We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update April 2013”
Review of L'Aiguille Percee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Aiguille Percee
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
South U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Update April 2013”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Popped in here for dinner to join my ski course group. No significant changes, the food was excellent all round.The hotel is in the process of a major refurbishment for next season. All signs are that it should be good. Everyone staying there had no complaints. So at last Mark Warner is upgrading a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phuqnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    14
    15
    4
See reviews for
68
24
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nothing but praise for this Mark Warner hotel. Yes it needs a bit of tarting up in certain areas but hey....so does my own house and I don't have hundreds of visitors every year. This was our first MW holiday and we would have no qualms about trying it again.

We stayed in room 305 - first room at top of stairs, it was quiet, had a reasonable view but no balcony. However, the outside window shelf was wide enough to store your water/lemonade etc.
Perfectly adequate twin room with plenty of storage space.
Reasonable sized bathroom (small bath with hand held shower head). Plenty of hot water. I suggest taking bubble bath/shower gel and if you are fussy about what you wash your hair in, take your own shampoo & conditioner. Towels not changed unless you ask and I'm not sure the bath was cleaned that often but hey....

Food - excellent thanks to the chef and all the staff. Breakfast - you sit where you like. Dinner, the staff will listen to your views and either sit you with friends or mix you in with new people so you are not eating alone.

Breakfast Buffet - good choice of cereal/toast/croissants/pastries/yogurt and fruit followed by a good old fry up. Choice of juice, coffee and a selection of different teas plus water. It all helped to get us off to a good start on the slopes.

Afternoon Tea - Served from 4.30pm. The best I have ever had in a chalet. Soup, bread, handmade biscuits, cakes, fruit and tea/coffee. Delicious.

Dinner - one buffet on the first night. After that it was all table service which helped keep the flow of conversation.
Starters x 3 choices (always included a soup)

Main dishes x 3 - always included a vegetarian option and normally one fish plus one meat option (all beautifully cooked, hot and well presented).

Dessert x 3 - usually included something sweet and sticky such as banoffee pie, cheesecake, fruit crumble etc, plus cheeseboard or ice cream/sorbet.

Tea/coffee and table water available pretty much whenever you want it at no extra charge.

The wine flows at dinner until the point where you order your pudding. This seemed fair to us. We are red wine drinkers and the choice was a very platable Cotes-du-rhone or Merlot. White and rose were aso available.

Location - fantastic. 2 minute walk to the Gondolas heading into Val de isere and practically ski out of the door and over the bridge to get chair lifts. If you do get stuck in terms of weather and decide to go wandering, walk toward the Troll (black slope) and find the patisserie at the end of the row of shops......one mint tea, one hot chocolate and a gorgeous lemon meringue pie was only 7 euros...pretty fair price we thought.

Beautician at the hotel - they do some reasonable deals. Option One was a half hour massage plus half hour facial plus a mini pedicure and a mini manicure for 63 euros. It would cost me that at home.

Sauna - sorry, we didn't use it so can't comment.

Boot room/ski lockers - perfectly adequate.

Staff tips - we didn't leave individual tips for housekeeping/restaurant staff etc....we simply put a one-off donation into reception at the end of the holiday where they lump every donation together and then split it/save it for staff night out.

Anyway, thank you to Mark Warner and to all the friendly team that helped make our holiday a success. We will certainly use MW again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Some great improvements were being done at this hotel when we stayed. New family rooms with lofts at the top of the hotel. A pool being installed. New spa. The new pine rooms are fabulous and smell like real pine with a polar bear pic to set the mood. Lots of room for your luggage and a place to hang coats. Beds are excellent. The food is excellent. Afternoon tea is well worth getting the skiing done in the morning and relaxing in the afternoon.
The staff were very helpful. Just steps away from everything. (For those who are Catholic, the Catholic church is steps around the back of the chalet.) I was told the refurb would be done before the next ski season...here are some pictures to get an idea of what to expect. Also, the coach transfer up the mountain was comfortable and safe, with a stop halfway up. Wake-up calls by staff are right on time-even at 3am..with a friendly knock at your door. The ratings are based on the rooms all being refurbished- I don't know why Mark Warner didn't do it sooner-the results were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClarissaStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just got back from another great holiday with mark Warner but this time in Tignes. We had a great holiday with our 5 year old who did mini club and did ski school with Evolution 2 and he had a fab time. The staff in hotel were friendly and helpful. Food was great and the hotel is in great position and tignes was great. So we are going back next year. It was fairly quiet the week we went (first week in Easter hols) as the French had their hols a couple of weeks ago. We are going back next year!

Room Tip: We had the rooms downstairs which was useful as you did not have to go up stairs after skiing, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just been for our second visit and it was brilliant. When we arrived last year in March I was a little disappointed with the rooms initially. Quite dated as many people have mentioned. However...! The staff, atmosphere, food, proximity to the slopes and general warm fuzziness of the place more than made up for it.
And this year we were offered newly refurbished rooms, so now all was truly fabulous down to the last detail. I was a little worried about going back after such a great time last year - you never know what the staff are going to be like from year to year, or if the chef will be as good as last year's, but we were thrilled to find that everything was still as fabulous as before, only now with brand new rooms, di-vi-ne showers and a better view than last year, plus family rooms rather than 2 separate ones.
The staff are fun, helpful and friendly. Matt the manager always seems to have time to chat at length, the stream of wine at dinner was generous and unending (and yummy), food was at least as good as last year (oh! those lamb rillettes!!!) and the entertainment even better, what a blast on both quiz night and "the box" night. Kids were happy as anything, hardly saw them the entire week. Ski school organised by Mark Warner were also very good, apart from one little hiccup with a French teacher who seemed to be lacking in the modern teaching skills department (she said to our 7 year old daughter on day one "Well, at the start of the day you were the best student, but now you are the worst!"). Apart from that all the ski instructors were never less than fabulous, both at Evo2 and ESF.

If you are looking for a great relaxed family holiday, do yourself a favour and look no further!

If I had to make a suggestion or two, it would be to make the "front" door to our two family rooms lockable, so that we could keep the bedroom doors open in the night, and a few extra electricity sockets would not go amiss as well as some new bed linen to complement those fab new rooms.
The refurbishments should be finished after the summer, so you can safely disregard the general moaning about dated rooms!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms offer fab views. Next year there will be family lofts on the 5th floor, we'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

fabbotastic week - childcare was out of this world (didn't see the kids all week!!!!) 2 year old and 6 year old in ski and snow club all day every day ....and begging to get back for movie club by 7.30!!! They had a blast & we had a blast.

Food was awesome, staff were epic. All in all.. what a treat. - we got great snow too!!!

whats all this nonsense about rooms not being updated - we had a room that hadn't been renovated yet and it was fine! double bonus that the kids bunks were in a separate room with bathroom - all in all - really could not fault this holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouCarronHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week skiing from here after a successful week in 2012. Hotel had some external and internal refurbs, with work still to be completed. Our room had yet to be refurbed, but was totally functional, and importantly plenty of hot water to ease those aching legs. When we arrived the radiator wasn't working, but after letting the team know they had a plumber around at the first opportunity and it was fixed.
Breakfast was a good buffet with porridge on request to power us through to lunch. Dinner was good for adults; high tea a little predictable for kids and could be improved, but ultimately kept him well fed.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout to make the holiday work, and Isabel who tidied our room had a great written-message back and forth about toys and puzzles with our 6 year old which he found great fun. Evening quiz in the bar was a fabulous way to meet other guests.
For a great family skiing experience this is tremendous value and we will definitely use Mark Warner again. (Much better experience than other providers like Esprit)

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a great view of the snow square and up to Val Claret and the Grand Motte
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tignes
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
334 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
#23 of 33 in Meribel
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#8 of 37 in Tignes
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Aiguille Percee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Aiguille Percee

Property: L'Aiguille Percee
Address: Le Lac Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Aiguille Percee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Aiguille Percee Hotel Tignes
l Aiguille Percee Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing