We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Les Melezes
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I will try and be brief.
Staff excellent led by a superb manageress
Location I deal especially during crowded times as even in half terms there were no lift ques
True 3-5 min walk downhill to get onto the piste and easy to ski back to hotel.
Nice sauna, hot tub a bit small but still nice if you could get into it.
Rooms were very basic and small and old but beds were comfortable and the rooms clean
Food was ok but basic I presonally am a bit fussy others were quite complimentary. For cheap table wine it was very palatable.
The bar area was a lovely place to chill at the end of the day.
All in all one of the best places for famalies who want to ski one of the worlds best ski areas with out having to take out a second mortgage.

Room Tip: Try and get an on-suit room. Couples are better off getting a twin and pushing the beds together, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwood660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just come back from a week snowboarding in Tignes where we stayed at Chalet Les Melezes. We had a great time, despite some less then perfect weather, and would definitely return. I'd echo lots of the previous comments (except the complaints about snow on the stairs which we laughed about with others staying in the Chalet!) so I'll break into pros and cons:

Cons: The guy picking us up from the airport didn't have a sign so there was some confusion, delays and calls to Mountain Sun in the UK (however Ellie, the manager, sorted it asap once aware), some of the rooms are pretty small and could do with a lick of paint, hot tub struggled to cope with the demand or temperature and was too cold for us and the hot water ran out some evenings (we were probably the last to shower). Also, nothing to do with the chalet but the organisation of the lift queues was non existent and chaos. A shock from the politeness of the US.
These are all pretty picky given the cost but wanted to give a fair review.

Pros: The staff are lovely, so helpful and friendly. Alex was up at 5 the day we left to make sure we had cups of tea and packed breakfast bags. The food was awesome. So much more than I would expect for the cost. Three course dinner every night, which loads of food and quality was superb. Free wine over dinner was very drinkable (almost too much so!!). The afternoon cake (hot from the oven cookies, chocolate brownies etc) was a sight for sore eyes after a cold day on the mountain. Sauna was hot, clean and a welcome replacement to the hot tub.
The ski area was huge with loads of variation. Would be amazing on a powder day as offpiste everywhere. Slightly better suited to skiers than boarders as quite a lot of cat tracks, flat/uphills, but we all agreed we would still go back.

All in all, we had a great time and I would thoroughly recommend this chalet as long as you're not looking for luxury at an impossible price.

Room Tip: We paid extra (£5 a day I think?) for a bathroom in the room and very glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Firstly, so glad to see some lovely new photos of Chalet Melezes, the old ones are no longer representative of this friendly, clean, comfortable Chalet. Ellie and her 2013 team have done Chalet Melezes proud, they are professional and helpful.

My teenage daughter and I came here for its location, great package, and of course the incredible ski safari of Tignes and Val d'Isere. We went Feb. 2013 half term week, the chalet was full, the showers were hot every evening, the rooms were warm with plenty of hooks to hang out the ski gear, the food was more gourmet than expected, we had great company at our table, and the carafes of house wine flowed.

The transfers from Geneva airport were very reasonably priced. Thank you to John and the driver from Les Coches for such smooth driving not easy on those winding roads.

When we arrived although it was late, it was worth sorting out ski hire straight away, Alex was a trooper, even though it was late he gave us time to fuss with our boots and skis. Which meant the next morning we hit the slopes first thing. He also checked the next day if we were happy with our equipment, and he was always in the lounge after the return from the slopes if anyone wanted to discuss their hire equipment.

On arrival Greg talked us through all the Chalet and resort info and gave us our ski lift passes. Having previously always done self catering and experienced having to go and get the lift passes and go to the ski hire shops it was so much more relaxing to have our ski hire done in house and our ski passes handed to us in the cosy lounge, no busy queues for us.

We had an amazing week, six days of sunshine and well pisted slopes every day. The bubble lift to Tignes ski domaine from Les Boisses was a short walk and ski away, and Val d'Isere was easy to ski over to.

We would go back to Chalet Melezes tomorrow, wish we could !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here in early January 2013 as part of a group of dads looking to get away for a few nights skiing without wives and kids. That alone made for a good holiday!! However, I found Les Melezes to be an excellent choice for a skiing holiday. Best thing about the place is the staff. Ellie and team do a fantastic job of ensuring everyone is happy and always have time for all of the guests. The food was acceptable (nothing fancy, but filling and plenty of it) and the bar area was welcoming and not excessively priced. Had to walk all of 100 yards to the slope and lift in the morning which was no problem at all. Alternatively you could get on the free bus and get back and forth to Tignes 1800 in about 5 to 10 minutes. It stopped 50 yards down the road and seemed to run every 20 minutes or so until quite late.

Rooms were simple, but we weren't looking for 5 star luxury so that wasn't an issue. Boot room was fine and secure. Although since Les Boisses is such a quiet little hamlet, there weren't enough people around to feel as if there was any chance of anyone taking your stuff anyway. I think you probably could have left it outside the front door and it would have been there in the morning.

Don't be put off staying in the Les Boisses/Brevieres part of Tignes. It is a bit remote for any sort of nightlife (we stayed in the hotel bar most nights after dinner as we couldn't be bothered to catch the bus up to Tignes 1800), but it's only two (fast) lifts to get over the top and into the main Tignes bowl in the morning. If you're a decent intermediate it's paradise from there on. We easily skied to the Glacier above Val D-Isere and back in a day.

This is an ideal spot for the type of holiday that we did (groups of friends or couples looking to relax in a very friendly environment). Probably wouldn't recommend for families with young kids (like mine) as there wasn't quite enough to do in the village if you weren't skiing. But that's not the hotel's fault, just the location as I'm sure the kids would love the hotel itself.

Room Tip: I stayed with 4 other lads in the appartment downstairs. Lots of space (compared to the room's i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touringtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights on the ski and board camp before Christmas and it was a fantastic break. The Chalet is very welcoming and friendly and the food good. Both my boyfriend and I have food allergies which we didn't mention after putting them on the booking forms and they remembered no problem, and adapted the menus to cater for us. The staff were friendly and chatty, other guests were like-minded and the chalet had a nice family atmosphere at the end of the day with everyone chilling out at the bar. Cake at 3.30pm every day was delicious!

The rooms are basic but the wi-fi connection was excellent and the chalet is unpretentious and laid back which is just what we wanted. The snow was also excellent as were the skis and snowboard we hired. With transfers, lift pass and hire included the ski and board camp cannot be beaten on value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4th year of December ski and board camp. The hotel has moved up a class again under the management of Ellie.
This year there are some new Staff and they seem more customer focused than last years crowd.
The food was fantastic. The old chef from two years ago has returned and his cooking is superb.
The skiing was great and the rental equipment was top notch again.

See you next year for more of the same.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smagsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at Chalet Melezes in July with husband plus 10 and 12 yr old boys for a (bargain) week of adrenaline activities. The Chalet is a little like the very best, characterful Youth Hostels, in that there's not so many frills, but its soooo welcoming and friendly. Big squashy sofas, hammocks, mountain views, wii for the kids if you can get them out of the hot tub! Great company too with lots of other families (all English) all sat round one big table to eat fabulous food. Spent half our holiday planning when we'd be back and which of our friends to bring with us! Highlights the rafting and the highropes. Thanks to all the staff and to Mountainsun.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth having. Lovely mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
90 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
266 reviews
2 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#9 of 37 in Tignes
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Les Brevieres
1.8 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#29 of 81 in Tignes
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Les Melezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Les Melezes

Address: | Tignes Les Boisses, 73220 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Hotel Les Melezes provides an ideal base for exploring L'Espace Killy (Tignes and Val d'Isere), one of Europe's most famous and snowsure skiing areas. Set in the beautiful and historic hamlet of Tignes Les Boisses, this ski-to-door homely chalet has panoramic views across the Isere Valley. The chalet has 21 bedrooms sleeping up to 52 people and comprises of twin, double, triple, quad rooms as well as an apartment sleeping up to 6 people. There is a bar and lounge area as well as a dining room with views of Mt Blanc. A hot tub and sauna are situated outside the back of the property, also with views of Mt Blanc. There is also a Games and TB room with UK channels and a guest computer. Free wifi is available downstairs in the communal area. We also offer in-house ski hire with a wide selection to suit all abilities and budgets. The chalet is open in Winter, Summer and Autumn and we specialise in flexible breaks both long and short. We also offer great packages including downhill mountain biking, road cycling, well being and all inclusive ski packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Hotel Les Melezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing