We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good time here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a good time here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed with 5 people here from 12 till 19 January.
The appartments looked fine, the location was good and overal I think it was a nice place to stay. We had a very good time here.

Positive:
*Location, at the end of the slope from La folie douche.
*Enough space (got a free upgrade)
*Kitchen, has all that you can need.

Negative:
*When we arrived the staff was very friendly and welcoming. After that they were not so friendly. They could use some new staff members.
*The lift only works between 8.00 till 23:00. So it was annoying to walk 6 stairs up if we wanted to go out after 23:00 or came back after 23:00 and had to walk 6 stairs down.
*Dirty plates. Overal the apt was clean just some plates were dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    100
    70
    58
    45
See reviews for
133
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

we have just returned from Les Balcons(4 20 something girls) and found it fine. Having experienced ski accomodation before i did not have high hopes but i must reassure u it was absolutely fine. Basic but fine. It is about 10 mins walk into town but there is a free shutle bus that runs up and down all day so u dont have to carry your skis up the hill like we did on the first day!!HAHA. The bus stop is right outside reception.
We stayed in chalet 3, room 301 and i really cant complain,it isnt 5 star accomodation but then who is going to a ski resort to sit in their rooms? TV is in French so dont rely on that for entertainment!lol
Theres so many bars to choose from in resort and the skiing is truly great!!any younger people going you must,must, must go to la folie douce, its an open bar on the side of the mountain with live music and djs!!Just ask in resort and they will point u in the right direction.
Spa facilities are nice too.

Room Tip: Chalet 3 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ski in (on the 8th floor) Ski out (on the first floor) ! Tricky when the lift doesn't work. My wife and I spent 30 mins stuck in the lft waiting to be rescued and the following day another English family spent 90 mins. General maintenance is very poor, the appartments as small as they can be and the whole place is generally dissappointing. Love Val Thorens but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed as a group of 15 in an ill-kept apartment on the top floor. I think we all would choose a different place to stay the next time we visit Val Thorens

Pros:
- Good location to ski in and out
- Ski-rental & shopping just outside the door
- Comparably cheap, although value for money is not great

Cons:
- Old, smallish and ill-kept apartments (missing light bulbs, cracks and dust everywhere, littered balcony)
- Staff showing not a hint of customer-orientation - extremely reluctant to be of any help
- Facilities not sufficient for the amount of guests (parking permanently full, spa totally overcrowded)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkaempfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Les Balcons - Chalet 3

We booked through a renowned specialized travel company in Les Balcons 3 in Val Thorens.
Being New Year week the price was severely inflated but sadly the quality of the accommodation was FAR BELOW average!

We had booked 4 double rooms as we were skiing with another family of friends.

The laid-out and the quality of Chalet 3 was appalling!

Balcons 3 had 7 rooms spread on 3 levels.

1- Upper level – entrance to Chalet 3:

2 ensuite + 1 not ensuite bedrooms that were located by the entrance to the chalet, this means that the area was constantly busy and noisy!

We were not warned during the booking that the 3rd bedroom was not an ensuite (this is a matter to refer to the travel company we booked through)

The separate bathroom couldn’t be locked from the outside, this meant that we couldn’t leave our personal effects in “our” bathroom as anyone could just walk in and use the facilities!

There was a separate shower room that was accessible to anyone and was located next to “our” separate bathroom – what was the point when all other bedrooms were ensuite?!

The ski-room was located next to the entrance and obviously next to the 3 bedrooms, which meant that people put on their skiing gears and shoes just outside our bedroom!
A fridge and freezer were installed in the ski-room as there was no space anywhere else in the chalet! Very odd!!

There was no bench where to sit to remove our shoes and as the entrance was tiny everyone was struggling at once and blocked the access to the chalet and to the bedrooms!

There were no floor mats so when you removed your shoes after a day skiing, the snow still on your boots melted on the floor, in front of the entrance and bedrooms…and you had to cross the “pool” to reach your bedroom, the staircase to go down to the other bedrooms and the main common area!

The water took ages to dry, so we still had to walk into it with our indoors shoes to go down to the dining room for afternoon tea.

2-Main common area:

1 ensuite bedroom was located on this level where the kitchen, dining room and sitting room were.
This was obviously very noisy in the morning when the staff came to prepare breakfast, and in the evening if some people wanted to watch TV or discuss in the sitting room!

The kitchen was more of a narrow galley that opened onto the common area, and our chalet boy and girl did extremely well cooking on such basic facilities, as the equipment was poor!

The extractor didn’t work well at all, so every time they cooked they had to open the French window of the common area to let the cooking smells and smoke out of the room.
The cooking smells were also traveling through the whole chalet!

3- Lower level:

3 bedrooms – all ensuite I think

Les Balcons - Chalet 3 overall:

The whole building looked fine from the outside, but was very tired and in serious need of renovation!
The furniture was equally tired, so were the bathrooms.

The rooms were tiny and once we had placed our suitcase along the wall we had hardly any space left to move around!

There were a lift to “access” the slopes…well, it accessed the outside of the chalet and there was a steep slope of compact snow to reach the lower level, then we had to ski for a while before reaching the chair lifts… so it was not exactly “skiing from the chalet”!
It was less hassle to walk down the road for a couple of 100m where we could put our skis on and ski down to the chairlifts.

There was no lock on any of the chalet’s bedrooms, but just a basic key on the wardrobes…that opens all the wardrobes in the chalet!!

The chalet entrance door was left unlocked all day long, so anyone could get into any room at any time! The door was only locked at night!

The view from the window was the only positive thing about Balcons 3.

There was a reception hall, swimming pool and various facilities attached to Les Balcons.

The pool attendant was obnoxious with a couple who stayed in our chalet + with our children!
This is not acceptable and we will file an individual complain to Les Balcons management.

There was free wi-fi at the reception - that was good.
The attending staff was not unpleasant but not especially friendly either, just doing the job and most likely finding it boring!

There was a small supermarket Sherpa within the premises – convenient but more expensive than the other supermarkets “in town”.

In conclusion Les Balcons - Chalet 3 in Val Thorens is a huge disappointment and a BIG NO for us, and I would advice people not to book there until Les Balcons are completely renovated and refurnished!

I am sorry to write such a negative report, but there is no way we can recommend such a place, and this will hopefully force the owners of Les Balcons 3 to take quick action.

I will just finish with a positive note on Val Thorens which is a brilliant resort to ski, as it is part of the 3 Vallées.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We (a family of four) stayed in Chalet 3 at Les Balcons de Val Thorens in Christmas and New Year week. Our general attitude: we would not come again to these apartments und would prefer to stay in Pierre Vacance Premium or other Appartment Company,
Reasons:
- poor value for money e.g. in comparison to Pierre Vacanse Premium or Montagnettes
- not well equipped kitchen (bad pans, lack of small bowls, dirty)
- old furniture, bathrooms in the appartment
- not really ski-in and ski-out, the return to the appartment is not for beginners, relatively far from the ski school
- the prices in the Les Balcons Sherpa supermarket are about twice of these in the middle of the village (7-10 minutes away)
- the swimming pool working hours are too shot

I hope, that my comment will help you further

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena_Berlin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suebersdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our first time at this chalet and it was HORRIBLE! Had to call 2 times to have our hot water fixed and the drain in the shower fixed. The bath tub whirl pool didn’t work either. Reception was HORRIBLE and they had no idea what was going on. We paid extra to have our rooms made up and told us they weren’t. Got to the room and they were. They had no idea about our meal plan either. Speaking of the meal Christmas Eve was nice but the next 2 days were AUWFUL!!! Ski off was Ok but had a hike back and not good when you have been skiing all day. Stains all over the floor, dishes were dirty when we arrived and many of them where chipped. The beds were extremely uncomfortable!!! No WIFI in the room and no english TV channels. My husband hurt his knee and found out I didn’t buy the ski pass insurance which I thought i did since I bought cancellation insurance. I ALWAYS buy insurance!!! No one was around to answer questions about an elevator or help when the hours were posted. The only nice thing I can say is we were in Chalet 3 and that was close to the pool and spa.
I would NOT recommend this to anyone and will not be staying here EVER again!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minidlzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens

Property: Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens
Address: Rue des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of the resort, this residence is composed of 6 authentic wooden chalets. Les Balcons welcome you in spacious apartments up to 18 people, comfortable and friendly, with an exceptional panoramic view. You will be able to appreciate the peace of the spot, while still enjoying the closeness of local facilities: bars, restaurants, ski shops, and a minimarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Les Balcons de Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Balcons De Val Thorens Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing