, each with a balcony, ensuite bathrooms are incredible. Jacuzzi baths have 4 different settings, including a 'waterfall' for your hair and lights that change colour if you want them too!

Sauna: Not big enough for 24 people but can happily fit 6-8 people. Brand new.

Food: I was very impressed with the quality of food. It helps that Stewie is an actual chef! The duck with dauphinoise potatoes in a berry sauce was a highlight. Add to the 4 course evening meals, the cooked breakfasts and daily cakes and we ended up with a delicious (if excessive) trip!

Staff: Having been on group ski trips for the last 4 years, I have no problem saying that Chalet Phoenix staff stood head and shoulders above those we've come across in previous years. All the staff (Jim, Jenny, 'Pocket' and Stewie) went above and beyond their normal roles to help us (including providing food sometimes a little later if necessary and helping to organise evening events in their time off). All service came with a smile and no request was too much. Thanks.

Location: Skiing out was easy, though we only ever managed to ski within 30/40 metres of the Chalet rather than to the front door. This was not a problem but it was not clear if you could ski right to the front. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of town was also very useful.

Opportunities:

One of the few frustrating aspects of the Chalet was that we only had one locker key for our skis/boots between 4 people. This meant that a lot of co-ordination was required between groups which did not always work. Really there should be a locker key each.

Another irritation was to be told that there was a 7 Euro 'resort tax' once we got on the bus in Grenoble. Having had only a couple of hours sleep to find out about this 'Ryan Air esque tax' was both frustrating and unnecessary- SKIWORLD should include this in the price.

I have had 23 requests to re-book Chalet Phoenix for the 2013 season which I think says it all. Whether we book Chalet Phoenix or not, I have been so impressed with the professionalism and integrity of SKIWORLD during the booking process (not easy with 24 people!) that I will definitely use them to book our next trip. Thanks.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies so it's fairly similar. That said, if you are on the right hand side st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Just returned from this property - very dissappointed !! SkiWorld state that this is an "enhanced" property - might well be once its finished. The property is still under construction (Feb 2012). Spent all week dodging scaffolding, cabling and workmen. Although the living area is finished access to the building and the ski lockers is through the building site. The elevators were continually being used by the workmen and dust was everywhere. Why Skiworld are using this property in the unfinished state is puzzling. As for the living area its ok the bedrooms are very small with little space to hang ski jackets etc. The bathrooms are nice all ensuite. The chalet is a good location for the slopes although the ski in should only be tried by competent skiers. The chalet food was ok.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed via stairs some require two levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy_ESussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Altitude
Residence Chalet Altitude
#16 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Chalet Peclet
#23 of 45 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Les Balcons Platinium
0.0 mi away
Les Chalets de Rosael
Les Chalets de Rosael
#14 of 45 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence le Roc de Peclet
Residence le Roc de Peclet
#29 of 45 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Phoenix

Property: Chalet Phoenix
Address: Rue Des Balcons, Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing