We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Even better than last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We have just finished our 3 year visit to Club Med Tignes Val Claret. It has been completely re furbished. It has moved up a star to 4 star. We love the experience that Club Med gives you. They organise it all and you have nothing to worry about as everything is included in the price. The flights from Britain are around 90 to 120 minutes and the transfer time from the airport to the resort, weather permitting is around 165 minutes.

The Bedroom - I have posted some photos which represents a club room. If you look further down the traveller photos you will see mine from last year which will let you see the changes. They have replace all the bedroom fittings and gave the rooms a lovely cosy feel. The décor was really nice, the beds were comfortable but you are rarely in the room. Down side they have changed the heating from oil to electric. It was controlled from a central control room which was not good as we had a faulty patio door sensor which caused the heating to stay off, so the room was a little chilly and when it did work it was very drying. The oil heating was much more comfortable. The lighting in the bedroom is woeful. so dim you can hardly see.

The Restaurant - was excellent. The hotel now being a four star now serves 4 star food which was really good they have food to suits all tastes from kids to a la carte dinners. Wine was served in abundance as well as beer and soft drinks. The décor was modern and the dinning room was well lit and spacious. The waiting staff were always on hand and very helpful.

The Bar - they have now put a stage in the bar so that you can see the evening's entertainment, instead of going into the theatre which has now been changed into additional seating for the bar.

The Spa - we had a massage (extra cost) on the third day and it was wonderful. The spa is a little dated as it hasn't been modernised but it is fine. They have a pool and Turkish bath but we didn't use either of them this year, but previously they were grand. To improve it would be nice to have a jacuzzi.

The Skiing - Brilliant brilliant brilliant. No complaints the terraine is vast and gives both intermediates and experienced skiers a challenging weeks skiing. The instructor we had (Veronica) was superb and remember that both the lessons and the ski pass are included in the cost of the holiday.

All in all it scores 9.5 out of 10 for me.

Would I go for a forth time yes probably.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterloomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    245
    130
    55
    36
See reviews for
428
102
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

We have just returned from a great week at Club Med Tignes Val Claret and we cannot recommend it highly enough - it was fantastic! This resort was recommended to us by our travel agent for its all inclusive style which is really convenient if you want to incorporate a week's skiing in the middle of a longer trip to Europe. It is so easy as everything is included from the time you catch the TGV in Paris until you are returned to Paris a week later - the only time I pulled out the wallet was to buy the obligatory souvenirs!
We were a family of four and opted for two rooms so we would have two bathrooms and this also gave the kids their own space. The whole resort has been refurbished and only re-opened four weeks before we arrived so the rooms are lovely - clean, fresh, stylish and comfortable. We had great views of the slopes. The main areas of the resort are also very nicely fitted out and the bar and restaurant are comfortable and spacious.
Having been to one Club Med before albeit a beach holiday, we sort of knew what we were in for as far as the Club Med experience goes and the staff here do not disappoint. The whole experience is cheerful, helpful and fun, nothing is too much trouble and the GO's are always around to liven things up. Even if you don't go in for the whole participation thing with the shows every night it is still fun to watch! Our children were well looked after by the Kids Club and within the resort were quite safe to do their own thing. We all loved the food, the standard of service and quality is amazing considering how much they are churning out each day and the supply is endless - there are meal times, snack times, tea times and even snacks on the slopes! Alcohol is available in copious amounts.
However, all of the above pales into insignificance when you come to experience the skiing in Tignes - for Aussies it is almost unbelievably good - endless perfect snow and runs that go on for ever. The skis and boots were included in the package and were of a very good quality. We all joined ski lessons which were carefully graded on the first day and then it's off to explore the slopes of Tignes and Val d'Isere which are connected resorts. I don't think we skiied the same run more than twice in the whole week. The ski instructor is really like a tourist guide and without him it would be easy to get lost. We all improved our skiing and did thing we never believed we would like skiing off piste. We also met some really lovely people through our ski lesson groups.
All in all is was a great week and we look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelswithfirstborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

I did an early season 4 day break last Dec.Everything you could possibly need is included. The single rooms in the Petit Claret were better than expected and were a quiet haven from the optional non stop activities.Very good value at the beginning of the season,especially as we drove there, being already in France.Only drawbacks; check-in is some what chaotic, especially by car- you could be towed away, even in Dec.Not good value with UK flight package means 3 1/2 days fun rather than 4.Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phuqnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

First Club Med experience and not dissappointed. Yes we agree that the hotel needs upgrade. Other guests informed us this was not the usual Club Med standard. However this is starting in May we were told. Having said that, our room with fabulous slope view was roomy enough,comfy bed, clean linen daily, good size bathroom and sep toilet and balcony. Only problem was it was often not cleaned until late afternoon which was a pain if you wanted a nap.Facilities perfectly comfortable, service superb at bar and diningroom, food excellent and varied, after ski snacks and drinks offered on slope as ski finish for the day is fantastic. Advanced Ski school instructor the best ever and we have skied 15 different resorts in various countries!
Best ski runs ever, brilliant for experienced and intermediates! Best off piste ever, great lift systems, can ski all day and not repeat slopes. Great proximity to other small villages e.g. Val d Isere.
ONLY BAD THING, "Keep kids out the diningroom and bar area at night!!!" They were running wild,no control, no quiet dinner.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank RooDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

I am quite puzzled by previous reviews on Club Med at Tignes Val Claret!

We, along with 2 of our friends, booked this holiday a few months ago, and having read previous reviews (after we booked) were fearful of what we might find on arrival. I have to say though that our experience from beginning to end was completely different to that painted in previous comments.
We travelled by air from Manchester, and upon arrival were given a welcome drink and a briefing from the hotel staff. We were shown round whilst our luggage was taken to our rooms.
The food throughout our stay was awesome - plenty of variety, and the quality was worthy of a 4 star hotel - wine and all other drinks were included and freely available too.
We found the facilities to be more than adequate, the service from every member of staff was brilliant - nothing was too much trouble for them. The Club Med manager was always evident, and approachable too!
The Ski school was just as good, and being run by ESF, the standard of instruction was pretty high - but there was no problem if you didnt want to take lessons or join a group (although it was included in the price of the holiday, as was the lift pass) - the skiing was fantastic anyway, and you can genuinely ski from and to the door of the hotel.
Having just got back yesterday, we and our friends have made firm plans to visit this particular Club med again next year - by the way, for those who didnt like the decor (there was nothing wrong with it actually) the hotel is closed over this summer for a total refurbishment - from what ive been told, its a rollling program affecting all Club Meds.
Quite frankly, you would be hard pushed to find a better quality of holiday at such a great price - Im hoping however that the comments of some of the previous reviewers will have put many fellow Brits off - the last thing we want to see at Tignes is the traditional British Lager Lout who cant handle all the free beer/wine/spirits/food and who would doubtless spoil it for those of us who want a decent, hassle free skiing holiday!!!!

  • Liked — the food was fantastic, the staff were great, and nothing was too much trouble
  • Disliked — there wasnt anything not to like!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank extreeeeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Before my trip to Club Med Val Claret I was expecting the worst as I happen to have read the previous reviews on this site. Well they could have not been more wrong. WE had a family room with piste view wihch was spacious with nice bathroom and seperate toilet. Let me start with the food, it was excellent , varied, fresh and diverse. The wine at the table was accpetable and easy flowing. The staff at the restaurant where accomodating. Like all club med resorts drinks at the bar are free and the staff behind the bar where excellent, fast service even when the bar was at its busiest. The GOs where very helpfull, expecially when my eldest son broke his wrist, I was 2 hours away and they took him to hospital, waited with him and brougth him back to the club and enteratained him till i arrrived. The lady named Leila was excellent and kind hearted. Also thumbs up to the Genral Manager Jean Marc and his assistant Jacklin, always took our minor complainst seriously and made sure we where happy througout. Granted the resort is now old, (It will be refurrbished this summer) but if you seek a family holiday , relaxed, ski in ski out, great food, fun entertainment, well club med val claret was a good experience.

  • Liked — Friendly athmoshphere and food
  • Disliked — Teenagers felt left out
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nazlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

This hotel is in major need of a total refurbishment. It just plain and simply looks old and tired.It completely lacks any sort of character whatsoever.
Our bedroom was an adequate size though it was virtually impossible to open the balcony doors without severely pulling ones muscles. Decor in the room was woeful. One wall was painted a peculiar shade of blue which was very unwelcoming. There was not even a single painting on any of the walls. On the plus side was a small but fairly comfy bath which is always appreciated on a ski hol. I might add that we had paid for a deluxe room! I understand from friends we went with that the single rooms were reminiscent of the cabins on the Dublin ferry!!
Food was fine. Really good breakfast with everything you could wish for - apart from a properly functioning toaster. We stayed in the mountains for lunch so can't comment on that. Dinner was themed and generally excellent although the dining room is like a school canteen and unbearably hot and stuffy.
I had problems with my hire skis and the man in the ski room said I was the only person out of the 500 who hired them to complain. Is that sort of comment helpful or necessary?
Do we really need to remind these people who the client is and who actually pays their wages?
All in all we had a good week because of the fun we made for ourselves but it would need to have a very serious overall before we would consider returning.

  • Liked — the view of the mountain
  • Disliked — horrendous noise from piste bashers all through the night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Suites du Montana
1.2 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Property: Club Med Tignes Val Claret
Address: Club Med Tignes rue du Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tignes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#11 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassiere. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing