We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off”

SteakClub Val Thorens
Ranked #36 of 69 Restaurants in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Terrible steak. We ordered 6 steaks and only 1 came out as requested - the others were completely wrong. The rare fillet came out well done and the medium steaks were either rare or over done. When we politely complained we were told that we were wrong! Even the manager came to the table and inspected our steaks, replacing 2 of them only after arguing with us. He even looked at the well done steak and told us it looked rare to him. In France of all places, where if anything they tend to cook steak on the rare side!

We expected FAR better quality and service, especially when paying 350 euros for 6 people. It is a rip off and the staff are rude and unhelpful. Avoid.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grover232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    24
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish interior but poor food”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

They did a good job styling this restaurant / club with the old beams combined with modern lighting, colorful glassware and designers tables and seats.

The staff is friendly and they speak several languages, including english and german.

Unfortunately the food is actually poor: the (tenderloin, steak, ..) meat is ok, but the vegetables were seriously overcooked. Served with the all-time-boring chips the main dishes are plain and standard. The stew-of-the-day with chicken was without taste and definately not chicken at all.

The prices are high, most of the dishes are overpriced (as in all of the restaurants in Val Thorens).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RutgervDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This place is really good to go and eat a great steak !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xianxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very little choice”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Went with a group and am the only one who doesnt eat red meat. I asked if they did anything with chicken. The waiter recommended Vietnamese salad which had chicken in it. When it arrived it was a small wooden bowl with lots of green salad and cold noodles doused in dressing but I failed to find any chicken. It cost 14 euros. My young son ordered a burger which cost 20 euros.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but better steak to be had in Val Thorens”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A nice restaurant and outstandibg service with a good atmosphere but found better tasting & value steak at other restaurants in Val Thorens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mogul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SteakClub Val Thorens also viewed

Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 

Been to SteakClub Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing