We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, not five star though…..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Chalet Les Andes
Ranked #34 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok, not five star though…..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We travelled 26th Febuary for one week in a group of eight, we were a little disappointed by the presentation of the chalet for a five star and as a general consensus we would rate it a good three star, Neilson breakfast leaves a lot to your imagination literally, when I booked it was described as a full breakfast upon reading the small print realised that it was a full breakfast just served over five days with varied components of the ‘full breakfast’ each day! The cleanliness of the sauna and the stairs carpet was not the best as normally you wipe your feet on the way in not the way out.

However the staff were ‘excellent’ and nothing was to much trouble, special dietary requirements for some of the fussy people in our group were catered for with no problems at all, at dinner I don’t think any of us saw an empty glass all week.

Having travelled with several other operators I would not choose to travel with Neilson again as it is a very competitive market place and the number of operators offering superior service and accommodation is vast.

To sum up, would stay again at a three star price as that’s what its worth, the staff made the difference otherwise there would have been many complaints!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uuummmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was the penultimute week for Tignes, Neilson and the staff. All information on position, facilities and snow conditions was easily available before booking. This was a late deal and Neilson upped the price by £50, 30mins after my enquiry. NOT encouraging for future bookings.
The chalet was exactly as described, modern (for a chalet), ensuite rooms, balcony,pool, sauna etc.Though not 5*, certainly 4 +clicks on this system.A warm welcome from the staff, not bad after 4 months 6 days a week turnover of punters.
Food and very drinkable wine in plenty. No Mark Warner boarding school rules about whisking the wine away after ordering dessert.
A special thanks to rep Charlotte(yes, it's me) James, Emma, Amy and Kate for cheerful service with nothing being too much trouble.
Yes, I would recommend Les Andes, especially if you have the same deal!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phuqnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed at Les Andes during the middle of April. The snow was the worst since 1973 according to one family who have a property here – and our hearts sank when we arrived and saw the lack of snow at resort level apart from the ribbons of snow the Pistieres carefully crafted each night. But never fear once we were up and out of the resort – there was plenty of snow either at the top of the Aeroski bubble or the Tichot chair. So if this is a bad snow year in mid-April then it’s probably fine whenever you go. The chalet bedrooms are a bit larger than we’re used to – although they still maintain that Alpine snugness you expect – the bathrooms were significantly larger. The accommodation is on three floors with the lounge and dining room on the second (top) floor. There is a bit of trek uphill for 250m to the main ski area and Aeroski bubble – the bus drops you there when you arrive and you have to wheel your suitcases down to the chalet. For skiing the alternative is 70m walk in the opposite direction to the Bleuets red Piste – bizarrely this was up a steep narrow track around the back of the new Telemark chalet complex – as there seems to have been little consideration of access to the piste for all the buildings in the same road, at this time of year it was muddy and so not sure if it’s easier with plenty of snow. As it was the end of season the Bleuets run was narrow and heavily carved – however in early/mid-season most people who are confident on blues should be able to traverse the short distance down the bottom of the run and under the bridge to the Chaudannes and Paquis lifts. The Paquis lift in particular takes you across to Piste H and down from there to easy access to Fresse or Tichot chairs taking you high up on either side of the mountain. This was the first (and probably last) time that we’ll travel with Neilson, to be honest the chalet staff seemed professional but distant and not what you’d expect from the independents like Olympic and Ski World who are far more engaging. The food was OK, 2 ingredients for the hot breakfast each day (eg sausage and beans), tea was always excellent and the evening meals were fine. There was no special effort on the last night’s meal. The problem with staff/food reviews is that it’ll be a different team next year and so of little help to readers. Neilson does need to put more effort into staff choice and meal structure – again something the independents excel at. We had rapid turnover of staff that just appeared and didn’t introduce themselves. Generally a chalet should be more relaxed across both staff and guests. It was a great advantage having the Sauna and pool to relax in the evening – a real plus point. In summary great snow sure resort, not as easy to access the piste as you’d hope for, good quality accommodation, and a large incumbent tour operator that needs to try a bit harder

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorpio101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Chalet was clean... food was fantastic ,considering, the oven was broken,at the time ,Rosie , emma, vanessa, not forgetting james... could not do enough for you.. Wine was free flowing. We had second thought's of tea &cakes... As were hardcore veteran snowboarders... but after a apre's beer.. what a result homemade cake..... went down a treat... thanks for a great holiday .. gary .al .mick.......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Firstly this was my first skiing trip so my knowledge of this type of accommodation is limited. The chalet is quite large as I understand it by chalet standards, but this make for a more sociable stay (10 bedrooms). The building is clean and modern and I had no grumbles about staying there. The bedrooms are compact, though I understand this is normal for ski accommodation. The bedrooms are functional and adequate for our stay. The chalet is a bit of a walk from the main skiing area, a few minutes away, which can be a bit of a struggle when carrying all your equipment. The real plus for this chalet is the excellent quality of staff who do a superb job of looking after you during your stay. Our hosts for the week were Rosie and Emma. You couldn't wish for better girls to look after you. We were fed breakfast, afternoon tea/cakes and three course evening meal with more than enough wine included. The food was of an excellent standard. If we were to return to this area I would have no hesitation in booking this chalet again. I couldn't have wished for a better stay or to be looked after better. I would recommend this chalet to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petersuffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Just got back from Tignes - 23 of us stayed at the Chalet Les Andes. Accomodation was excellent although the triple rooms are a little crowded for three adults. The living area was large and spacious and the extra living area was great for our loud teenagers! The pool and sauna were an extra bonus and was used quite alot. All towels for rooms and pool are included and are changed regularly. The food was of restaurant quality and the presentation was wonderful. Well done to Cat, Wendy, Guy 1 and Guy 2 who made our stay wonderful. The afternoon cakes and buscuits were to die for. As for the resort, this has been the best ski resort that we have ever skied. We all travel on our ski trip every February and are seriously considering coming back here next year. Sking back to the chalet was a little difficult but not impossible and getting to the first lift on the morning was no problem at all - just a few minutes walk down hill. Boot room was lovely and warm soo our boots were comfortable to put on in the mornings. Could keep on praising this chalet and staff - would highly recommend it to all future travellers. Hope to see the staff again next year. Thanks again. Harrison party - Basingstoke, Hants, England.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Testvalleyskitourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We booked the whole Chalet as a group including 50% children 10 and under.

The Chalet hosts were friendly helpful and efficient. The property was kept very clean and the food was excellent. The children ate seperately and whilst they usually enjoyed the same meals as the adults the hosts were willing to accommodate requests.

The property is ski in so long as you are reasonably competant but in the morning you do have a 2 minute walk downhill to the nearest ski lift which was not a problem even for the smallest of the children.

All the bedrooms were en suite and were reasonably spacious as too was the lounge.

Overall an excellent Chalet.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowerpotmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#14 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Alpina
Residence Chalet Alpina
#24 of 37 in Tignes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.2 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Chalet Les Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Chalet Les Andes

Property: Neilson Chalet Les Andes
Address: Les Almes, Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Neilson Chalet Les Andes Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing