We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langley Hotel Tango
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel 3 Vallees(Val Thorens)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pashmina(Val Thorens)
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Village Montana(Val Thorens)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
115
76
33
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
76
33
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomapres skitwo coursesan alternativeset menuthe portion sizecrystal repbar area is greathot and cold buffetmeal sizesnights runningstrange smellhalf board menuboot roomcarte menutop floorcrystal ski
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 250 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from Hotel Tango 9th Feb 2013 Hotel very clean, modern and suitable for all ages. Our son stayed with his sister in resort and was able to eat breakfast and evening meal with us at a supplement. Rooms were very clean and warm, we were on the 4th floor and had spectacular views of the mountain range. The food as previous reviews state was excellently presented tasted great but portion sizes were on the small side. If 3 courses were included it would have been ideal. Our daughter ate from the al a carte menu and found the portion size to be huge. One bug bear was dining at 8,30 the bar was very busy and the happy hour was 8 to 10 but with only one member of staff serving the wait when cocktails and 2 for 1 drinks were ordered was substantial.Never got in front of the log fire as seats were at a premium. The sking was great with runs for all abilities plenty of powder snow which was well groomed. The location of the hotel was well situated with ski to door and local bars on the doorstep. Would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

At the top of the highest ski resort in France (2765m/9079ft) this must be one of the highest ski hotels. The location is great, with views across the valley and, given enough snow, ski in and out is possible. It is relatively small (probably 40 rooms). The comfortable lounge area. with an open (gas-log) fire overlooks the village and has a large-screen TV showing alpine activities. Next to it is a bar area which is a popular for lunchtime and apres-ski drinks and snacks. Beyond this is the dining area which opens onto a patio which offered a lunchtime barbeque on Fridays.
The room was a good size, larger than some of the holiday apartments we have rented in French resorts. It was quiet and there was a balcony with a mountain view. The ensuite shower provided hot water all time. There was a small fridge in the room, but no kettle for a hot drink. There seemed to be an Ethernet access point at the desk in the room. However, free wi-fi seems to be available throughout the hotel, and my laptop was showing that there were at least six repeaters. Connection speeds were variable, and not usually sufficient to reliably stream video, but certainly adequate for checking e-mails or browsing.
The owners (Langley) appear to be Scandinavian, Certainly, many of the guests and staff were. This is reflected in its contemporary theme of both rooms and public areas. Everything is spotlessly clean. The staff are young, friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic and work well as a team. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Breakfast is buffet-style, typically continental with a small number of cooked items. Many guests also prepare their packed lunches from the breakfast buffet. At lunchtime there is a snack menu, fresh pizzas prepared in their own stone oven, and a plat du jour. The evening meal for guests on a package is two-course, and held in two sittings. We found the presentation and flavors to be excellent and varied, although not particularly reflecting the local Savoie cuisine. An additional course was available at extra cost (about 6 Euros.) The hotel also offered a wine "package" at additional cost. This comprised a glass of sparkling wine before the meal, and a glass to complement each course. The hotel wine list is short, but the wines we tried were excellent. Outside the package deals there is an a la carte menu. Most evenings there is live after dinner entertainment; and some nights during the apres ski "happy hour" (2-for-1 drinks.)
There is a boot, ski and board storage and drying room situated just off the main lobby.
Within 150m of the hotel are bars, restaurants, ski rental locations, a patisserie and other shops.
The Hotel Tango, its staff and its facilities made this holiday extremely enjoyable and relaxing. If small and friendly is the sort of ski hotel you want to stay at, I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There will be some noise (though not beyond 10pm) from the bar. but this was inaudible on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bert057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel clean, staff friendly, rooms are very up to date and the hotel is in a top location. You can board/ski in & out of hotel aswel. Food is excellent and every night there is a different meal. Relax next to log fire and listen to different entertainment every night. Shops, bars, restaurants & amenities are all within walking distance Highly recommended and I've stayed twice:-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blades70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Tango from 19th Jan for 1 week and had an amazing time!

First impressions of the hotel were modern, funky and very friendly staff and this impression stayed with me throughout the entire holiday.

Location;
The location is great. There is an option of ski out, i didn't find the ski in however, it was only a 2-3 minute walk at the end of the day or, if you did not want to walk then you could hop on the free shuttle bus, which ran every 20 mins and took about 1 minute to get back to the hotel.
The hotel offers the best apres-ski environment in the resort, with a great live band playing each day and DJ etc. It was really felt like the place to be at the end of the day.

Food;
I was on a half board package and it was worth it as the breakfast and dinners were great. The breakfast was a cooked or continental buffet option and there was plenty of variety.
Dinner each evening consisted of a starter and main and they were both brilliant!! couldn't fault anything and looked forward to dinner each night.

Accommodation;
This was absolutely fine and the balconies had great views over the resort. The rooms had plenty of hanging space and also a fridge. The only thing is does not have is a safe which would have been useful.
The bathroom was a wet room and the shower was great, always had very hot water and it was extremely powerful.
The hotel has a heated boot room so you can leave skis and boots in here at the end of the day. They have heated hanging spaces for the boots. This is great as you can put on warm boots each morning :).

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and I would recommend the hotel 100%. The staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Hope to go back

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been skiing for several years now and stayed in some expensive places. All things considered, this is the best one by far. The location is perfect, you can ski from right outside the front door and to across the street coming back. The hotel itself is contemporary and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful - all Swedish with perfect English. Interestingly enough is that the food is the most unusual part about this place. It is as good as any top class restaurant. Hard to believe it was half board based. Maybe the portions are not huge but still outstanding. As for Val Thorens itself, most people will have enough skiing there for a week although we skied all three of the valleys during the week. The place is so big that we never end queued for a lift. Anyways thumbs up for this place. You won't find a better place anywhere even close to the price of the Tango.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews