We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at Neilson Chalet Les Andes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Chalet Les Andes
Ranked #35 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Chalet Les Andes has fabulous views across Tignes le Lac from all rooms and balconies. The best bit is the lounge and dining room are on the top floor with huge picture windows for great views.
You can ski back to the chalet behind it snow permitting. (cut off from the red run down from the Chaudannes lift).
The chalet has its own sauna - very hot indeed, and a small pool.
The Neilson chalet staff could not have done more for us - thank you guys - the food was the best chalet food I've had and the wine and New Year bubbly was flowing.
Rooms, whilst not huge, have everything you need and are nicely appointed. No problem on hot water for showers.
If you haven't done a new year in Tignes before - the 20-minute long firework display is definitely worth it and the open-air live DJ/club after for late night revellers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sideshow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from one weeks skiing in Tignes, and stayed at Chalet Les Andes. We were expecting a high end four star chalet, and thats what we got.
Rooms were lovely, and warm, and although we were probably in one of the smaller doubles (room 10), it was perfectly adequate, and the bathroom was large. Just make sure you jump in the shower pretty quickly after returning from the slopes as the hot water can go a bit tepid if you leave it too late.
The living areas are cosy with good facilities (board games, cards etc), and is somewhere nice to relax whilst enjoying the endless supply of tea and cake. All the rooms and communal areas were cleaned every day.
Wifi is good, although a little patchy in some rooms. Its a short walk to the slopes (maybe 400m), but handily near the ski rental shop.
Food served was good, with lots of variety such as salmon, duck confit, tartiflette, stew and a Christmas day turkey. Breakfasts were fine - cereal, bread, yoghurt and a hot option. Fruit was always available throughout the day. Wine was plentiful (endless supply), and all very drinkable.
The chalet hosts were welcoming, helpful and great fun. Nothing is too much bother, including one staying in all day for a missing set of skis to arrive (which was the airline's fault).
All in all, excellent location, great snow, great skiing and lovely time had by all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty1980Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is not a 5* chalet, even the chalet hosts say it isnt and want the clients to let Nielsen know it! A fluffy white dressing gown does not make it a 5* chalet! The continental breakfast does not include croissants, there is only jam/marmalade with french bread & 2 sorts of cereal. Ran out of orange juice and we had to settle for orange squash. Only a 4 cup kettle for the whole of the chalet (that clients had to refill) On chalet hosts day off, no coffee left. Electric plugs held on by duct tape. Chalet not particularly clean. Rep was next to useless, saw him twice in our weeks stay. Hosts couldnt recommend anywhere to eat. The food was of 2/3* standard. There was no honesty bar and only red & white wine available. This chalet definately lacked the added touches that a 5* chalet should have.There wasnt sufficient hot water for everyone to shower (and it wasnt full) half of us had to wait until after dinner! There was no control of the heating in the rooms making the rooms hot and stuffy and the chalet was continually hot. It needs to be marketed as a 2/3* chalet with the price reduced accordingly. And dont be fooled by 70m from the piste- this is right if you dont mind climbing up to it! I am not under any illusions, it is after all a ski resort but the description of the chalet in brochures/on line are hugely misleading.

Thank goodess the skiing didnt let us down!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19TonyaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Bedroom for 3 was small, it had no drawer space, nowhere to sit, and some of the bathroom lights did not work. There was no key for the bedroom door and the only way to keep the door closed was to put something heavy behind it.

Whilst the food and wine were generally good, I would have expected some choice with the evening meal and some cereals other than corn flakes at breakfast. There was never any fresh fruit and very little fresh veg.

The carpets in the hall were worn and grubby.

The chalet staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaySeekerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This chalet does not disappoint.  From the fresh filter coffee ,feather duvets, comfy mattresses , pillows and good showers to the exceptionally relaxing chalet layouts with adequate space to relax.  The chalet was always warm whilst  easily ventilated by opening a window when needed.

The sauna is good and the pool adequate for a quick swim.  

The food and service was fantastic,the (English) neilson chalet hosts where superb as was the in resort neilson staff.

The chalet isn't really ski too, but the short walk to the village / lifts wasn't really a problem.

The chalet was well maintained and towels changed midweek.  it felt clean in the chalet including common areas.

This was my first skiing holiday and as a newbie I did find the in resort free lift areas excellent with half a dozen little areas to practice on with no lift pass.  Tignes green and blue runs are possibly a little tricky for beginners however the resort is great too.  

I would recommend tignes to anyone and wholeheartedly suggest considering les Andes. My only advice is if taking a triple room - one or two are actually just doubles and impossibly tight for three.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetskijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have recently returned from a fantastic week in Tignes... not particularly helped (it has to be said) by the chalet Les Andes.
Although perfectly acceptable as a base in which to sleep and eat, we were very disappointed by the hugely misleading 5* accolade which we found very hard to explain. Our room was cramped, dusty and overheated. We had to ask for a waste bin, and the shower flooded every evening. Despite this, our bath mat was not changed once throughout the week - pretty foul. We were also not best pleased to discover that other rooms were given towelling robes - something we were not offered all week, and would have helped contribute to even the slightest feeling of luxury that the 5* seems to promise.
The lighting in the room was poor, which made dressing for dinner challenging - especially given the limited floor space. Once the sun went down, it was very poorly lit. The balcony, however, was nice and offered a good view.
Although not usually a stickler for hotel room cleanliness, we found it impossible to ignore the consistently dirty floor, which if you were not wearing shoes/slippers, you noticed on the soles of your feet.
As previous seasonnaires, the food was a huge disappointment. There was no sophistication to the meals - we were served the likes of curry and lasagne with no individual flair which (again) the 5* would imply.
Afternoon tea and cake was also a joke, with only ONE cake on offer for 22 people, which meant we frequently missed out if we stayed out until the pistes closed. Similarly breakfast offered few options - and eggy bread was on offer far more than I think anyone would have elected to have it. Shame.
This is the first time that I have contributed to a site such as this, as I often read such reviews and wonder that they might be from dubious sources... however, I really felt compelled to warn future guests of Les Andes not to expect too much. YES, it's a ski resort so not necessarily going to live up to traditional 5* standards,and OF COURSE the price is really so high because it is in the alps, and it has a sauna and pool... but even so... as someone who has been going on ski hols for over 20 years, I felt very let down by the standard at Les Andes. The truth is, I have stayed in far superior 3* chalets... and had much lower expectations.
I hope this turns out to be helpful for future guests.
We actually had a fantastic trip - skiing in blissful blue skies with close friends and lots of laughter - but what should have been the icing on the cake (a top of the range chalet to kick back in during the evening) became somewhere that we elected to spend as little time as possible. Big shame.

Happy skiing one and all.

Room Tip: Room nine tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeanieSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Having skiied for 15 years. I found Chalet Les Andes one of the most over rated. Neilsen, who where the travel company, assured us that this is one of there best places to stay. There was no issue with the staff, they were quite friendly and helpful. My issue is with the rating of the chalet. I have had the pleasure of staying in a lot better 3 Star chalets. If you want space, then don't book this chalet. There are 3 beds in one room, which clearly only has room for 2 beds. There are no decent showers, and whatever you do, don't look under the beds......Unless you want to see all manner of things. The food was quite mediocre and bland. The staffs presentation needs to addressed(A clean uniform wouldn't go amiss). If I was asked to stay in the Les Andes again......No. Not a chance. I think, since winning the 5 star (2010), Neilsen have not put any more effort into keeping it. The only positive thing I can think of about the Les Andes is.......No......No....I am struggling.

Room Tip: Book another chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#28 of 80 in Tignes
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#4 of 37 in Tignes
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.1 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Chalet Les Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Chalet Les Andes

Address: Les Almes, Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Neilson Chalet Les Andes Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing