We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet”
Review of Chalet Les Melezes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Les Melezes
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This chalet does exactly what you need, if skiing or boarding is what your there for - it is perfect! Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and the set out of the chalet is nice with a big bar area, tv room and a lovely dining area with great views of the mountians.
Food is really good, staff are very friendly and helpful at all times, the location you can't get much better. I would have no hesitation going back plus the rates are very fair! I can't think why anybody wouldnt be happy here unless they were expecting boutique 5 star accomodation and wanted to pay nothing for it. My advice to those is, get real!

Room Tip: Also check out Mountain sun - hotel Diamant in the Dolomites, has a glorious pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've been to the same hotel twice now, two years ago, and last week.
2 years ago, I'd have to say the food was nothing far short of superb, unfortunately it wasn't as good this time round, but it was pleasant enough nonetheless. The hotels position is great, the staff welcoming and friendly, and if on a budget holiday, you will struggle to find better.
For what you are paying, I wouldn't expect much more ( maybe an extra pillow! )
The alps, and France in particular is expensive, but the hotel has got their market place about right. Just don't expect 5 stars
I will book again, if we go the same resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainsunltd, Front Office Manager at Chalet Les Melezes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Cliff M,
We hope to show when you come back that food standards are back to the level of your first visit & if you need another pillow please ask - we'll make sure you get one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a week at Les Melezes and have to say it was the worst hotel I can remember staying in! On the plus side the rooms were so hot i had to open the windows to let some heat out (bedrooms & dining room) the breakfast was acceptable with cold ham & cheese & bread etc plus a different hot option each day but the evening meal was usually dreadful either undercooked (peas like bullets), over cooked (fish) or totally stodgy (pasta) Best dishes were IMO garlic mushroom starter and the curry. Service was very good though. We were jam packed 3 single beds in a room that was at best a double. The rooms were not cleaned all week nor were the towells changed or even bins emptied. Some of the staff were very friendly (Georgie & the Kiwi Ski tech) but the rest seemed more interested in their own lives & skiing. There was a full Sky TV package, sauna and hot tub and it was good for slope access. I had to share with an Olympic snoorer which didnt help but I cant blame hotel for that. All in all if you just want a room and dont mind roughing it and can afford to eat out at night this place is ok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainsunltd, Front Office Manager at Chalet Les Melezes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are sorry to hear you found your stay at Les Melezes so disapointing.

We believe you must have stayed in early Feb 2014, the chef at that time had not been in the job long & is no longer with us.

We clean bedrooms daily on request, guests just need to hang the "Clean Me" sign on their door. This system is explained both at our welcome speech & in the chalet info pack in every room.

The pictures show one of our twin/double rooms which can accommodate a 3rd guest, this particular room is the least spacious we offer as a triple. Our extremely low rates for additional guests make triple or quad options very attractive to people skiing on a budget.

It is a shame that your issues were not mentioned to our resort management, I am sure they could have rectified some of your complaints & made your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have just come back from this Chalet, the food was terrible, one night it was actually inedible. Most nights it was barely acceptable. How the guy can call himself a chef i don't know, most of the ingredients seemed to frozen and the vegetables were hard. The potatoes were barely cooked, how difficult is it to cook potatoes and get on the table cooked. I have skied with people before that would have formed a lynching party, he was lucky that are group were so laid back. We did complain but the standard and quality of the food left a lot to be desired.

The saving grace here is the rest of the chalet team who were friendly and helpful. But the whole chalet is tired and the dining furniture is a disgrace with bits of wicker and nails hanging out of the arms.

I would advise you not to go here.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same, quiet and the bar shut at 12.00 which is good if you want some slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike_graham55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainsunltd, Front Office Manager at Chalet Les Melezes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are sorry to hear that your stay at Les Melezes did not meet your expectations, we can only assume that you visited in early Feb 2014 as we have had some recent staffing problems in the kitchen. The chef concerned is no longer with us & standards have already improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A friendly place, cant fault the staff, the location for the slopes was very good.
The food, whilst there were generous portions, the standard was inconsistent, it would have been nice to have had a choice of a daily soup starter.
There was soup for lunch but you were asked the day prior, the afternoon tea/coffee & cake had a good selection. We were in a three share, it was cramped, the rooms & bathroom were tired & it need of a spruce up. Boot room was good as long as there only 3 or 4 people in it at a time.
Great sauna & power shower. Good lounge area & a separate games/tv room. I suppose you get what you pay for, but there is no excuses for spoiling good food, with the cooking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diyisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic holiday and a great hotel with very friendly staff, perfect location close to the ski lift and a very competitive price.
It does what it says on the tin.
Would definitely recommend and go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A friend arranged this entire trip, and didn't he choose well. The hotel was warm, cosy and home from home. I am very sad to have left. Not an emotion I accustom with a hotel, but this one earned it immediately.
The lounge area is full of comfortable seating, a gentle buzz of friendliness pervades the public areas, and that has an awful lot to do with the staff. Always willing to help and advise on anything from cocktail type to weather conditions. A very considerate team with a whole lot of curly hair!
Thank you to all the staff who looked after and befriended us. We felt part of the family and are already missing Les Melezes.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional; no frills.
The food was good, the cakes were good and the all day tea and coffee good.
A few minutes walk and ski to the nearest bubble.
A free bus runs to Tigne Le Lac every 30mins and takes about 10mins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627christiaanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Les Brevieres
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#19 of 37 in Tignes
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#32 of 81 in Tignes
33 reviews
3.1 mi away
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
1.8 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Les Melezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Les Melezes

Address: | Tignes Les Boisses, 73220 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Hotel Les Melezes provides an ideal base for exploring L'Espace Killy (Tignes and Val d'Isere), one of Europe's most famous and snowsure skiing areas. Set in the beautiful and historic hamlet of Tignes Les Boisses, this ski-to-door homely chalet has panoramic views across the Isere Valley. The chalet has 21 bedrooms sleeping up to 52 people and comprises of twin, double, triple, quad rooms as well as an apartment sleeping up to 6 people. There is a bar and lounge area as well as a dining room with views of Mt Blanc. A hot tub and sauna are situated outside the back of the property, also with views of Mt Blanc. There is also a Games and TB room with UK channels and a guest computer. Free wifi is available downstairs in the communal area. We also offer in-house ski hire with a wide selection to suit all abilities and budgets. The chalet is open in Winter, Summer and Autumn and we specialise in flexible breaks both long and short. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Les Melezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing