We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No suprises - Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel le Refuge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Refuge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed at hotel le refuge for a last minute short ski. It was exactly what we expected; very clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet; superb location in front of the lifts and slopes. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the sauna and steamroom after a long day of skiing as well as having a drink on the top floor in front of the fireplace/

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

Having stayed at le Refuge almost every one of the last 8 years for skiing holidays I can't add much more praise than other reviewers have given. For fun, I shall tell you the two worst things: the dang room keys are on horrendous large sharp metal key fobs and are a pain in more ways than one; and secondly, the Boot Room - although well equipped - is unfortunately rather cramped (especially at peak times, when I, being a lazy swine, am always struggling to sort out myself and the kids). So in other words, very minor criticisms of an EXCELLENT hotel.
And here's a tip if you want to conduct your abloutions in peace - there's a "secret", unmarked but fully equipped shower room and separate toilet on the top floor (the one underneath the marvellous breakfast loft). A godsend if you are in one of the family suites! Just hope it's not busy now when I next need it...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterWoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Le Refuge for three nights in December 2009. The Hotel is very centrally located just across the road from thr main ski lifts

The rooms were comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were excellent, the ski/boot room and spa facilities were all very good but the hotel really excels in the friendliness, courtesy and professionalism of its staff.

An excellent hotel thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I cannot think of a ski hotel that is so well placed for the slopes - and if skiing is your thing then I really recommend this resort and this hotel. The hotel is situated opposite the Aeroski lift, and very close to the Main Ski office of Tignes Le Lac. The owner, Mme Capucine Favre is very friendly- as are all the staff- The rooms are basic but are clean and reasonably sized and if you get one to the front - you get a balcony too. Visited with my son ( this is our third year in this hotel) and we like its convenience In addion the Vallon Blanc Ski Hire shop next door too and guests get a 10% discount . The breakfasts are great and can last you all day, although I always get tempted into the restaurants on the piste during the day. Although the boot room is quite small you get your own locker and there are bootwarmers There is an attached restaurant which is good for an evening meal but quite expensive . We tend to always go to the Alpaka Lodge very close by for our evening meal , which is where the Ski Club of Great Britain reps meet. The chef they have there is very good this year indeed and you get a set priced meal that is fantastic. I have no hesitation in recommending Le Refuge -

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey10Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Stayed at the Refuge in December, absolutely loved it. Resonably priced, so warm when you got in off the slopes! staff at the hotel very friendly and massive choice for breakfats with great views, absolutely lovely. so close to the slopes in Le Lac right in front of the bus stop and over the road from the bus station - couldnt be more convienient

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrpearce1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

At the risk of shooting myself in the foot, and spreading word of this wonderful gem of a hotel, to a point where availability there becomes a problem, I am nevertheless posting this outstanding review.
Le Refuge in Tignes-Le-Lac is extremely well situated, just 10 steps from the hotel's locker room to the snow and a choice of 6 or 7 chairlifts.
The hotel is a charming place, combining modern facilities with a very personal touch.
It's rooms are very basic (beds, cable TV, ample closet space, remodeled bathrooms), but at the same time very warm and cozy and certainly a place one is looking forward to getting back to after a long day of skiing. I will mention that the hotel boasts full availability of wifi - which the French cutely pronounce wee-fee - and in this case for a good reason; The price for unlimited usage for the week is 40 Euros; As opposed to other places this wee-fee thing works everywhere, in every room, and I could actually watch live streaming of the NCAA's Final4 with the available bandwidth.
The facilities are great - a bar with a nice pool table on the top floor, with a great view; sauna, steam room, hot tub - all those facilities at no extra charge.
But more than anything else, it's the personal touch of the great Mme. Capucine; It would take more web pages than this site has to offer, to describe her accomodating nature, the help that she provided all along the way, her great attitude - really, like the family-run hotels of the old days.
To top it all, even though my stay there was at the height of the season (Easter Week - seemed like the UK was invading the resort), and even though I had to check out a day early (due to a skiing accident) it did not even cross her mind to charge me for the night for which I already left a deposit for, even though she lost a night's worth of business. WoW!!!
Bottom line: if you are in Tignes and looking for a very comfortable hotel combined with an unmatched personal touch - look no further - Le Refuge is the place

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DoronG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#8 of 37 in Tignes
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Refuge

Address: Place du Lac, 73320 Tignes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range: $208 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Refuge 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le Refuge is located in the heart of the resort of Tignes, and faces the natural lake and the Grande Motte glacier. In front of the ski area, it is only a couple of minutes walk away from the 'Maison de Tignes le Lac' (tourism office), the aqua centre, the indoor car parks and all sports activities. The hotel is made up of 26 bedrooms and 7 suites / family suites which include a balcony, a bathroom, a toilet, a direct phone line, cable television, a DVD player, wireless internet connection, a mini-bar, a safe and a hairdryer. The hotel offers wheelchair access, a lift, a large breakfast area with a panoramic view, a seminar room, a lounge, a billiard room, a library and a spa (sauna, steam room and hot tub). You may also enjoy beauty care or a massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Refuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing