We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, not suitable for a carefree vacation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Chalets de Rosael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chalets de Rosael
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not suitable for a carefree vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The dishwasher leaked water even after they replaced it, insufficient hot water, dirty bed linen, intermittent reception service (open 2 hours per day), virtually non-existent Internet connection and very tiny indoor parking. Ski in and out through an off-piste route not suitable for beginner skiers. Overpriced ski rental. All in all, the experience does not correspond to the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anton1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
38
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We was here in 2009 and 2010. It was very good but this chalet offer unrealistic price in same period 2011. I hope nobody come to this hotel. They wiil pay for avidity.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitriyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

This was our second time to stay at these chalets. Compared to some other 'shoebox' self catering accommodations we have stayed in in France, these are luxiourious.

Six of us stayed in a 6-8 person appartment which provided us with a total 2 toilets, 3 showers, 3 basins and a bath. The kitchen was small but very well equiped and the dinning and living areas were quite spacious. The smallest bedroom is quite small but was adequate for our 2 teenage boys. However, if you had 8 people in this size of appartment, it would entail using the sofa bed which would then need to be put away every morning. In this case I would recommend going for a bigger size appartment. The website shows typical layouts of the various appartments and this is very helpful. The decor is a bit basic but the appartment was clean and well furnished and equipped.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby area and also a computer available, but be warned, the internet connection is very slow. You can also order your bread in the evenings and collect it from reception in the morning

A ski hire shop is located just off the lobby which is really handy, (you get a discount if staying in the chalets and the staff are excellent) and the the heated ski lockers are allocated according to your room number and use the same keys. They are located in the garage which is also accesssed from the lobby.

If you are travelling in your own car, ensure you book your garage space in advance as you cannot park on the streets in Val thorens, and the nearest public carpark is quite a distance away. We travelled in a Renault Traffic and the garage here is high enough to facillitate this size of vehicle.

This is a ski in / ski out location, but I think that it would be difficult for beginners to ski into the back of the acomodation as it is very steep and not pisted.

Overall, we really like this accommodation and will most likely be back next year. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful.

The skiing is awesome and if you have the 3 vallees lift pass, you can ski to Les Menuires, Courcheval and Meribel so there is definitely no shortage of skiing.

  • Liked — Size and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo, bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2008

Chalets du Soleil offers nice self-catered apartments in a true ski-in, ski-out location at Val Thorens.

We stayed there in late January 2008, renting a 6-8 person flat as a group of 6. I would not want to have stayed in an apartment of that size with 8 people, as the living room is very cozy even with six. The bedrooms are miniscule (we had the smallest of 3, and the available floor space consisted of about two and a half feet at the foot of the bed. Still, who's going to spend time in their bedroom at a ski resort anyway?

I'll get my one or two quibbles out of the way first: (1) the small size makes it impossible for more than one person to be in the kitchen area at a time; (2) the walls are not particularly sound-proof, so I'd recommend bringing earplugs in case your neighbours have a party; (3) the pool was cloudy; (4) WiFi is sketchy if you are in your room.

Now let me rave about how much I loved it! The location is great. We put our skis on about thirty feet from the door, and took them off even closer. There is a rental shop just off the lobby. There are ski lockers off the lobby that are heated from about six in the morning - so your boots are warm when you put them on. There's a pool and sauna. There's a computer in the lobby during office hours, and free WiFi at all times. The location at the very top of the resort gives you afternoon sun for basking at the end of your day. The free shuttle bus stops just across the street, and also just across the street is a little grocery.

  • Liked — Location & amenities
  • Disliked — Small size
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank surf_grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Rosael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Rosael

Property: Les Chalets de Rosael
Address: | Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Les Chalets de Rosäël)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Chalets de Rosael 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Balcons quarter, at the foot of the slopes, Les Chalets de Rosaël residence overlooks the Val Thorens resort. An excellent slope resort, Val Thorens boasts exceptional snow cover and opens on to 3 skiable areas: Val Thorens - Orelle (140km of pistes), the Belleville Valley (300km of pistes) and 3 Vallées (600km of pistes).The moment you leave the residence you are already on the slopes. At 2,300m altitude, summer or winter you can enjoy fresh and invigorating air that is conducive to fitness.The apartments are in typical wooden chalets. At your disposal in the residence: the Savoyard restaurant La Ferme de Rosalie, a wellness area, a sports store...You will enjoy:•being located at the foot of the slopes•comfortable, spacious and well equipped apartments with fireplaces•facilities: swimming pool, sauna, steam room, restaurant, shop for equipment hire, private parking...•the dynamism of the resort and its leisure facilities•beautiful summer and winter scenery and endless activities The Authentic apartments, immerse you in the atmosphere of the old mountain chalets, a set to live authentic and warm place to meet friends or family around the fireplace.In Mouflon apartements, be seduced by the elegant and contemporary atmosphere... Let yourself be surprised by the bathrooms's "colorama". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Chalets de Rosael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing