We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence l'Oxalys
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Val Thorens
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residence le Valset(Val Thorens)
View Hotel
Village Montana(Val Thorens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Altapura(Val Thorens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Silveralp(Val Thorens)
View Hotel
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
72
72
13
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
72
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean sulpicepool and jacuzzifamily ski tripnext morningski lockersevery morningmichelin starthe wi fiapartment was cleangreat apartmentliving areathe hotel stafftwin roomboot roomdays skiingeasy accessski school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 162 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just got back from Val Thorens where we stayed for a week with our friends (8 people in a 4 bedroom apartment) and had a great time.
The hotel is very well located for ski-in and ski-out, literally on the ski slope. Our apartment had amazing views of the mountains right from our balcony.
If you decide to rent your equipment there is a very nice ski shop right in the hotel, and they were quite helpful.
The hotel staff were OK, however for a top-notch hotel they were mainly invisible, and the front desk is only open from 8:00 or 9:00 in the morning until 20:00, then there is no service whatsoever.
The ski locker is well equipped with heat blowers for the boots which is fantastic in the morning. The pool and spa are very clean and not overcrowded.
One downside is the WiFi that kept disconnecting, and was very slow. This caused many moments of frustration when using iPads and smartphones.
Don't order the croissants from the front desk. We made that mistake and the first morning the croissants were simply horrible. Stale, cold, not good. The next morning we ordered them from across the street (actually up the driveway and turn right, go 100 metres and it is on your left) at the 8 to 8 store...Go see Jacques, the man who owns the convenience store (and local garage). You can buy all your wine and champagne from him, as well as superb snacks. He personally delivered our croissants piping hot every morning for the rest of our stay to our door at 7:30. They were simply delicious. Best we have ever had, and Jacques was such a nice guy.
The whole village is superb, the skiing is amazing, and most people were very polite and smiling.
Overall, a wonderful stay. We will sure come back !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear M.
Thank you for your comment !
We take into consideration your point of view for the bred and for the wifi.

Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN
responsable de la residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely accomodation, well located with good facilities - heated boots :)
Staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment had everything you need and nothing seemed too much trouble. Spa (Linda) was well kept, as well as the pool area.
WIFI a bit ropey, just keep needing to reconnect. Would love to stay again, but its not cheap!

Room Tip: Depends on the amount of folk going, we were in rm 27, well located for the spa and ski hire.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaM2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Rebecca,
Many thanks for your comment.
My team and I really appreciate !

Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN, responsable de la résidence**** l'Oxalys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from Val Thorens. We stayed for a week with our friends and had a great time.
The hotel is very well located (ski in and ski out ) and our apartment had an excellent view.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The ski locker is well equipped with heat blowers for the boots.The pool and spa are very clean and not overcrowded.
One downside is the WiFi that kept disconnecting, and the croissants that can be ordered to the room were not as fresh as the ones you can get from across the street at the 8 to 8 store...
Overall, a wonderful stay. We will sure come back !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rioha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your review !
Please note that we take into consideration your point of view.
See you next winter !
Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

An over-rated venue with 'stuck-up' impolite staff who are only interested if you dine at the ridiculously priced Jean Sulpice restaurant or are a Russian Billionaire.

For over 2k for our room for the week I expect a shower in a cubicle or over a bath, not one which is open and in the bathroom rendering the entire floor and toilet area wet.

Request for an additional mirror (one mirror and three females in the room - really?!) was ignored. Request to change room because of shower ignored.

Waited at the bar for staff to appear for over five minutes twice!

Sounds and looks grand but not impressive when you stay I'm sorry to say

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank PhilCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear M. Cracknell,
We would like you to believe that we are truly sorry for your disappointment as we care a lot about our guest’s satisfaction.
Further to you’re your opinion regarding your stay in Oxalys from the 28th of December until the 4th of January, please allow me to make a clarification about your comment:
- First of all, it’s important to point out that you were aware long before your arrival that the residence was fully booked and that it was impossible to accommodate you in a bigger apartment. Many of our repeater guests like to come at this moment of the year and they book many months in advance.
However, we would like to remind you that you had a one-storey apartment of 35m2 , west facing view, with a n Italian style shower room and furnished with the all the necessary equipment to spend an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We have informed you since the beginning that it was impossible to install an extra mirror in the bathroom.
- You have to know that our rates are in harmony with the ones of our competitors and vary from one week to another according to the moment of the season.
- Regarding your comment on the service at the bar, you have to know that it was not open when you went there but we called a waitress, so you can be promptly served.
We make a point of honour to allow our guests to enjoy their stay as much as they can in our residence.

Regards,

Antoine MARTIN, responsible de la residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Well appointed apartment in a great location. Rooms are light and airy, well maintained and spacious. Kitchen area is adequate but don't think you are going to roast a large joint as the oven is very small. Service is very good - cannot fault the help and advice we were given. Great for families wanting a high quality self-catering holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review ! It was kind of you !

Best regards,


Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews