We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is now even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Aiguille Percee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Aiguille Percee
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This hotel is now even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group both last year as well as this year.

What a difference!

The bedrooms have been upgraded. This time the bathroom incorporated the WC and also had a full size bath. It was great to have a TV in the room - with a choice of several UK TV channels.

Other improvements have increased the size of the restaurant, the bar and the ski and boot locker room. I did not try out the sauna and swimming pool - but friends reported that these were welcome additions.

Plenty of good food and drink.

All of this, and conveniently located for the skiing too! I am looking forwards to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    14
    15
    4
See reviews for
68
24
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have skied with Mark Warner for the past 6 years - usually at the Tarentaise, and this was our first visit to the Aiguille Percee as it was refurbished last summer. We paid extra for a 'superior' room so were slightly surprised that it did not even have a bath. Apparently 'superior' just means view of the mountains. Another personal niggle is why are there no drawers in the rooms?
That said, the location is great - about 50M form the central area of Tignes Le Lac and the main Aeroski gondola to the Val area. The manager was efficient and enthusiastic and the food was excellent as usual. Bar prices are what you would expect and there were some evening quizzes and games put on by the staff. Boot room is 'cozy' so get there early to get a seat. There are boot warmers.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with bath so ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanK599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location right on the main lifts but away from the main drag far enough to be peaceful. Superb food and masses of it!, you have to try the viva spa on site, Emma us a wizard with the hot stones. Great, friendly, lively and polite staff, struggling to find any negatives... Apart from the shelf above the bed!? Def a design faux pas, not practical and made it uncomfortable to relax in the room. 9 out of 10, ski line and Mark Warner, see you somewhere again soon, we are hooked!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Freeflychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very enjoyable and comfortable week in Tignes - well done the local Mark Warner for their organisation, enthusiasm and helpfulness. Almost all of them have no real experience in hotel/ restaurant management/work but they were almost always smiling and helpful.
The accommodation is very good - comfortable rooms of a reasonable size, and good sized bathroom/WC. Powerful shower. Our room had a balcony looking across the lake, and the valley to the Grande Motte. And just yards from the centre of the village and access to the first chairlifts and gondolas. Would have been helpful to be able to control the temperature better as the room got rather hot some nights, and we had to open the balcony door! Not a major problem.
Only used the spa and the steam room once - both very good: the pool was out of action the day I tried to use it. All three are quite small - fine when I used them at 2.30pm, suggest it gets much cosier later in the afternoon.
The food was also very good - plentiful choice at breakfast, very welcome afternoon tea (not a cake person myself, but they looked delicious - I stuck with the savouries and soup!), and nicely cooked three-course suppers. Slight gripe - the chef seemed to feel it necessary to garnish fish dishes with meat on some evenings, taking them out of the choices available to those vegetarians who eat meat.
The only real negative was about the journey back to the airport. Having collected people from the L'Aiguille Percee the coach stopped at another hotel in Tignes to pick up more passengers. Some of these were very very late - leaving us sitting on the coach for a very long time from about 5am, and still with a 3+ hour journey to go. None of the very latecomers seemed worried, the last simply dismissed the inconvenience he had caused with a cheery "sorry guys"!
Is it a Mark Warner policy to wait for someone in such circumstances - however late they are? If so, it is a very poor policy!!
Would I stay at the L'Aiguille Percee again? Probably not. Absolutely nothing to do with the hotel or the staff both of which I strongly recommend; rather that the slopes at Tignes are generally too difficult for a beginner/poor skier. If I was an experienced skier - yes.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room at the front of the hotel, with a balcony. Why travel all that way and miss the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My family have grown up with Mark Warner, we have stayed mainly in their 'flagship' hotel in Deux Alpes (and others) previously and this was our first time in Tignes. What we found was a company that has invested and delivered a fantastic product.
The hotel is a stones throw from the 2 main lifts with and located centrally in the village for everything else. We were lucky to have one of the new mezzanine rooms on the 5th floor which was spacious and well equipped, it was maintained to a very high standard during our stay as well. MW have always had ski hotels which are well located but but I always felt a bit let down by the quality of the rooms and often 'tired' fixtures and fittings, this refurb has hopefully kick started a company wide refit which could push them to the very top of the 'family' ski group tour operators.
The food was excellent with a good choice and varied menu, the free wine was of a good choice also. High tea was fantastic with fresh cakes and biscuits, ideal after a good days skiing.
The manager Matt was courteous, friendly and professional. I felt that his team were truly happy in their role, I have stayed at a summer resort where Matt was the manager previously and I feel he truly is an asset to the organisation.
Other staff also shone - Mel from the kids club was absolutely brilliant with my daughter, it has taken us 2 days to stop her crying as she misses her so much, which is compliment enough!
All the other staff we came into contact with were equally professional and happy in their roles, which again shows a quality of leadership that when you have primarily young staff can often be hard to deliver.
I cannot compliment or stress how good this hotel, staff and company is, I have seen it develop and listen to its customers and finally deliver a hotel into the modern ski hotel era.
I hope this is a start for a continued investment into a company that we as a family have come to see as our 'holiday family', thank you MW.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Huwzees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed in this chalet for a fortnight in each of the last 4 years. 2 years ago the refurbishment began, turning it from slightly tired but roomy residence to a much more modern, well appointed chalet. It has always benefited from being close ot the slopes and the centre of Tignes Le Lac, but now boasts improved spa facilities including sauna, massage room and resistance swimming pool. There are more rooms than before, but the restaurant and bar area have been extended to accommodate. They even kept the games room. For the 2013/14 season they have secured the services of possibly the best head chef that Mark Warner have, and the food is really good this year. All of the staff work very hard but are cheerful and efficient. which is a testamony to them but also to the long-standing manager, Matt, who does a fabulous job. Every year we bump into people returning (like us) to this chalet; it's like a re-union each time, and we'll be back again next year, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our first Mark Warner holiday which we selected for the childcare provision for our 2 boys (6 and 9). Childcare (including morning ski lessons) was available from 8.30am until 11pm if needed (with an hours break from 6.30pm to 7.30pm). We found it hard to tempt our boys away from the kids club and struggled (a bit) with guilt as we hardly saw them all week.

The days activities for the children were very well structured and it was OK for the boys to dip in and out of activities as they/we wished as we had paid for the whole childcare package. It seemed as if it was OK just to buy into different sessions as required either in advance or in resort. I don't know the relative costings of doing it that way, as opposed to booking it all in advance as we did.

The activities for the children were many and varied. Ski lessons took place on a morning from 9 till 12. Afternoon activities steered clear of electronic gadgets and made use of traditional games which is great as my boys would sit with an Ipad all day given the choice - but were more than delighted with the games and activities they did. Outdoor activities were also included every afternoon and included bum boarding and sledging which took place just 5 minutes away from the hotel (we could actually watch from our balcony - Room 510). There was also a 'mocktail' making session at the hotel bar and a crepe trip (both with small costs).

The catering for the children was excellent. For lunch and afternoon tea there was an extensive menu which the children made choices from each day in advance. Each day there was a special for lunch and one for tea - these included roast dinners, pasta dishes, fish and much more. There was also the usual selections of chicken goujons, home made burgers, pasta, baked potatoes, sandwiches etc to choose from each day. Fresh veg and fruit was always available and there was a variety of puddings too. There were also vegetarian options.

There were only about 4 children in kids club regularly this week but that did not detract from their enjoyment - and it was a bonus in the skiing lessons as both of my boys had 1 instructor to only 3 children all week.

The childcare staff were excellent. They were very professional and expected high standards in terms of behaviour from the children while ensuring that they were all having fun. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made a big fuss of the children. They also presented awards at the end of the week where each child was presented with a certificate related to their special achievement - my son won best helmet hair which he thought was hilarious.

The childcare area was well maintained, equipped and well thought through. Childrens skis and boots could be stored there which saved visits to the boot room. In addition the area was kept very clean - and at the end of the week the childcare staff were cleaning every single item of equipment, toys and games.

As you can tell - I was very impressed with everything about the childcare on this Mark Warner holiday. I intend to write a separate review of the hotel and its facilities - which will be as equally glowing. Happy for anyone to contact me with any questions.

Room Tip: We were the even numbers on the top floor which gave us views out towards Tignes centre and the Palf...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsPRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tignes
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#8 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Cristallo
Chalet Hotel Cristallo
#39 of 42 in Courmayeur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Aiguille Percee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Aiguille Percee

Property: L'Aiguille Percee
Address: Le Lac Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Aiguille Percee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Aiguille Percee Hotel Tignes
l Aiguille Percee Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing